How I Got Into Art and End Up in Computer Programming

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello Steemit,

This is my first time posting on Steemit. Took me a while to post since I haven't do any blogging for so long. I know about this website through my peers from ComiNation Club who have been trying Steemit under the tag Steem-Cartoon.

Cold.jpg
My current artwork.

A little about myself.

My name is Naszrul Azreen Badarudin or my friend called me Nasz (stylized as Nasx). I have a lot of interest in a lot of thing; one of it is digital art. Since I was a kid, I've always like cartoon. Remember back in the day they always show how to draw the cartoon characters on TV, from there I got interested in drawing and try to follow what they do on TV. At the age of 12, I discovered anime which at the same time I discovered the Internet (I feel old now) which contribute to me liking the anime-style more and fuel my interest in drawing. By then, I decided to take drawing seriously and by the magic of the Internet, I found a lot of tutorial online and slowly improve my drawing.

DP_color_corrected.png

Hey that's me!

Around high school, I got my first graphic tablet and from then, it's all history. How did I got into computer you ask? Well the same reason with why I like drawing in the first place, I just the type of person who like to create the thing that I am interested in, which in this case is digital art and now computer program. By the time I graduated high school, I decided not to continue with art and go with the next thing I'm interested in, which is computing. The logic behind that is, I already know how to draw (not necessarily good), but I know nothing about computer programming. Now I'm a computer science student in MMU. I got more interested in web and game development which I currently have a pet project that I'm working on. I still like drawing, so I integrated my knowledge of digital art and programming which explains why I'm into game development. So basically what I have to offer here in Steemit is my art and my little pet projects.

What I'm Working on Now and My Previous Works.

Currently I'm working an a couple of website which I build from scratch. One of it is a website for ComiNation Club where artists can post their comic and share it.

comination_web.jpg

And my personal website since my old website is dead since I didn't pay for the domain (cry).

nasx_web.jpg

And for the artistic side, I currently have a bunch of comic project which is on a standstill. I do have a series called Double Self (the artwork from top left) running on Tapastic which I will continue in the future definitely. Here is some of my previous works;

art-strip.jpg

In the future I will probably dwell on game development as well. I'm still a novice in that area. Thanks for reading my little introduction post. Please take care of me.

See you again soon!

Sort:  

I would love to have your talent (but only if I can also keep my own meagre talents).

However, since I mostly write, as I was reading and looking at the beautiful exxamples you have provided us, I could not help wondering, do you, as an artist, consider it important that you get to know the characters (of a game or of a comic or story in general) with empathy opening you to what they are like and what their dreams would be, thus being guided to what they look like, how they dress, etc?

Welcome @nasx ! I love seeing new creatives finding their way to steemit! I can't wait to see more of your work :)

Thank you :)

No problem !

Oh hey - Naszrul! :) Ouh it sounds like we have a very similar story! :) Also from arts school --> to webdesign --> to online business eh.. :)

But you are definitely more of the artist! Enjoy! :) and just focus on doing what you love - really notice what you love doing and what can earn.. :)

Much better to be kickass artist, than average and not loving gamedev for example.

Good luck in your journey!

Cool! My current interest is currently computer programming and I'm having fun doing it; and my school assignment is all about this and no time to draw :') I still do drawing in my spare time :D

Welcome to Steem! What language do you code in? React.js?

For websites I mostly use PHP and of course HTML and CSS. If I'm not doing website, usually Java and C++.

You might want to check utopian here.

I did saw some utopian here, but don't exactly know what it is.

Do you know github? Utopian rewards you for doing coding for open sourced projects. You can even just submit ideas and get rewards.

http://join.utopian.io/ more info here

Oh, I get it now, sound interesting!

Selamat datang @nasx Wow! website ComiNation Club dah live ker...Hebat, UI terbaik! Kalah Matkomik macam ni..huhuhu

Belum live lagi @artzam, Matkomik lagi besar huhuhu actually Matkomik salah satu inspirasi nak buat website ni ;)

Welcome to steemit @nasx ... have fun posting... wish u success and enjoyable days ahead... cheers!

Thank you sir :)

Hi @nasx welcome to steemit!

I used to immerse myself in the art of manga and loved to draw whenever I get the chance. After a few years I moved from pencil drawings to digital art like yourself, and finally into computer animation.

don't give up your dreams!

I still doing digital art and now diving into 3D modelling so I could use it for my future game project. I still have a long way to go but definitely won't give up on my dreams!

Welcome to Steemit, Naszrul. That's a beautiful drawing that you have shared. Good to know that you are doing something that you really like. Keep up the good work. I will look forward to seeing more comics from you. Have fun Steeming.

Thank you :D Will definitely do!

You are most welcome and I will look forward to reading them. :)

Thank You Friend nice To Meet You
@nasx......
the Best And amazing.
Nice To Meet You All #steemians
My Name @wanpelor I Am Coming From Aceh Sumatra.
I Say Welcome And Happy To You Here

steemit or eSteem.
Vote @good-karma As Our Witness.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @wanpelo

Congratulations @nasx! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63557.03
ETH 3400.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44