Introduction from a Socially Awkward Introvert to a Socially Loving Extrovert

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I'm 24 years old. I absolutely loved the first ~10 years of my life as a child because it was mostly pure fun and I had (have) a loving family. When I grew up I got socially conditioned and learned to live by all the rules society teaches you to live by. Hence I went from an extroverted kid who really enjoyed life to an introverted shy guy who very often escaped reality with alcohol and weed. I always knew that drugs weren't the answer, but for many years they let me get a glimpse of bliss in the now where all my problems disappeared while I was under the influence.

After years/decades of uncomfortably living in a pretty negative state (with temporary happiess thanks to drugs) where life was more like a chore rather than a fun journey, I realized more and more that I had a problem which needed to be fixed.

IMG_20180409_160231.jpg

I tried everything. Exercising hard, running every day. Veganism, vegetarianism, "Athene's theory of everything", self helping books etc. Most of the things I tried did somewhat help, but I never felt like YES, THIS IS IT!

In short, what made me go from a shy introverted dull, not giving a fuck about anything-guy, towards a more loving, life enjoying, happy extroverted guy was the food I eat.

Diet is a deep topic that I could write about for days straight, but in short this is what I did and what completely turned my life around to the better:

I started eating healthy. 100 % raw. 70-80% raw fruit and 20-30% raw vegetables. I won't go into dieting in this post, because I want to keep it fairly short, which is something I've already failed with. x)

Look at this sauna. It's a finnish sauna and it's 90 º C hot most days of the week. Smoke sauna every day, yes. Cause sauna is great for you due to the "extreme" exposure to heat. You can read more about the huge benefits (which are largerly overlooked in mainstream research & media. No wonder you haven't heard of it before) of exposuring yourself to heat at this blog post by Tim Ferris: https://tim.blog/2014/04/10/saunas-hyperthermic-conditioning-2/

IMG_20180424_110656_preview-768x1024.jpeg
A finnish wooden sauna.

When you've been sitting in the sauna for a while and feel that it's time to cool down, jump in the sea. The colder the better. Why, to be a rebel and get attention? Hell no. Do it for the incredible benefits it gives your body:

http://biohackersummit.com/2016/10/15/dr-rhonda-patrick-health-benefits-of-sauna/

Learn to be comfortable with the uncomfortable.

IMG_20180416_142703_preview-1024x768.jpeg
~2 ºC fresh Finnish water. Lucky to be born in a cold climate.

Also don't forget to pet your dog, or any dog for that matter. Dogs are such amazing creatures full of life and love. And they share that love with you every time you're around them. You should give some of that love back to them, win-win for you and the dog. Maybe you can get your dog to join you in the ice water? Or your cat. Haha, if you get your cat to swim in ice water, please let me know.

IMG_20180419_175202-768x1024.jpg

If you're poor like me and don't own a dog, pet someone elses. They're still spreading that love.

Now I want a dog.

IMG_20180418_220426-1024x768.jpg

Finishing the day with some Wim Hof breathing & meditation in this setting is blissful and makes you sleep like a baby:

That's my introduction post. I hope it can help someone. The door to happiness and everything you're seeking for in life is within you. But the door is locked with a key. The key is also inside you. You've got it all! Feeling is understanding.

Oh, and here is my website which I recently created. It very thin on content for now because I created it a few days ago. On this website I plan on writing about what I do with my life and also how you can improve yours.

https://zorize.com

Sort:  

Hello narwhale! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.


Welcome to Steem @narwhale.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome to Steemit. Thanks for sharing your story. 100% raw is definitely something that's been on my mind lately. Harness the natural energy from Mother Nature. Following along and all the best :)

100 % raw is the way to go because we/god/our creator or whatever you want to call it have already made the perfect fitting environment for us. The force/thing that made earth and our food made it fit our bodies perfectly on a molecural level. Then humans came in with their logical thinking and tried to make it better by concentrating high amounts of protein, calories and nutrients with processed food.

