- INTRODUCTION - YOU DON'T KNOW OZZ? WHAT?? PART 3 / 6 - MY TIME IN the USA

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hey there Steemers,

I'm back again today with part 3 of my 6 part introduction for you. If you have not already read parts 1 and 2 please see the links below before you proceed :)

Part 1: https://steemit.com/travel/@ozz/you-don-t-know-oz-what

Part 2: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@ozz/introduction-you-don-t-know-ozz-what-part-2-6-my-time-in-afrika

Now, let's get on with it...

After leaving beautiful Tanzania at the age of five our travels took us to the USA where we lived in two different places during our 4 year stay. In the meantime I had reached the age that I had to go to school. I can remember well that it was a pretty big change for me to be living in a different country, in a new neighbourhood with a different language and going to a new school all at the same time.

Pepper, our dog, had made the move with us and so I was very lucky to have my best friend with me on this new part of our global adventure. I luckily adapted quickly and as I was still young the language issue was soon solved. We first moved into a neighbourhood in Fairfax, Virginia and then later into a new place in Kensington, Maryland. Both beautiful places to live and grow up in!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fairfax,_Virginia
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kensington,_Maryland

Winters in the USA

One of the cool things that I can remember were the winters. I can remember getting up one morning to see that it had been snowing all night. There was so much snow that no one could go to work or school. I am literally talking about snow so deep you could not walk out the front door as you would have to tunnel through it first. As everyone had a day off it was great to go outside and tunnel your way to a friends house. We spent all day playing out in the snow!

Losing my best friend

As our dog Pepper had grown up with me in Tanzania and had become a bit wild. In the US it became harder and harder to control her as she was probably getting frustrated with the indoor living we were doing in the US. One day a lady was walking past our house and Pepper saw an opportunity to slip out and started to protect our house. She jumped up against the lady and unfortunately she fell... As we all know, in the US you will immediately get sued for such an incident and besides that we did not want Pepper to ever hurt anyone. My parents decided to see if we could find someone with a lot of room outdoors for Pepper to move to so that she wouldn't get in trouble living in a densely populated area. Pepper soon moved to a big farm and we found ourselves separated. This was of course a very sad time for me but I found comfort in the fact that she had space now and could live her life in freedom and not locked up in a house. A cool fact is that the new owners loved her very much and send us cards with pictures of her every year!

Halloween

Something else that I can remember well is that Halloween is celebrated BIG in the US and I loved it! This is something that I am still fond of and celebrate every year. Lucky that my wife (@acgreenfingers) and daughter (@nailartbymariah) also love Halloween. Every year the party gets bigger LOL!

Motorhome

We also spent one summer travelling the US in a motorhome. It was magnificent to see the great outdoors there and I was very fortunate to be able to see all this as a youngster from the Netherlands.

Grand Canyon

Yosemite national park

Washington DC

New York

Once again I must start to wrap up now as I don't want to bore you... ;) Also I was pretty young still whilst living in the US so exciting stories are limited. I can tell you though that the exciting stories are absolutely going to pick up already in the next part to this series. So stay tuned!

There are still 3 countries that I will cover in the next parts. As always, I challenge you all to see if you can guess where we moved to next... Let me know in the comments. Tomorrow I will be back with part four!

Have a great day guys and gals. If you liked my post and want more, please do not forget to upvote, follow me and resteem!

@Ozz

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit community. You will love it. Following links may help you to get started.
New Users Guide: https://steemit.com/welcome
Dos and don’ts on Steemit:https://steemit.com/steemit/@najoh/dos-and-don-ts-on-steemit
Top Earners List:https://steemwhales.com/
ChainBB Steem Forum: https://steemit.com/chainbb/@jesta/chainbbcom-a-blockchain-forum-platform-for-steem
If you find this post useful, Feel Free to up vote, follow me.

Congratulations on landing yourself on the hippest and fast growing Social Media platform on the planet!!!

Follow & upvote

Hello there @ozz and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Nice post
I have followed you, hope you will follow me back

Thanks, I am following you now and am looking forward to checking our your content on steemit! Good luck and thanks for following!!

@Ozz

Welcome to steemit community.
I’m @jyoungking2 Start by following people and they will do the same.
Good Luck

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68225.97
ETH 3275.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66