Joining the Blockchain!

Capture.JPG

Hello! Welcome to my independent media page known as OpenEarth. This project was inspired by the many nights watching videos on Discovery, BBC, National Geographic, etc. What makes this project any different?

For starters, the reason it is called OpenEarth is all of the content truly is open: creative commons 3.0 or 4.0 with attribution. This has occasionally been a problem on YouTube, where a zombie media channel would upload content featuring OpenEarth footage, which is fine, but then claim copyright on the original footage, forcing me to flag their content and duke it out behind the scenes while my original content is disabled and nobody can find or use it. This left a bitter taste in my mouth, and I was particularly disgusted by the lack of options to even get YouTube to stop this madness.

As I began to explore blockchain technology, I was intrigued by a project called po.et, which was intended to encode media on the blockchain to establish absolute proof of authorship and originality. Only problem is, you can't really join it. Once I came across the STEEM ecosystem, which not only works but is open to anyone, I figured that I would join and just see what happens. It is my hope that this blockchain can be used as proof of originality, proof of authorship, and, most importantly, impossible to censor.

icecave.jpg

I am also interested in seeing the direct perceived value of my content in a way that is impossible on the major social networks: your upvotes and follows encourage me to post more and, if all of our interactions really are worth money, then your participation will also help offset some of the costs that I incur offering all of this content for free.

An example Creative Commons video found at


snap.jpg

Why is it free? Because it is only a matter of time before the content guardians that have already wreaked havoc on YouTube and Facebook audio uploads are going to start stripping video content uploads. Imagine engaging, high quality footage and photos that you can use for whatever you want? If you've ever wanted to score a soundtrack for Planet Earth or vlog over National Geographic, this is your chance. Zero barrier to entry.

P1130136.JPG

As this is not my day job, I cannot promise constant, daily updates. I can promise quality updates, though. The support that this content gets through this network will help to cover costs for projects that I have not yet been able to start, primarily applying for permits and flight insurance to be allowed to capture and distribute open source nature footage within the United States National Park system. Those costs alone can easily reach $2,000 and higher. Ouch. :/

P1010861.jpg

I will be honest, though, I am going to take video and photos anyway as I go outside a lot!

pano1_fixed_corrected.jpg

Sort:  

Hello! It's nice to see you here!


Welcome to Steemit @openearth!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hi @openearth those are some gorgeous photos.

So, you are offering videos for ppl to use?

I just watched your video... Beautiful.

I don't have dtube as yet....just starting to navigate around this platform. Will do that soon.

I really look forward to your posts...as and when they do come in that is.

Thanks for the comment! That is correct, the videos are for anyone to use/remix, but you will generally just have to provide your own audio track. As DTube only supports 720p, you can still find the 4K versions on YouTube and Vimeo, with the latter allowing for direct download if you have a Vimeo account.

Wow! Thank you for sharing your work with the world. It's really awesome stuff.

Dear @openearth, thanks for your beautiful post, in order to support you i showed your picture in my blog. Please feel free to check the link below and if you like my effort then kindly donot forgot to upvote and follow me too. ;). If you donot like your reference in my post then just comment under that post, i will remove it.
https://steemit.com/life/@sultanmr/best-new-steemers-introductory-posts---page-5-1523657651-816619

Looks great! I appreciate the interest. :)

Welcome to Steemit and good luck :)

Welcome, @openearth! Great to have you here, friend :) Wish you best of luck! Followed ;)

Hey dear
Welcome to steemit
You can join this discord channel to be taught how to go about steemit and learn business,poetry,art,crypto and get motivated,taught how to make good posts and comment...Meet over 4k+ members and get to make friends from steemit all over the world including where you're from
https://discord.gg/WaeJXmE
Join the steemit school on discord channel today

Congratulations @openearth! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65124.62
ETH 3554.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46