Hi steemit. I'm Vera, a marine mammal trainer

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Hi steemit,

My name is Vera and I work as a Sea lion trainer in Denmark. I'm 23 years old and started my career training marine mammals at 16. In addition to sea lions, I have also worked with dolphins. 

If you're interested I will write a weekly blogpost about what I've encountered during work now and the years before, answering any questions you might have about this proffesion..

I've worked at multiple companies all over the world, and always enjoyed the travelling. But after a bad experience at the last company, I'm in need of some quieter times. So thats why I chose to work at this circus.

For now, I'll tell you some more about my current workplace.

It's the biggest circus in Scandinavia.

They have a travelling circus, multiple tents rented out, and a winter quarters where the animals are cared for when the circus isn't travelling. The latter opens during the summer to visitors aswell. I work at this winter quarters, what I do together with my colleague is; trained the animals so they can tour with the cirkus, and perform shows when the park is opened. At the moment we are caring for two female sea lions, 2 male sea lions are currently on tour.

Other than sea lions we care for alot of other animals here. Tons of horses and pony's, a camel, dromedary, donkey, zebra, three elephants, llamas, dogs, and rabits.

Two more weeks until the park closes, and then we'll have plenty of time again to train the animals.

Next week I'll share more about the shows and my 2 sea lion friends

Sort:  

Congratulations @pbar! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @pbar! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Welcome @pbar:-) Do you like your job?

How about if you stop training enslaved mammal animals in order to entertain mindless and igorant people.
It's an utter disgrace that you actually boast about it. Supporting buying/catching entertainment marine mammal animals is utterly disgusting and should be prohibited. Any such kind of marine mammal exploitation for profit or human entertainment is disgusting.
I recommend the documentary "The Cove"

You are an amazing person! And very lucky to be able to do all that you do! Here is one of my posts for your pleasure Blessed Be!
https://steemit.com/honeymoon/@kalaylah77/ever-been-on-a-cruise-what-s-one-thing-you-wish-you-brought-that-you-d-deff-remember-for-nextime

I guess they bite hurt )

No idea, I've never been bitten. But I suppose it would hurt alot yes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58522.85
ETH 2614.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43