A Wannabe Author Trialing Steemit

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello to absolutely ANYONE that see's this! Thanks for popping by.

I joined the crypto rush back in October 17 and have gradually seen more and more Steemit articles popping up on the subject. However, I've also noted more non-cryptocurrency related articles appearing too, so I thought I better come in and check you lot out!

What an amazing idea this is; potentially earning a little crypto for posting some content! Who'd have thought it?

Why am "I" here ... then? What could I possible provide?

Well...

Back in 2010, I returned back to College, to try to attain an English GCSE, as a 'very mature' student. I'd failed it three times as a teen, so I wasn't going let that stop me! I wasn't going to fail again in my mid 30's!

Yeah, I'm that old, get over it! :-)

As part of the course, I was tasked to write several stories. I took true-life events with a pinch of artist license, stirred in a little elaboration. Twisted and pulled, until little pieces of fiction fell out; whilst trying desperately to mask the real identities of the main characters.

I managed to secure an A* qualification, so you can imagine how tickled pink I was!

Now...

Those few stories, I always felt that I could turn them into something MORE. For the past few years, I've been penning chapters in my spare time (i.e. train rides, waiting for daughter to finish swimming club, and that sort of thing). I'd always had a goal of writing a book. Well, I'm now 80k words in and i'm still a long way off from finishing!

... but I do have a plan and plot!

My writing style isn't great, and I'm constantly tweaking the grammar. However, I have (in my opinon) some very funny stories to tell (all with a truth underpinning them); albeit with a lot of writers exaggeration and fantasy going on!

A lot of the chapters get highly explicit, hence the NSFW warning. I'm not sure if I cross any grounds I shouldn't, but a lot of the writing has been dramatical effect.

So, I've posted the first chapter and will send up the second within the next few days. The juicy bits don't arrive for a good few chapters, so you are safe to gauge the story for the first few.

Please, by all means, provide constructive critism. I'm happy to amend and fix issues. In fact, I would like to better myself.

I hope it's a well liked story. I've certainly enjoyed writing it, even though i'm not convinced anyone will want to read the entire thing.

Chapter 1 - Stranded (still editing)
Chapter 2 - Road-trip (still editing)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @novicewriter! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to Steemit! Hope you achieve a great succes with your stories, I long to read them soon☺

Hi dabrch, thank you. I do hope you like. The first chapter is available. I keep re-reading it and know it needs a little more work.

Thank you lopezdacruz. Please do let me know if the first chapter is 'too over the top'

Thask Mona-eats. I hope you enjoy my attempt.

Congratulations @novicewriter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Please bookmark Steem BluePaper and Steem Whitepaper and don't miss reading when you have time.
All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37