I am a Poet, Short Story Writer, Journalist and Blogger

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Ini sedikit riwayat saya dalam bahasa Inggris.

This time I would like to introduce myself in English. My name is Mustafa Ismail. Please called me Mus or MI. I am a writer of literary works such as poetry, short stories and essays. My poems are published in various national newspapers in Jakarta and regions such as Kompas, Koran Tempo, Republika, Media Indonesia, Indopos, Jawa Pos, Suara Pembaruan, Sinar Harapan, and others.

membaca puisi di malang.jpg

My poetry book entitled "Tarian Cermin" (2007 & 2012), "Menggambar Pengantin" (2013 & 2014) and "Tuhan, Kunang-kunang & 45 Kesunyian" (2016). My collection of short stories titled "Cermin" (2009) and "Lelaki yang Ditelan Gerimis" (2017). A number of my poems and other short stories are in various anthology books together.

IMG_20180226_175856_HDR.jpg

I was born in Meue, Trienggadeng, Pidie Jaya, in 1971. I graduated from elementary and junior high school in Trienggadeng. After that I continued my high school of economics in Banda Aceh namely SMEA Negeri Banda Aceh.

Graduated from high school I wanted to study at the Faculty of Literature, but failed because of my high school economy. So I chose to study economics, which is financial management and banking at STIEI (Indonesian High School of Economics) Banda Aceh. Graduated S1 in 1995.

Seminar Sastra di UI 2009.jpg

I am active in arts activities, writing literature, discussion groups and NGOs since college. I am a member of the Ball Theater, whose basecamp is at Taman Budaya Aceh on Jalan Teuku Umar. I write poetry, short stories and essays in various newspapers in Aceh, Medan and occasionally in the Jakarta media.

In addition, together with J Kamal Farza (formerly a poet, now a lawyer), we manage the discussion group of the Social and Democratic Studies Forum (FKSD) in Banda Aceh. There is also a Fan Foundation, an imaginative institution formed by Kamal whose job is "fan-fan". We like activist labels at Yayasan Kipas Angin when writing an opinion in Serambi Indonesia newspaper, in addition to FKSD coordinator.

BUKU Kunang-kunang.jpg

In addition, JKF and colleagues became the foundation of Yayasan Anak Bangsa (YAB), an NGO focusing on advocacy on children and women issues and based in a simple shop in Tungkop, Darussalam, Banda Aceh. After college, I moved to Lhokseumawe. The goal is to make a fortune to the city of petro dollars. There, I invited the short story writer and novelist Ayi Jufridar and several other friends to establish an NGO CDIS (Center for Development and Indenpendence Studies) in 1995.

In 1996, I received an invitation from the Jakarta Arts Council (DKJ) to join a young Indonesian poet forum at Taman Ismail Marzuki (TIM) Jakarta. The name of the show is the 21st Century Poet Mimbar. I attended the event along with a number of other Acehnese poets such as Wiratmadinata (now Dean of the Law Faculty of Abul Yatama University and Spokesperson of the Aceh Government), Rahmad Sanjaya and Nurdin Supi (now businessmen and politicians in Central Aceh). That was my first time reading poetry at Taman Ismail Marzuki (TIM), Indonesia's most prestigious arts venue. After the event I did not go home, but settled in Jakarta.

MPA21.jpg

In early 1997, I joined Tempointeraktif, the first online news site in Indonesia, founded by former Tempo Magazine reporter. In 1998 Tempo magazine came out again and I joined the magazine. Now, I am a cultural editor at Koran Tempo.

In 2010, along with three other Acehnese artists, I was awarded a scholarship from the Aceh Government for art courses. I was with @fikarweda and took a course in S2 at the Graduate Program of the Institute Kesenian Jakarta (IKJ) or Jakarta Arts Institute. There are also two other friends, artists Mahdi Abdullah and Dedy Kalee studied at the Graduate Institute of the Institut Seni Indonesia (ISI) or Indonesian Institute of Art Yogyakarta. I live in Depok, West Java.

Depok, February 2018
MUSTAFA ISMAIL | @MUSISMAIL

Sort:  

Welcome in steemit bang. :)

Loading...


Welcome to Steem @musismail.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Thank you for your attention. I am very happy to join steemit. Success and regard

Sukses untuk kita semua. Amin

Amin ya Rabbal'amin..

Terus berkarya di manapun dan di tempat apapun,,, mantap bg mus,,, smg kesehatan dan kesuksesan selalu tercurah,,, aamiin,,

Yes. Kita berkarya dan sukses

@Mountainwashere's Guide for New Users:

Welcome to Steemit! It's got a steep learning curve, but it's worth it in the long run if you keep putting in the time! Just know that it will take quite a while before you start getting attention and followers. The biggest secret to success? Keep posting high quality content regularly, and make sure to search out other people's posts, read them, and give relevant comments.

Tagging is extremely important. Always make sure to use all five possible tags, and to keep them relevant. You can always just tag something "blog" or "photography" or something else really general (so long as it's still relevant) to fill the quota if you need to- most of your tags should be established ones, though one or two less used ones are fine.

Posting more than four times a day can reduce your potential rewards, as well as turning off potential users. (I aim for one post per day most of the time.) Consistency is important, though, so try to have a regular posting schedule. You should also be sparing with resteems- only do it for really important posts. (I resteem a post once a month or less, generally.)

Always make sure to attach a photo to your posts! You should also have a finished profile: Write a description, add a profile picture and a banner- neither needs to be a photo of you, necessarily, but you should have something- and set a website.

There are a lot of really good resources out there for plankton and minnows (new users). You should check out the following groups and services, they offer a lot of valuable resources:

@thesteemengine (Check this one out first- they're an extremely supportive group that can help out in a lot of ways.)
@qurator (These guys offer an excellent liftime upvote to accounts that post consistent quality content.)
@steembasicincome (Another lifetime upvote option.)
@steemstem (The biggest and best STEM curation group in the game. If you're interested in writing or reading about science, check these guys out!)
@geopolis (A fairly new science curation group, this one's dedicated to the study of the Earth.)
@ocd (A curation group that seeks out undervalued new writers.)
@photocontests (Runs contests and provides other support for photographers.)

Much of the activity on steemit actually takes place off Steemit, on places like steemit.chat and discord. Learning to use them is a great idea.

And, again, the biggest thing is just patience. Breakout successes are incredibly rare on Steemit- you've got to find your way to success through perseverance and hard work. It takes time, but you'll eventually succeed if you put in the work.

Please feel free to repost this guide on the posts of other plankton & minnows you run into (though I'd appreciate it if you credit me.) If it was useful to you, feel free to check out my posts and give me a follow!

Thank you for your attention and inputs for me in using Steemit. Success for all. regards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68611.07
ETH 3913.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61