Let's get going, folks!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

My introduction into the crypto-world

erinaco67.jpg

Just a few months ago I did not have a faintest idea about cryptocurrencies; ok, I have heard about Bitcoin but only vaguely and would never expect to get involved in it - as it seemed so hyped and overpriced and there were many people saying the bubble would burst eventually. I had a hard time wrapping my head around it all. What? you pay real hard-earned $$$ for series of zeroes and ones representing currency in your computer? Too geeky for a humanist. Too abstract for a linguist. Too impractical for an educator.

And yet the notion kept bugging me. It kept nagging me to check it out and that is how I started to realize that in the modern world virtually (sic!) all we have are series of zeros and ones. Exaggeration? Well, music, films, e-books, audio books - see streaming services. Friends and social life - social networks. Things we buy - online transactions. Banks - internet access and mobile cash... should I say more? And it finally dawned on me - this is not the future, this is the present. The virtual revolution is well under way.

When I realized this I started looking for a niche for myself to ease myself into the whole new world of crypto-things (but do notice that things here is meant virtually). I am a non-tech person, a humanist, a philosopher by nature and a linguist by profession all in one. Was there a place in the crypto-world for me? I do not understand finance very well; even the regular money is a tad too abstract for me - how can virtual money be any easier. And then... enter Steemit! A place where I hope to experience the first insights into how this new (brave, perhaps) world will work.

So what else should you know about me? Well, I see myself a little bit like the figure in the picture above, which incidentally is Personnage Hillaire by Jean Dubuffet, one of the pictures that always cheer me up. I am an active educator and work in an international context teaching literature, language, philosophy and critical thinking. I love teaching and sharing knowledge with others. I love getting inspired by other people, whoever they are.

My recent other (besides cryptocurency) project is connected with the international language - Esperanto, which I hope to become more and more widespread and I hope to share some of it here, on Steemit, so expect some Esperanto posts from me. My big dream is to put together a course of Esperanto from beginner to advanced, all with frills and whistles like a website and a mobile app, so I will be working towards that goal with you guys, too, if you're up to it.

See you around, folks and I'm looking forward to a great journey together.

P.S. My nickname Erinaco is hedgehog in Esperanto.
Cheers,
E67

Sort:  

@nnnpr3, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Welcome to Steemit platform, from all of us in promo-nigeria. Steemit is a beautiful place to be and we are sure you will be happy here. Get to know more by blogging consistently. Never be discouraged, seek for assistant when necessary. Cheers!

Welcome to steemit!

Saluton Erinaco kaj bonvenon je steemit!
Mi estas sur vojo adiaŭante tiun ĉi platformon. Se mi povus esprimi min tiel bone angle kiel vi, kaj pli kompreni la tutan monogajnan aferon, eble mi restus pli longe ĉi tie. Steemit estas spegulo de la efektiva mondo, kapitalisma, nur iom vestita kiel alternativa liberema demokratia entrepreno. Mi verkis multajn artikolojn, kelkajn, kiuj bezonis multe da klopodo, tempa kaj mensa, sed revenis preskaŭ neniu resonaco kaj financa gajno. Aliflanke mi tre ŝatis verki esperanto-artikolojn. Kaj mi lernis multege pri novaj teknologioj (ne forgesante, ke la homo ne nur konsistas el algoritmoj). Kaj ankaŭ aliaj interesaj aferoj, kaj mi retrenkontiĝis kun kelkajn agrablajn homojn...
Bonan sukceson ĉi tie!

Dankon pro viaj afablaj vortoj! Mi bedaŭras aŭdi, ke vi lasas Steemit. Ĉu vi publikigas viajn artikolojn aliloke? Ĉu estas pli bonaj lokoj por Esperanto-artikoloj? Lasu min scii, kie vi publikigas viajn tekstojn, se vi forlasos Steemit.

Observante mi certe ĉeestos Steemit. Ĉar mi nun denove havas plenan laborpostenon, al mi mankas libera tempo. Kelkfoje mi publikigas artikoletojn je socia retplatformo MEDIUM. Steemit estas intersa afero, certe, sed oni devas atentigi pri tio, ke ĝi ne formanĝaĉas vian tutan tempon. Ĝi havas dependigaĉan potencon.

Welcome to Steem, @nnnpr3!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2835 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17.4 : Two new features on Busy and bug fixes.

Hello @nnnpr3, Hope you are enjoying Steemit & Welcome! I too am fairly new, and would love to give you a few different tools and pieces of advice to get you started. There is alot to learn on this platform, though I hope you are already enjoying it.

I find the hardest part of meeting new users is getting in contact, so Unless you use Discord, Telegram, or The Steemit Chat, where my username is all the same there as here, You can feel free to email me at [email protected] anytime. You can also use http://www.yopmail.com/en/ to create a private email to chat with if you prefer.

Hope to hear from you :)

Welcome to Steemit - Check out my blog if your are interesting in participating in some easy promotions / games designed to help everyone grow their Steemit accounts.

Hello @nnnpr3! Welcome to Steemit and good luck!

Thanks a lot!

Hello nnnpr3! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57343.93
ETH 3104.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12