Nick Steele - From Homeless to Coaching Executives (and resume writing) to Trying Steemit

Me.jpg

I'm a writer by nature, so please excuse my narrative. ;)

My name is Nick Steele, but you knew that. By the time I was in college in 2008 I had learned Calculus, programming (C++, Java, etc.), and how to not care about my grades. I decided it was best to assist a man named Anil in attracting fortune 100 executives to our university. During that time we raised over $250K, and I became homeless. I dropped out of college (well, I fired the university, but I was stuck).

I slept on the college of Engineering desks, sneaking in when Anil let me at 12 to 1 AM and having to sneak out before 6 AM when the professors came into their offices. If I'm being honest, I really got in at about 2 to 4 AM most times. I was ALWAYS tired. This was between 2009 and 2010.

During this time, I met the VP of Rolls-Royce, Enterprise Holdings, two billionaire mentors, and other legendary executives that I know well in their respective fields. Wait... I know you're saying, how did I meet these "whales" I was homeless. Well... I dedicated my time into more entrepreneurial endeavors, and not classwork. So my grades dropped, but I could have stopped it. It's when I couldn't get hired at jobs in the local market that things fell apart.

After going through that and somehow escaping that, a certain executive that was launching his start-up security app (that snapchat and other apps have copied features from. Snapchat's main feature was our apps main one) invited me to work at his company after receiving an email from me randomly. I always used to send out emails to my contacts saying happy thanksgiving, or checking in on them.

He used to work for Alcatel-Lucent and ATT on developing broadband before it launched. I worked for him for a few months before I wasn't paid. I left and went through four more struggling years (2011 to 2015). I tried several start-up ideas, from starting a t-shirt company (that somewhat was successful since I was a track and field / XC coach) to trying to put together a website that specializes in areas that amazon fails its ebook base (technically, this year).

I finally had a turnaround in 2016 when I found Thumbtack, a website I am thankful that exists, but only cares about its bottom line. It allowed me to work with professionals on their resumes, cover letters and linkedin accounts. Reconnect with former corporate executive contacts as well as coach them (and new contacts from Thumbtack) and see myself with a <95% success rate in my coached clients and resume clients landing the job that they want or starting their business within 2.5 months of working with me!

Me 2.jpg

But something wasn't right... During this time I failed to mention that I became a National USA Track and Field Announcer and announced for the World Youth Trails. I also failed to mention that announcing is my FAVORITE thing to do, no matter the sport or audiobook I'm "announcing". I was invited to announce as an esports announcer for a few tournaments in Halo, but I declined.

Most importantly, I was writing, and failing BIG TIME, stories. I hadn't completed a fictional novel since 2009, and I couldn't concentrate on my poems anymore. I ghostwrote stories for others during this time if I were paid, but I couldn't complete mine. And the only thing I love more than announcing, is writing.

Currently I'm nearly finished with one novel, and am starting on the path to the second on September 18th. I have developed over 370 story ideas, all in the same universe, and I intend to write as many of those that I can.

So, this brings me to Steemit. I'm hoping this site, if I'm able to attract an audience and make enough livable money to focus on my writing, will be the window to which I can release parts of my longer stories, as well as my short stories and actually have an audience. Well, so much for the dramatic ending, eh?

PS - I'm vegan and I am in the process of launching a radio show that focuses on health. And I've helped 149 people go vegan since January 2017 (paid service).

Please like, comment and hopefully follow :)

World Plant Milk Day.png

Sort:  

Sounds like you have had a crazy life... And you're still young. Keep doing what you're doing. It seems to be working.

Thanks @doctorcrypto. It has been rough at times, although I have stayed positive most of it. It has been crazy to literally see success all around me but I have nothing. My time being homeless has taught me A LOT. I'll keep on trucking. Thank you so much!

I welcome you @nick-write-vegan. It will be easy to remember your username...you're Nick, you write and you're a vegan! 😊 Thank you for sharing that piece of your life with us. This really is a positive and encouraging community and I hope you get lots of love and support for your efforts. Have fun on your journey and I hope it's an incredible one! 😉

Thank you soooo much for the kind words @crosheille! I like how you broke my username down :)

I look forward to what the future holds for me here. Thanks for the love! :)

Nick, welcome to Steemit. It is a good community of folks who help and up life each other. If you focus on providing good coaching mentoring and content, Steemit indeed is rewarding. Looking forward to see more of your posts and your novel when you are ready to share it. Upvoted, followed and resteemed..

Thank you so much @traderdad! I'm thinking about the content I'll provide here. So far, it's mainly been gaming, but I am thinking about the coaching / mentoring aspects as well :)

Nick, check out the philosophy tag. A lot of good useful mentors advisor and counselors providing excellent advice. For me, mentoring came naturally as my five daughters made their way into the world. Looking forward to see you posts.

Thanks! I will do just that @traderdad

Wow man you're inspiration, I will follow you now!

Good to see more vegans on Steemit! Welcome!!! \☺/

Thanks so much!

I'm trying to get my vegan community of 20K+ to join steemit! That would be a huge gain for us! @rem3600

My pleasure, I hope they will join! Even if only 1% joins, it's a huge gain.When they all invite 5 people that invite 5 people... Check out @lenasveganliving on Steemit, she has amazing recipes IMHO. And she's connected to a lot of other vegans on Steemit ánd she's a very nice woman!

Thanks for the reference @rem3600!

Very nice post.. already i am upvoted your post,,i am new at here,,i'm following you,,,please follow me back N upvote my post, thanks

A new Steemian :-) hello @nick-write-vegan I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Hello, @Nick-write-vegan, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 69220.19
ETH 2745.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74