FIRST STEEMIT POST

20180312_185959.jpg

Hey Steemians!
So this is my introductory post and I'd love to share a bit about myself and the journey that gave me a love for writing poetry. Here goes....

My name is Tanya and I am 21 years old, I absolutely LOVE writing poetry, the only thing I love more is my family which includes 2 gorgeous horses and a little funny farm of other pets.

Ever since I was a little (probably 2 years old) I always had a love for everything horses, anything to do with horses I was apart of the conversation. To me, even at such a young age I was mesmerized by their strength and beauty, their ability to tell you exactly what they were saying without speaking. Now my parents didn't have a ton of money and we moved around a lot when I was growing up, so I didn't have a horse of my own. It was my biggest wish in the entire world to be able to own a horse. It was only after my parents separated and I was about 10 years old that I got my very own pony (for Christmas no less!!) It was a dream come true!!

Now you're probably wondering how this all relates to me writing poetry....and trust me it all ties together!

My earliest poems were written about the love of my life at the time, my little rascal pony Joey. In school anytime we were tasked with any writing assignment that's all I wrote about! They probably didn't resemble any "format" for poetry but my love for writing and horses went hand in hand and to me, horses are the most poetic thing I could've written about at that age.

2012 was the year I started seriously writing poetry. It also didn't have any format that resembled anything we were learning in school because I felt that putting guidelines onto my emotions and thoughts wasn't how I would get all my emotions out properly. Now these emotions at the time are what determined my main writing style and themes that I based my poems on (and still do), they were an outlet for my anger and my depression and anxiety.

You see, my dad passed away in 2010 (I was 13 years old), it was an extremely traumatic experience for me and I wasn't able to handle it. I was feeling completely alone in the world and my mom, my friends they all tried their best to comfort me but they didn't know what was going on inside me. I went through many years of severe depression and being medicated for it as well as counselling. Now, at the time I wasn't a very open person and didn't like talking about my feelings with other people, especially other people who's job it was to pry deeper and really get into my mind so I lied to them and told them what they wanted to hear. My real emotions came out in my journaling.

My history of depression was a long one (as many people with depression say), I went through the struggles of self harm and anything to help me get my mind off what was actually happening around me in my life, at this point I strayed away from poetry and everything I really loved. I became distant and completely let myself be controlled for 2 years by my mental illness. After one of many nights where I put myself in the hospital I looked over at my mom sitting beside my bed with my 2 younger sisters and I knew I needed to do something different. I needed to stop my self harm and my attempts at suicide because the last thing I wanted was for my family to have to lose someone else. And so....I got back into poetry.

I started by buying a little notebook and a ridiculous amount of pens (I knew I was going to go through a lot of them). Every time I felt the dark creeping into my mind or I had the urge to self harm, I channeled those emotions and thoughts in my mind and I painted a gruesome picture on paper until my mental clarity wasn't clouded anymore. A lot of my earliest poems from that time tend to be bone chilling and extremely dark, but it worked.

I used writing as a coping mechanism for many years and now when I write, I do it for the pure love of writing. Probably 80% of the poems I write now are still a little dark and brooding because I find that type of writing really uplifting in the way that it reminds me I'm not at that place anymore, that I can appreciate how far I've come but that I can still write about those types of things and make the reader really feel something. I try to make my poetry emotional in the way that it means something different to everyone who reads it and that is what I think poetry is there for.

Poetry makes you feel. Whether those feelings are to just make you feel alive, have a little chuckle, or even make you appreciate the things you have more intensely. I write silly little poems and love poems every now and then as well as poems about beauty and society. I love sharing my poetry just for the sheer enjoyment of letting other people feel.

So that's my journey for how I got started with poetry and why I continue on this path! I hope you guys enjoy my work and everything that it brings to the table for you guys!!!

Thanks so much for taking the time to read my very first Steemit post! I look forward to sharing my passions of horses and poetry with you guys as well.

Sort:  

Horses are incredible creatures. I rode a little growing up, but we never lived anywhere where having a horse made sense. I still know a lot about the different breeds, equipment, and terminology--even though I haven't ridden since 5th grade or so. Apparently I was a better horse reader than rider. Sorry to hear about your dad, that sounds rough. Good luck with writing and poetry.

Thank you! Yeah, horses are incredible, poetry in motion as they say! I still enjoy reading about horses too and some days I'm better at reading than riding lol

Welcome to the steemit community!! Looking forward to read some of the poems you have written :)

Thank you! I'm excited to start posting!

Welcome to Steemit :) Best of luck to you. It can be daunting in the beginning but stick with it and you will find your place.

welcome to the era of freedom

Hello......Welcome abroad.. keep creating good content..
SteemIt is one of the best platform for content creators like you..
Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
Be yourself.
Be interesting and informative.
I hope this tutorial helps ☛☛☛ Making Money in SteemIT
Follow Me for more Help

Welcome To Steemit! Your biggest challenge now is how can you grow from a minnow to a dolphin and then to a whale. Fortunately, it’s not as hard as it seems.

If you post great content and involve yourself in the Steemit community you’ll grow a large following in no time at all.


SteemitVideos is a project created by @spencercoffman dedicated to helping you grow on Steemit. All videos will be posted here directly from the YouTube channel.

Hey @obscurelullaby welcome :), come and join us on Discord Steemit School you can learn a lot of staff about success here also you can meet a lot of people from Steemit there. There is post promotion section so you can promote your posts to get bigger rewards. This is the link: https://discord.gg/fVTVpdy

Welcome to steemit,a community for positive people just like you,trust me you'll enjoy every bit of it,It takes patience,commitment,perseverance and dedication to succeed on steemit.you can follow me @donkelly


Welcome to Steemit @obscurelullaby!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41