Old monad

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

For the record, I am proud to be an early adopter of Steemit (posting this on 17 Aug 2017), not long after I became aware and awake to the phenomenon that is the blockchain.

To introduce myself, I am a monad, an old one, as old as the dust from where my bones and flesh came, and in this life I am all at once a working man, a father, estranged from his wife, struggling like many others in a rapidly rotting and disintegrating fiat world. I shovel shit to make dough like most of the human mass. I am in the belly of the whale and though I am prophetic, I am a lost prophet that the whale won’t belch up … yet. I seek my Nineveh, maybe I shall find it here in Steemit.

I fear the end, I talk of permaculture, growing organics, tuning in and dropping out, watch stuff on youtube, yet I sit and brood upon it all, pay the bills, join the commuting madness to take up my perch in the corporate roost. At that is what I thought and then it occurred to me, this is no roost, these are hamster wheels.

I am a southern man, born in South Africa, grew up in remote forestry plantations, got sent to posh English boarding schools, got conscripted, spent an eternity typing top secret code in a bunker in the Namib desert, drank to kill the uneasy feeling that comes from the curse of that place, or is it just the sense of mortality that creeps up upon us all like a long afternoon shadow. I am a southern man; crossed the equator three times but barely (Singapore, Tarawa Island - Kiribati, Lihir Island – New Ireland, American Samoa).

IMG_0178.JPG

The picture: One of the free spirits I met in the islands.

I have been thinking what I should be purporting to offer on Steemit and the list grew, politics, ancestry, history, economics, philosophy, gnosis, depression, anxiety, rage, aspergers, nature, mushrooms, fishing, the deep state, bitcoin, altcoins, shitcoins, growing old, poetry, the meaning of death, what else? I surrendered, the list won, and so what I offer on Steemit is me and the musings of my mind, more of the same; my thoughts play my mind like the musician plucks the strings of his favourite guitar. I hope you enjoy the sound and may it enrich your days in some small way.

Sort:  

Welcome! Hope you like steemit!
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Welcome to Steem @oldmonad I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thankyou, I followed you since you are the first to have ever tipped me. Forgive me if I am bit slow (utter Steemit noob).

Welcome @Oldmonad to Steemit :) Glad to see you. I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Hi @oldmonad,
I'm prabha and here i am giving you easy way to claim free 50 WCX Coins.
WCEX is a brand new digital currency exchange and they are going to launch soon. As part of launch they are offering free 50 WCX coins. Use below link to create your account and claim free coins(you need to click on confirmation email).
https://wcex.co/?ref=UMYEWYZ&lang=en

Welcome to Steemit @oldmonad, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Hello and Welcome! Nice to meet you! Thanks for join

👏🏻😄 Welcome to Steemit! I wish you all the best in this platform and in all your projects! You can count on me for anything you need. I send you a big hug from Argentina! @kryptoland 👍🏻😄🇦🇷

Sup! I can see that you have signed up recently so welcome to the steemit platform. Have one upvote on the house and keep up the good work!
As a newcomer to steemit, it's not easy getting those first upvotes so maybe you want to try Steemfollower where you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I have also made this post where I explain the site in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47