Hey Steemit! Introducing Myself to the Platform. Nice to meet you all!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hello fellow Steem members! 🙂

After using this platform for a month or so I wanted to introduce myself and give you some background in to my work and life. Hopefully it's not too long and boring for you all! haha

My names Mark Robinson and I'm a 28 year old currently living just outside of Cambridge in the UK. At the age of 20 I started a website at the189.com that was originally a blog showcasing interesting modern design from around the web. It was a side project at the time, as I was studying to be a Graphic Designer, but as soon as the course finished I knew I wanted to continue with this project and commit to it on a full time basis.

Luckily I had a small following on my website and I decided to open up an online shop that would compliment the blog, this is now located at shop.the189.com and is still running to this day. The idea being to sell a curated selection of functional design that was inspired by "Super Normal", an exhibition by Jasper Morrison and Naoto Fukasawa that originally took place in Tokyo. With a limited amount of funds I started small, connecting with craftsmen who make these handmade functional products and representing them in my online shop. My interest is still rooted in the fields of craft and design how it can still can help the modern world, both aesthetically and in a functional sense.

Japan has certainly inspired many modernist and contemporary designers throughout time, so I felt a strong inclination to support the different craftsmen and at the same time found a niche in representing them here in Europe due to their difficulty speaking English or lacking connections here in the West.

Since 2015 I have been studying Japanese to interact with the makers, I also try to visit Japan each year and meet them face to face, which is very important in Japan and is one of the reasons why quite a few of the posts here on Steemit will be about my travels in Japan. I’m still not fluent in Japanese but I study everyday and it’s a fantastic journey to say the least. Not only has learning a language opened up my business up to a number of new opportunities, it has also helped me as a person to learn about different cultures and understand and connect with people in a more dynamically.

Around the same time as when I started learning Japanese I took up the hobby of making pottery at a local studio. After studying under a local potter in the evenings I built a small studio and now sell a small selection online. It’s still a side project but I hope to pursue it full time in the future.

Living a creative lifestyle is all I’ve ever wanted, having freedom and the ability to write, draw, make and connect with others in this realm. Besides my own areas online that I’ve created for myself I’m glad to have found a website like this where I can respond to comments and feel part of a community. I hope to offer more interesting content for you and showcase my progression in the fields of art, craft and design, as well as my exploits in various countries around the world. Hopefully you will come along for the ride? 😌

P.S. I’m new here on Steemit so any advice is really appreciated. I wanted to show a few photos of my face but I tend to be the one taking the photos rather than being the model. 😅 haha Here are a mixture from the last few years, the ones of me making on the pottery wheel being the most recent. Have a great day and I hope to interact with you all in the comments!

Sort:  

Hi, Mark! It's nice to meet you! It's my first time to come across a person whose hobby includes pottery. I don't have any hobbies myself, so I kind of envy you. 😅

I think you're here longer than I am, but just in case you still need some Steemit advice, perhaps you can try checking this: https://steemit.com/steem/@gold84/chapter-1-of-11-have-you-recently-sign-up-on-steemit-and-don-t-know-what-to-do-first-basic-things-for-new-people-make-their-way

This article has been very helpful. It's a series actually so it explains every important parts of Steemit in detail. It also includes a lot of Steemians for references and for you to follow in case you find them helpful.

I also like your photos by the way. Looking forward to more of your posts and photos. 😃

Thanks so much for the recommendation. I will check it out now. 😊 Have a great day and hope to see you around!

No problem, hope you find it helpful. ☺
See you around!

looking forward to see more art from you

Thanks for the comment. I hope to share more soon! :)

I don't know what sort of filter do you use but it's beautiful, are you using any app for those pictures Mark? Anyway, hello Mark, glad to have you in this community, shall follow you for more art.

Hey! Thanks so much for commenting. Yeah, the top and bottom photos are taken on a film camera (Pentax K1000 I think) so that's why they seem a little grainy. The others were taken on a Canon 7D but edited in Lightroom a little.

Hey Mark. Thanks for sharing. That's such a sweet hobby to have. Looking forward to hearing more from you.

Thanks for commenting. Yeah, pottery is a really fun hobby. Definitely try it if you get a chance. Have a nice day and hope to provide more content soon.

shifu says welcome mark san!

hey shifu san! 😁 hope to see you around.

ようこそ!

ありがとうございました。😌 良い一日を。🙂

Welcome to steemit @oen curious to see what you have to offer here! have a good day!

Thanks so much. I will try my best. 🙂

welcome aboard @oen , i feel that this type of content which involves art and creativity will go a long way here on steemit.
steem onnn !!!!

Thanks so much for the comment. I will try my best to bring more creative subjects over here on my blog! It's quite heavy on the crypto side at the moment on Steem, so I hope to offer something a little different for people to enjoy.

This post has received a 0.67 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @oen.

Great intro post! You definitely lead an interesting life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99