Hi, I am Rob Balder, creator of Erfworld

Hi there, Steemit! My name is Rob Balder and I write a webcomic called Erfworld, a fantasy/gaming series that began in 2006. Here's what it looks like these days, with the current art team:

So, I've been interested in cryptocurrency since sometime in 2010, when fans of the comic began discussing Bitcoin. I only just found Steemit yesterday via the news article on CoinReport.

It's fascinating to me, because this is tackling some of the same kinds of concepts we've been gnawing on for years with our website and reader community. I feel like I am learning a lot from what is going on here already.

See we created site currency called "Shmuckers," which is spendable as credit in our online store. Our subscribers receive Shmuckers when they pledge to our subscription crowdfunding program (which is like Patreon, but custom coded).

I also promote fan art and articles and stories, and reward the submitter in Shmuckers. Users can tip each others' posts and comments in Shmuckers, too.

So it seems like we've been thinking along the same lines! Only Steemit seems to be tackling one of our biggest remaining problems, which is curation. I do not have time to manage all the fan submissions we get, and it's hurting us. If our web team can figure out how to reward curators as well as creators (like Steemit does), I think we'd be in great shape.

Anyway, here I am, reading, listening and learning. I have a lot to digest, so forgive me for lurking for a while. And by way of verification, you can visit this page at Erfworld.com.


I'd also like to figure out if posting Erfworld updates (or whole archives) makes any sense, or would be seen as spamming. What do you all think I should do?

Sort:  

Upvoted you

If our web team can figure out how to reward curators as well as creators (like Steemit does), I think we'd be in great shape.

You could integrate Steem with your website but only for content that's related to the theme of your site and / or content posted by your community, exactly like Steemd.com and steemit.com have done. Steemit, for all its good feel, is only a web frontend to the underlying blockchain where everything is actually occuring. Right now this comment is being stored on the blockchain.

Great to have you here!

Really great to have you..Happy Steeming! Love the creativity!!!

Congratulations @partyrob! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great article!

Congratulations @partyrob! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50