Hey Steem Fam

IMG_4108.JPG
Hey everyone,

I'm a new user here and no matter what I do I can't seem to get my photos to rotate to be a normal, portrait vertical shot. So you'll have to just get a glimpse of the face to the name by viewing my avatar.

I'm not an amazing writer. I'm not here because I am the next published author or because I studied journalism or writing. Sure, I took some AP Lit and AP Language & Comp classes, but please don't come here expecting to read the most amazing English piece.

I love to write poetry. I'm an avid journaler. I love reading, although not in the sense that I breeze through books every week. My reading waxes and wanes. The books I'm currently reading are The Last Hours of Ancient Sunlight by Thom Hartmann and the Warriors of the Light by Paul Coelho. I'm constantly reading and browsing my bible, "Women Who Run With the Wolves" by Dr. Clarissa Pinkola Estes. This book has been my guide since adolescence, and I am obsessed. As a woman who followed my own wild, instinctual nature prior to ever reading the book, it seemed only fitting that my father would own a copy he'd pass down to me and that my aunt (Steemit User @carolkean) would recommend it to me as well. It has since been a staple in my life and in my house. When I was pregnant I read passages to my daughter and even now, I read her excerpts of stories that seem fitting.

Random things to know about me can be viewed at my blog, www.mysticmaya5.wordpress.com. Along with some of my other musings from pregnancy until now.

I'm a rambling typist, I love to talk and write and babble and will never shut up if you give me the time of day to rant. I am a good listener. A psychologist/counselor by trade and now a new mama to a 6 month old baby, it's a skill I'm glad to have. Sure, I'm an interrupter at times. It was the only way to get a word in growing up in a loud family of Bennings & Codinas.

Mostly though, of all the things I want you to know about me, it's that I'm happy. I'm grateful to be able to say that for the past year, I've been the happiest I've been. I've struggled, I've had hurdles and obstacles before me, but I've been happy and have coped well with what has been placed before me. Motherhood (including pregnancy) has literally changed every fiber of who I am as a person, in so many ways, and in so many amazing ways. I'm grateful to my daughter, the greatest surprise, blessing and joy of my life. There is nothing better. I feel so full I could burst most days, even in the most mundane tasks like hanging cloth diapers on the line. I finally found what my tarot cards speak about so often. If you're a tarot reader, think of the 8 of pentacles in the Osho Zen Tarot Deck, titled "Ordinariness." A woman walking in the garden, picking berries and fruits off the trees. Such a mundane and simple task, and yet she is joyful. Happy to partake in the ordinary, every day chores of life. In fact, she is so happy, that she turns the ordinary, to the extraordinary. That's the type of bliss I've been able to maintain. And I'm grateful for it. For all of it. The ups, downs, good, bad, ugly, whatever. No judgment. Just living, and loving every part of this journey I'm on right now.

-M

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @mysticmaya!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To learn more about us and stay connected with us, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Welcome to Steem, @mysticmaya!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3271 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Welcome to the Steem family.

I Admire your photo @mysticmaya! Warm welcome from me and all steemit community. Nice intro and I'm Happy to meet you! Keep on working hard. our support is always with you. Best of luck for the future!

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steemit mysticmaya. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

I love to write poetry too.

Congratulations @mysticmaya! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mysticmaya! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mysticmaya! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66750.09
ETH 3474.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80