Processed food is not better for us because it contains more protein, minerals, nutritents or whatever. It doesn't work that way. We cannot "outsmart" our creator because it's infinitely more intelligent than us. That's why we should eat what's made for us here on earth instead of trying to make the food better, because it's already perfect for us. The molecural structure of raw food, especially fruit, fits our body perfectly and require the least amount of energy to process it and make use of it for our bodies. Contrary to meat, dairy and all other complex food which most parts of it is toxic to our bodies. Our body knows exactly how to handle natural unprocessed food. But complex processed food makes our body work extremely hard because ith as to sort and filter (or encapsulate in fat cells) the toxins and unnecessary substances it cannot make use for. And then make use of the good nutrients in processed food. Processed food is not 100 % worthless, bad and toxic for us. But probably 90 % bad and 10 % good.

Absolutely! Everything we could ever need has already been carefully prepared for us.

You've really inspired me to look into this further. Perhaps I'll start with a couple of raw days a week and go from there. I'm a sucker for bread but I know it's terrible for me.

Do you use a dehydrator? What would your typical day look like food wise?

Starting with a couple of raw days a week is a great start! On a typical day I just eat when hungry so I don't have a strict set of rules when I eat. Could be raspberries, strawberries and blueberries for breakfast. A raw salad for lunch, perhaps with some home made guacamole. And a raw soup for dinner. There are a lot of raw vegan recipes out there which are good.

I am still in the transitioning phase towards eating mostly raw fruit which is the ultimate goal. I sometimes get insane cravings and it happens that I eat a vegetarian pizza to satisfy the cravings. When I relapse with junk food I try to enjoy the food as much as I can rather than thinking how bad I am for eating shitty food. Even though I always feel like shit afterwards, hehe.

I don't use a dehydrator. I have never heard of that before. I think it's best to eat the food just like nature has made it. So no cooking, freezing or heating. Doing any of that changes the molecular structure of the food to the worse.

I'm not 100 % strict. This is a lifelong journey. But I am always trying to lean more and more towards only eating raw fruits. Sometimes I cook or steem (pun) vegetables. But raw is always best, the structure of raw food (especially fruit) fits our bodies perfectly. It's how we are meant to be. Life is meant to be a happy journey, not full of depression, diseases and problems which we are facing today.

This is a very bold statement but you cannot get a disease if you eat the food we are meant to eat.

You can watch Dr. Morse, John Lockman, John Rose and Dr. Robert Lockhart on YouTube for more information. They are absolutely golden. And so are you. :)

This is great info. Thanks so much for taking the time to explain it. I'm feeling very motivated. I'll check out the Drs on YouTube you mentioned. Annnnd I'll see how I go. I guess it's like anything. You just have to start!

Happiness and health here I come 😀

It really is awesome! It's not just another diet, which I was afraid of when I first read about it. The more I dug into it, the more I realized that this is really it. It's what I've been looking for my entire life. It feels good because we are meant to be happy and healthy. :)

Congratulations @narwhale! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Welcome to steemit. I followed and voted. I am looking forward to hearing more from you. Please check out my blog if you have a few minutes and follow back if you like what you see.

You're welcome

@narwhale, A warm welcome to Steemit. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here.

I'm from Nigeria and I've made a lot of friends in Steemit, and I'm glad to meet you too.

Please never give out your password to anyone or through any link. Any request for your password might be to steal from you so be careful. Treat it like your bank code.

I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we will teach and support you to grow up in Steemit, to choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the correct labels to get more information. visibility, how to make quality publications and comments on Steemit, how to sell your products, business strategies and tips on how to make more money in steemit and in life.


Welcome to Steemit @narwhale!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

@narwhale, Welcome to Stteemit.

Thank you for sharing your personal journey to Joyful living.

Looking forward to your future posts and shares.

I did try eating raw for 6 months. It was great! But my body feels better on a vegetarian mixed with lots of raw vege and fruits diet. But not quite on top of it always :)

Thank you for the feedback, it's nice to read! :D

Sounds like you're eating healthier than 90 % of people. But the reason why you feel bad when eating 100 % fruit or 100 % raw is because those foods are so clean from toxins that your body can detox and flush out toxins more quickly and effective. That's why you can't start with 100 % fruit. You will last a week or so because you start detoxing so deeply that you start feeling very sick.

I recommend you to read the book Mucusless Diet Healing System by Arnold Ehret. It's all explained in there.

Sounds like an interesting book. Will have to look it up.

Thank you for the tip. :)

Congratulations @narwhale! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64060.29
ETH 3471.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52