My First post on steemit - Oakey(introduceyourself)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

First and foremost, I would like to say a big thank you to Ned Scott and Dan Larimer for giving us Steemit (In case you missed). No great work like this comes very easily. If you’ve ever tried making something as simple as your video or post go viral on the internet, you’ll understand how uneasy it is, especially if you are one out of a billion other starters.

steemit.png
steemit logo

“Tell me about yourself” can be the easiest as well as a vague question (or is it just me?). In as much as you are trying to build that character within the image of yourself, you also want to make sure you aren’t saying too much or too little. As a matter of fact, I’ve had my profile for a week, however, it took me that whole week to convince myself I am immersed enough and ready to utilize all the skillset I acquired in the process of spending some average of 6 hours per day patiently going through each section of the website ranging from trending to new, hot, promoted, tags as well as FAQs. (It was that interesting)

20170918_225838.jpg
My recent scrabble win

My name is Oakey, just like my profile says. I get a lot of first timers asking if its spelt like the sunglasses company (Oakley), I guess its usually easier to tell them “Its Oakey without the Dokey!” I live in the capital city of Ohio, Columbus (go Bucks!!) within the midwestern parts of the United States (Still trying to figure out how Ohio state can be in the Midwest region in the map of America)

20170824_112600.jpg
Skyline of columbus downtown

I work within the Internet security sector for my occupation, and I love my job! I’m able to learn and get updated with the latest technology trends plus I get to work remotely from home most times (Nothing as fun as watching your favorite show with your favorite drink "at work"). At the same time, I take post graduate classes at the highly respected The Ohio State University. When I’m either at work or school, I’m usually at Udemy or code academy, self-sharpening up my coding skills because I believe in continuous education which cannot be replaced with almost anything (even with experience).

20170209_104656.jpg
Why don't we all just work from home?

My fun times are the best. I use the gym everyday (ever since my physical therapist complained of my low BMI), enjoy playing indoor games, hiking in the evening with friends, and I spend most of my free times exploring new places and trying out new things, and yes, I love to travel. Well I definitely live in O-H so I’m a proud Buckeye fan, but I won’t undermine the fact that the rest of my joy lies with watching soccer so I support the Columbus Crew on the local soccer tier and Barcelona on the international tier (Up Barca!).

20170826_192257.jpg
Mapfre stadium. Go Columbus Crew!

2018 is already beginning to look like a great year for me because I ended up creating my long talked about forum website called www.forumine.com Its still in its infant stage but I have a whole lot of prospects for it. Going through this website(steemit), I noticed some contents and comments especially from introductory texts which I think can be improved on:

  1. Take your time to understand the uniqueness of the steemit website before your first post
  2. Never beg for upvotes, follows, resteem etc. They all come naturally.
  3. Uniqueness counts, if you are getting paid for you write-ups, then take time to make each word count
  4. Always remember your posts are like carving your marks on stone, They cannot be erased because of the way the block chain is designed, so think, re-think and un-think before you do!
    I could go on and on but I would like to thank everyone that took their time to read about me this far and would love to read advice, constructive comments and experience that could be useful to me and other newbies like me.
Sort:  

Thanks for the positive comments. I hope to take some of your positive advice too

My pleasure, Steem on!

Welcome on board. Lots of good information here.

Thank you for taking your time to read my first post. It means so much to me.

Warm greetings and love, welcome to the platform :)

We have made some Discord groups or sub-communities which may help you grow faster, click here for further details :)

Thanks for the warm welcome. I will definitely take my time to explore various sub-communities, groups, advanced functionalities and various packages steemit has in stock for us all.

Welcome! And #3 is an important one to surely remember. On another note - I'm from Indiana and spent many a night going to punk rock shows on High Street back in the day. Welcome to Steemit you Buckeye!

Awesome! Im sure you support the buckeye too? (or the Hoosiers? ). Over the years, High street has retained its class and proven to be one of the best hangouts in Columbus. I believe this will only get better. :)

Ah..well, I am a born Hoosier and I also have a degree from Indiana University, where the Hoosiers play, but I don't really follow college ball :) So I'm indifferent! Glad to hear High Street is still a cool place to visit.

I personally follow other sports than football too. Yes! you should come visit here sometime.

Congratulations @oakey, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75