Introduction to nyarlathotepsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

About me

I have never been one to talk about myself and the things I do, I am never at ease doing that and I regret when I am forced to do it. So, I was thinking over and over about introducing myself here, did not know how to start off.

One thing I certainly like though, is to look over the libraries of the houses I visit, I greatly enjoy browsing the titles and recognizing books. Then, I remembered someone saying that to get to really know a person, you just have to look at his library of books. I figured, what better way to tell others about me than letting my books do all the "talking"!

So, here you go, a zoomed out photo of it:

And a couple of closer ones (if the link does not work immediately, try clicking "RELOAD" on imgur's error page):


link to full-sized image

link to full-sized image

link to full-sized image

Feel free to examine the books in there (better open the full-sized images for that) and if you find something that sparks your interest, just ask, I'd be happy to give more details or do a special post about it. If some of the titles are all-greek to you, it's because they are indeed... in Greek! Just point the book and I'll write about it in English. And yes, I know it looks chaotic, but I know exactly where everything is!

Is that all?

Of course not, there are many more books in my old home (my parent's one) and a ton of comics put away and stored in boxes. Sometime I might open those and go through them again, like opening a long-forgotten treasure trove! Also, a couple of things that are not shown by books:

  • I'm 41, married with 2 kids!
  • I've played with computer graphics a long time ago, using software like Bryce and Poseur.
  • Studied Computer Science & Constraint Logic Programming
  • I love classic rock but I enjoy all good music
  • I prefer mountain to sea (I think!)
  • I have never tasted gumbo, and I never will!
  • I've had a long and very fulfilling tenure as Keeper to Chaosium's Call of Cthulhu and Nephilim

People that follow me should expect posts and comments related to all the topics above.

I've found a couple of great posters here in Steemit, with many excellent posts on a variety of topics. It may be hard sometimes to discover interesting posts in a vast sea of casual content here, but following the right people helps a lot. Thanks for reading this, see you soon!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @Nyarlathotep, you are a real bookworm you Great Old One:) You are also one of the most interesting people i know and i am sure your presence here adds a lot of value to the community:) Can't wait to see you start posting:)

You devil, you! Thanks, may my fellow Great Old Ones bestow their grace upon you, and lots of tentacles!

Interesting bookshelf... unfortunately the links to the full size images don't work for me. I think, you can just upload larger photos in the first place, and one can enlarge them with right click.. view image..

The one of the most interesting book shelf encounters in my life were, when I visited a girl friend a long time ago... she did not have one book with even one picture in it. I didn't have one without pictures. And I'm not only talking about comic books ;-)

Yes, weird thing about the links is that if you click RELOAD on imgur's error page, the pics load normally. But i'll also try what you suggest when back home --thanks.

I, too, have some books with no pics but also lots about visual arts and comics... and, there is a hidden collectible Penthouse issue among those books above, maybe someone can spot it!

Besides your exquisite selection of books that certainly classifies you as a very interesting person, I want to personally thank you for the first paragraph of your post. I feel exactly the same as you have described, uncomfortable to share such personal information, yet you have somehow done that without unnecessary exposing yourself, letting us know the facets of your life that should actually interest us and giving hope to the rest of us who still struggle with our introduction.
I am looking forward to reading more of your posts and comments. Thanks for sharing @nyarlathotep

Thanks, maybe i should become the President of Steemit Timidness, the P.O.S.T!

Great post @nyarlathotep good luck with everything in your life :-P

Thanks, same to you my friend.

Welcome to Steemit @nyarlathotep
I hope you will have a great time in this platform. Hope to get your favorite list of books. Respect from @steemero

Welcome to Steem @nyarlathotep I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit! I find your library interesting as well as your music preferences :)

Thanks, perhaps you might find something interesting in my future posts too! By the way, can you make a psychological profile of someone based on indirect information about him, like ... his library!?

I need more info in order to shape a psychological profile, however I guess that you are an introvert and imaginative person, open to new experiences, a follower of evolution (as I see people who involved in computer science!) I’m waiting for your future posts to find more… interesting info!!

I think you got it just right. So either i am an open book to read (pun intended in this post!) or you are very good at profiling ;-)

Welcome, but what do you have against gumbo??!

Lol, nothing personal, it's that it should not be considered edible in the first place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59155.91
ETH 2515.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47