Introduce Yourself: Hi Steemit! My name is Nina :)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hi everybody!

My name is Nina and this is my very first post on Steemit. I am a student at the University of Michigan and am studying Computer Science. I am super interested in all types of tech and social media. I am particularly interested in software and app/web development. My passion is to help others through easy to use user interfaces and software design. I want to make software more accessible and easier for people to learn and use in their everyday lives. My other biggest passion is bringing tech to girls and getting them interested in Computer Science. I have organized and taught several Girls in Tech events and camps.

Ich habe auch ein Nebenfach in Deutsch! Ich habe Deutsch für sechs Jahre gelernten. Ich liebe deutsche Kultur und die Sprach, aber ich denke mein Deutsch arbeiten brauchen. Ob Sie mit mir sprechen, werde ich probieren.

I plan to mostly post about my time here at Michigan. I know when I was a senior in high school I couldn't get enough information about what my life at a specific university would be like. I even went so far as to create a Zillow type dorm website for one of my Hackathon projects (check it out https://dormdecs.wordpress.com). So to any prospective Michigan students out there, this account is for you.

I am also still super involved in FIRST Robotics after graduating from high school. FIRST Robotics is an international organization where students and mentors work together to build a robot in 6 weeks and compete in a different game each year. I am currently mentoring a team and am still connected to my team from high school. This year will be my first year volunteering and I will be a scorekeeper at two competitions in Michigan. I am also looking forward to attending the FIRST World Championship in Detroit this year! I plan to document my experiences as a volunteer and post some fun pictures along the way. If you're interested in learning more about FIRST or just want to talk about it, feel free to hit me up!

Some other fun facts about me:

  1. I am half Japanese and love my Japanese culture
  2. I sort of speak 3 languages (English, Japanese, German)
  3. I love to travel (Favorite place I've ever been to is probably Paris)
  4. I have been to all of the Disney parks besides the ones in China (I'm a complete Disney nerd :))
  5. I have a weakness for makeup even though I don't wear it on a day to day basis
  6. I love YouTube and am subscribed to 100+ creators
  7. I love theme parks and roller coasters and am part of a Theme Park Engineering Group at UMich (TPEG)
  8. I am a Ravenclaw 💙

Follow me on my other social medias!
https://twitter.com/ninajanies
https://www.instagram.com/ninajanies/

Sort:  

Hi ninaja welcome to steemit.....

That's awesome. Yeah I think there definitely needs to be more women in STEM courses. Great to see you taking an interest in an exciting field. Wish I had explored some computer course at university. Btw if you want to check out some cool channels on youtube I watch these guys.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCEDkO7wshcDZ7UZo17rPkzQ

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCV0qA-eDDICsRR9rPcnG7tw

Thanks for the video suggestions! Your posts seem cool.

Welcome to steemit disney nerd!

are you familiar with python ?

Yep! Actually just finished a pretty big AI project in it a few months ago.

seriously ? i have some litle problems with python

Nina, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I love your photos and I love Disney and Japan and I do web design. I'm from Oregon.

Hey Joey! Thanks for reading!

welcome to steemit, success for you, @ninaja

Hi Nina, I UPVOTED your post as a welcoming gift. Nice to meet you and welcome to steemit. I would like to see my today’s post about STEEMIT TIPS FOR YOUR SUCCESS!!. I believe it will help you.

Please don’t forget to follow me @nayanbd666

welcome to this community ...hopefully you can reach what you want on this community ...

Hi pretty girl, I'm giving away 10 Steem Dollars check my post to find out more

https://steemit.com/giveaway/@stevekelly/get-free-steem-dollars-huge-steem-dollars-giveaway

Hi Nina and welcome to Steemit ! I’m a new user as well and would like to connect with other steemians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. What about you? So i give you my vote, follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Peace. CS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62716.82
ETH 2447.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65