Why I named myself ONEALFA

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Why I named myself ONEALFA ?

The nickname @onealfa maybe meaningless for most people. While some may think, that this is something ambitious, related to 1A..like listed first… or premium… or first class…. or god knows what else, just written with error, where “alfa” shall be “alpha”, reality is different, and is extremely simple.
I have a hobby, called “amateur radio” ( or often called HAM radio), and in that game a precise, unique call signs must be used. Which are defining, what country you are located, (in some cases – even in which region of that country), and are the only such in whole world. Because this hobby is global, and truly border-less. Those callsigns are permanent, licensed to a particular person. And can not ever be used by other person ( at least in a significantly long time frame, usually 50-100 years)
So, my personal Ham radio callsign is

LY1A




While broadcasting, transmitting ham radio callsign to other hobbyist by a radio waves, usually the easy recognizable audio spelling is used. And my call LY1A is usually spelled as

“Lima—Yankee—One—Alpha”

I just took the second half, and used it as my nick name. To simplify things, and look and sound more natural in my own language, and changed Alpha to Alfa.
LY is the prefix of the call, and it is indicating my country, Lithuania


vic3.gif

So, this is a full disclosure of my nickname secret. It is simple, short, unique, ease recognizable, reliable, permanent. I use it almost in every other place while online, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Reddit, Slack, YouTube, Google+, Vimeo, etc etc
Ask Google, they will prove
https://steem.ly/4Q

And here are a few of my QSL’s:
ly1a_qsl.jpg


ly1a_qsl2.jpg


ly1a_qsl3.jpg

What is a QSL? Well this a long talk, long enough for another post. Stay tuned... :)

@onealfa

P.S.
If somebody wants to learn more about HAMS, a good source to start is here:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amateur_radio

Sort:  

thats a good explanation :)

Crazy how much thought you put into something so simple as your username. Shows how much care you have for the site.

Haha some nicknames have a meaning and some don't ! Cool post :)

I couldn't sleep last night from wondering about this!!! 😂 I've been pacing around all day hoping you'd answer this question. Thank you!! Lol. Jk man. Cool story. ;)

Haha @queeneleanor you are funny man! I like your page! Keep up the great work! If you wouldn't mind, could you go check out my blog and let me know what you think?

i like your nickname, thanks for letting us in its secret,lol.

It make sense!

HI @onealfa can you please delegate some SP to me, I need it most, PLZ HELP BUDDY.

Very nice meaning :) i thought that was you're real name though hehhee..

Welcome to steemit, a wonderfull platform for sharing your thoughts far better than facebook and reddit.
keep up the good work

I like the name though.

Hey it will be appreciated if you enter following contest my friend.
https://steemit.com/fanfollowcontest/@sighanchi/fan-follow-contest-01-trump-vs-obama-or-or-reward-will-be-given

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65566.66
ETH 3559.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48