How Being a Bad Friend Led Me to Steemit

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

@akintunde called me by 4:10 PM one September afternoon and I just sparked.

"Hey Omolola, I want to introduce you to a cryptocurrency platform"
"Akin, I'm not interested, "-I snapped
"It's not a Ponzi scheme or a scam, it's about creating content"
"Akin, I already said I am not interested. For God's sake, I just lost 1 million in a Ponzi scheme and another 100K to a newly introduced cryptocurrency. "
"This one is different"
"AKINTUNDE, I already said, I am not interested, please I'm busy I would call you later."

Before you go on wondering why I was so harsh let's go back in time to 2015.

I just finished my NYSC and a newly established radio station in Ibadan immediately offered me a job. My first day at work was as easy as pie. It wasn’t my first job but it was important. I had freelanced as a broadcaster and digital marketer all through my years in school.
With this new job, I was finally an adult; I could live on my own terms and enjoy life to the fullest.

So I thought,

It wasn't hell like people paint 9-5 jobs, but it wasn't heaven either. My workload just kept increasing from day to day. I applied as a broadcaster and was assigned to the administrative department.

In less than a month, I was assigned to host the Thursday morning show (I had no car, yet I was to report to work by 6:00AM as the program starts for 6:30AM every Thursday).

broadcasting.jpg

But, that wasn't all-

After a while, the marketer left because of irreconcilable differences with the management and marketing was added to my job role.

Months down the line, an engineer stole diesel and I became in charge of diesel too.

Before I noticed, I had become in charge of advert scheduling and two other programs

A job description with one role slowly turned into a jack of all trade job role without any agreement. My love for broadcasting died a natural death, I was no longer excited to get to work, I stopped caring about the audience and I fell sick regularly.

After eleven months, I left.
Moving on,

I started my own business, Media City Communication Services and I was happy.

What could go wrong?

Nothing,

I was getting clients, making money and living on my own terms. Aside from the ups and downs of business, I was fulfilled.

It was all fine until I was introduced to a Ponzi scheme and everything that could go wrong went wrong.

The story goes like this,

Andrew, my partner in business and life was the first to get the information, he briefed me and I jumped at it without giving it a second thought.

If you have never joined a Ponzi scheme, please don’t. If you have, I bet you understand. It was all rosy and everything was moving smoothly. The money was rolling in every two weeks. I soon got distracted. After all, client jobs never paid that much. It was stress-free and conducive.

I woke up one morning to the news of three Ponzi schemes crashing suddenly. I decided it was time to pull out. I will give it a last shot. This is going to be my last and biggest deal.
So I thought...

I pulled all my resources together, both cash at hand and in bank. I was going to make it big and leave.

Then again, the unexpected happened I got burned.

The system crashed in less than a week.

I was back to square one, Andrew had to find a job and gradually we started building our business back from scratch.

That was when @akintunde called me to talk about steemit.

I ignored our friendship of over 7 years and talked to him so rudely. I still cringe when I remember.

Fast forward, six months after-

Business has been going steady, Andrew is back in Media City full time and we have hired our first staff.

But then something interesting happened,

@akintunde took the office space beside us. It was the best coincidence because this time, I was in a better place and with a better frame of mind.

So I asked him about the cryptocurrency thingy.

Like a great friend, he forgot about the past and spent a whole afternoon explaining it to me.

I was shocked to realize it was a blogging platform on top of a cryptocurrency.
I had spent months writing for clients, tweaking my business and there was a platform where I could share my thoughts, connect with other people and get paid.
Wow!

Without overthinking it, I joined and here I am.

Before I forget, let me introduce myself,

Hello Steemians!
I’m Omolola Akinyele, a serial entrepreneur from Nigeria and a new member of the Steemit community (do I hear a welcome)
I'm really looking forward to using this platform to share my experiences on business, entrepreneurship and life.

Let me know what you think in the comments!
Cheers!
p.s My verification links

Official Site: http://yourbizwriter.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lola.akinyele
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/talkwithlola
Twitter: https://twitter.com/talkwithlola

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @omolola!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Let me know if I can help.
Many blessings! @bycoleman

Welcome...It is nice to see new people join steemit especially from my city. I

I am damn sure you will do well here judging by your introductory post plus your experience.

You also have a great teacher in @akintunde. Just be real and flow naturally, you will be fine,

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn1

Welcome to the steemit community @omolola.. Have fun while earning. Establish long-lasting relationships here.. Cheers..
.
You can follow me at @kekegist and check out my posts too.. You could learn a thing or two.

You are welcome

Welcome Omolola. I can totally relate with your narrative as I too was told about Steemit last year but totally ignored all of the information. Then some really bad stuff happened in Nov/Dec last year that led to the loss of all of my funds and then voila! I discovered Steemit!

Welcome aboard. You've got a great friend in Akintunde, do pay very close attention to his advice and let him mentor you on the way forward. Looking forward to reading from you.

Cheers!

Thanks a lot. I'm glad to know that other people have had the same experience.

Welcome.... Steemit is literally the best thing to happen to me this year

Pele dear,you are not alone
Welcome to steemit
Explore!!

proxy_form.gif

@omolola welcome to steemit

Dante is here, No Fear

Thanks Dante

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43