Steemit : my experience so far

Hi guys, I discovered steem/steemit few days ago. I was amazed : "this could revolutionize internet and bring blockchain technology to the masses with all that it entails". Being lucky of having some money aside, I decided to invest in some steem power. I then read the whitepaper while on a train and realized how well thought steem is. This could really change the way things work on the internet!


I am now in holidays (hence the train :) and got some more time than usual. I started to then use steemit to publish few things. To be honest my first trials were toward trying to get some quick easy income. I guess this is the case for many of us here, no? I am amazed on how much some user here are doing and thought it could be me too.

After a bit of thoughts though I can see some potential issues and would like to know what you think of these.

 1) Speculation on post's popularity :

    Steemit encourage speculator user to not read the content of the post. The vote/downvote option should not be present in the posts listing page. It should only be accessible at the end of the posts page.

2) Steemit post listings views

    Steemit allow to view post listing based on some options (trending, payout time, hot, new, active, responses, popular)

    I am not sure the "trending" option should be the default. Or maybe there should be some shuffling to allow new user to see a bigger picture of steemit right away. Steemit has so much possibility that would be a waste to redirect new user to the same content.

    I also think a random/unpopular option should be available to give a chance to old post that were missed for whatever reason to be seen again with fresh eyes.

3) content

    I was looking forward to see lots of original content with recipes, photos, art and interesting lengthy articles. As of now, the most popular items are simple introduceyourself post, post about steemit itself (like mine) or about crypto. While some of these are interesting and encouraging, I was expecting something else.

    It is probably due to the infancy of steemit and expect this to change but feel free to comment if you have similar feelings.

4) authenticity

    For content, it is easy to copy and paste from the old web and there is always the doubt of authenticity, it might actually why vote on such content is not popular. I hope this is going to change as content will start on steem as opposed to old web.


5) comments visibility

    It is common that comments (on reddit or stackoverflow for example) contain great content and currently steemit do not make it easy to see such quality comments from its user interface. I hope steemit can become a platform where question can be asked to find meaningful answer.



While these points might seems negative, I really have great hope for steem and steemit. This is a great beginning and I am so happy to be on board.

I am confident the community and the quality/content of the posts will evolve together. I am looking to see what my family, friends and the world will bring to the world via steem. Let me know what do you think.

Steem It!


Sort:  

Upvoted you

I confess, I would have been guilty of scanning your post until your revealing epiphany "Steemit encourage speculator user to not read the content of the post." stopped me dead the light of your text.

And then I took the time to read....

I think you make great points. I think that its up to us as curators to really hold ourselves responsible for the content that we promote or demote.

Thanks for your meaningful input.

#steemit-ideas

Let's hope the one who have steem power make meaningful decision, Great to be part of that community!

wang, do you have a monopoly on these kind of informative replies? very useful, but if you miss a post can anyone else c/p this comment and tag you?

Agreed, and I'm not quite sure the right incentive structure has been worked out in order to generate unique quality content. I think what this platform will turn into is a of lot click-bait and spam. It'll be interesting to see it unfold, but I have a hard time believing that people are earning $50 for introducing themselves... I'm quite skeptical of this whole operation.

I agree with much of your observations. The most upvoted posts now are new people, especially attractive chicks - although this is already changing as the curators are starting to sift through the quality posts with good content.

A broad curator base with sufficient voting power will have a material impact on the type of content that makes it the front page, but unfortunately this will take some time. We're in the "growth pains" stage right now.

You make some really good points. It feels like old posts are burried quickly here. What is the point of that? Is it possible to revive old posts so they can gain steem dollars? I mean some big outlet could pick up on some 15 day old post here and link to it bringing it all sorts of traffic and votes. Would it still be able to earn? The trending default only helps the super popular. There are diamonds in the rough and it should be easier to find them and understand if commenting on them will actually help.

Good Points! I hope someone witness your post ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26