So who is this Neny?

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello-morning.jpgWell, as a little fish in this big pond of steemit, I don't know if you will find it interesting to read this piece of introduction. But, as custom dictates, I feel it necessary to introduce who is this smiling lady you see in my profile picture.

Neny is my name, or Neny Isharyanti if you want to differentiate me from other neny. I also go by nenyish in social media. Google it, and my digital footprints are scattered here and there (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Plurk, LinkedIn, Ello, and three blogs later, you will find my online presence is annoying. Ha!)

If one should start by a profession in an introduction, I find it rather difficult to categorize myself into. Currently, I'm formally in two professions: student and lecturer. I've been a lecturer for many years now in a small private university in Salatiga, Indonesia, but as I feel that I need to enrich my knowledge of teaching, I decided to become a Ph.D.student in a not-so-small public university in Manchester, UK. One thing that ties the two professions: research, since both professions require me to conduct research. I seriously think I'm not made to become a researcher, but I feel that I have enough curiosity to engage in the research topic that I'm dealing now, and hence I'm positive I can finish this research project of mine in language teacher's professional identity in December 2019 (Can I ask for 'Ameeeeeeenn'?)

If I have to go by interests in introducing myself, I will go even more complicated by saying that I have varied and diverse interests. Like singing. Or writing poems. Or event organizing. Or politics. Or reading fictions. Or performing, in general. Like music, both listening and watching. Perhaps, traveling should get into the list of interests. Also, talking and discussing philosophical questions like where are we going after we die? You see, they are all so random, and I simply can't pick one that interests me the most, so it's just fair if I just list them all in a random order.

Nevertheless, as steemit is a writing platform, I decide to give you ideas of what to look forward in my steemit blog posts: Salatiga and life perspectives. Hmm, looking back at these two topics, they seem to be too broad to cover, but whatever, for the time being, I think it will suffice.

Why Salatiga? Did I say that it's one of the top ten most tolerant city in Indonesia? Living in Salatiga is interestingly diverse and I hope to promote tolerance be it religion wise or ethnic wise in Indonesia which tends to be intolerant these years. And why life perspectives? I guess it's my tendency to think about the meaning of my life in this universe, which may be short but I hope to be meaningful.

And with that, I say hello to you all! Feel free to comment and chat me if you find this first post to be intriguing (oh my!).

Sort:  

welcome to steemit!!!

Thanks so much, @wordsmith777!

Welcome to the Steem World!
I have recently made an orientation video that will help you in your journey here - and will hopefully answer all the questions that took me months to figure out.


https://steemit.com/dtube/@maneki-neko/tuswb0ao
I wish you all the best here on Steem!

Thanks, @maneki-neko! Will soon check it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54166.76
ETH 2272.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34