Howdy Folks and Special Thanks!!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I have been posting here on Steemit for the better part of 3 months. That being said I am not new but I am certainty not what you would call a whale. Extremely happy with where I am, I decided to make an introduction post about my experience so far and thank those who have helped me along the way.

I understand most people make their introduction post right away, but better late than never. So, Howdy folks!

IMG_1132.jpg IMG_1140.jpg

To start my name is Nick Buha and I am 2 and live on Long Island in NY. I am a landscaper by trade and a fisherman by heart. Don't get me wrong I love my job the only thing that can be annoying is that I am blessed with a few months off during the winter, but cursed because there isn't all the much fishing going on.

As far as landscaping goes, right now it's just me and the owner. We sometimes have workers but they come and go, it can be tough to find full time employees for a growing landscaping company. Much easier for me I guess, because it is large passion of mine. I know your probably thinking "its just cuttin grass!" but for me, its goes beyond that. I love designing, planting, and pruning. In fact we have clients that only let me touch their shrubs and flowers.

daone.jpg
I took the shot on the 30ft tripod ladder. The guy with the yellow shirt is still with us on and off, the other one was let go.

I'm sure this passion for landscaping comes from growing up gardening with my father. After he passed from a disease called Lupus, I felt the need to start taking care of the yard. At age 13, armed only with what he had taught me. I got it done, with much trial and error, I was learning how to do things the right way. Always thinking "What would my dad do". That is what I think was the biggest help and where my best inspiration comes from.

What would my dad do? He would have a garden, is what I thought. So shortly after thinking it I started digging.

Its this same "What would dad do" thought mixed with something he had already taught me, to again pursue my passion for fishing. My father was taking me fluke fishing ever since I had the dexterity to hold a fishing rod.

Image0.jpg

From the age of 13 I grew to 18 not catching a fish, it wasn't really a thought in my mind. That is until One of my moms friends invited me out on their boat for a short fluke fishing trip. Catching fish after fish I couldn't believe how happy I was, It was truly like something that was missing was put back into place.

Promptly after this trip I invested in gear and Iv'e been in a seemingly never ending pursuit of the many species of aqua fauna.

I Cannot for the life of me remember where I heard this and cannot find someone to quote on this but:
"Your eyes hold your age and your ears hold your fathers age, your ears see the past and your eyes see the present"

One of my newest hobbies is hunting. I am very new to it and I got into it for the same reason I fish, to procure meat. Even though my father was not a hunter, nor did he really expose me to it, I still believe it is his introduction to life 101 that leads my decisions to this day. After all It is my now established love for nature that opens me up to what my life has become and yet to become.

IMG_0102.JPG

Thats my life in a nutshell or steemit post if you so rather. Which brings us to my experience here.

I started posting here on steemit and one thing was for sure there were not many people here posting hunting and fishing related stuff. Even so I felt very welcomed when I started posting.

So what do I post? Mostly fishing related content but its really whatever I find interesting.

After a few months I had found myself slipping into communities within the community of steemit. The first one I found was @photocontest, while I havn't won yet it's still very fun to use the tags and give it a shot. But the one that stood out to me the most and included me with the warmest welcome was the @myhuntingfishing community curated by @bbrewer.

Thank you steemit community!!
Thank you @callmecrypto for being the first steemit fishermen to be here to make me feel like I wasn't alone here.
Thank you @huntbook for being so kind, encouraging my more in depth articles and for introducing me to the @myhuntingfishing community
Last but not least a special thanks to @bbrewer curator of @myhuntingfishing for welcoming me to his community and giving me delegation within it.
Thank you and R.I.P. Frank Buha.

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @nickbuha! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

It's great to get to know you better @nickbuha! So glad to have you as part of the @myhuntingfishing / #myhuntingfishing community!
Your father would be proud of you for taking the things he taught you and turning them into your own passions.
You will do great as a hunter. We can't wait to read your hunting and fishing stories and see your success going forward. Steem on!

Thank you!! I am glad to be a part of @myhuntingfishing/ #myhuntingfishing. Any of the many things a father teaches a child can become a potential passion, despite having less, I feel like what he did get up to had more energy for growth. When I figure something hard out or even catch a fish I feel like my dad is standing with me. honestly, I'm not addicted to fishing souly for the thrill, but remembering the joy that I had reeling one in with my father through every fish I catch to this day. I look forward to future posts to come, from me and the many others making great and quality posts. Steem on, tight lines!

Loading...

Welcome nickbuha, hope you will have a great time here on steemit!

Thank you, I hope you enjoy as well!

Greetings From Mr. Crypto!
I enjoyed your post and I'm pleased to meet you!

Please help us grow @rehab22 Follow/UpVote/Resteem
Original Content.

Thank you! I am pleased to meet you as well.

Good post. Have a great time on steemit

It has been my pleasure to get to know you a little bit better Nick. May the spirit of the outdoors be with you - oh right, it already is! I can feel it in your work...Thanks.

Thank you!!!

Wow, that was a great read and very moving. It got me thinking of my past as my dad and grandfathers taught me many things about fishing and hunting. Also, my time when I was younger and worked in law care and landscape. This has motivated me to do a post about me and my step son fishing. I will post it soon.

Thank you!, I'm looking forward to that post. I bet your stepson appreciates you bring him. :)

Grteat intro. Nice to meet you.

Resteemed to over 14700 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

@resteem.bot

We are happy to be part of the APPICS bounty program.
APPICS is a new social community based on Steem.
The presale was sold in 26 minutes. The ICO will start soon.
Read here more: https://steemit.com/steemit/@resteem.bot/what-is-appics

@resteem.bot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62349.28
ETH 3026.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67