LA fashion photographer escaping Instagram's clutches

Hi Steemit community!

I'm excited to be starting my page on Steemit and join this community. I learned about Steemit from amazing photographer and friend @kommienezuspadt who informed me that Steemit is is the place to be!

A quick intro about me, my name is Michelle and I just moved back to my hometown sunny and oh so hot Los Angeles. I was recently living up in the bay area in Oakland, which I love, but the cost of living and desire to pursue fashion photography brought me down to LA.

MichelleTerrisSubmission-2.jpg
Amanda 5-17 (1024 of 1057).jpg
Amanda 5-17 (645 of 1057).jpg

I'm on my 3rd year of pursuing photography full time. I left my job as a manager at a start up called Stitch Fix two years ago, did some traveling, and am now here living the hustle life in LA. So far so good. I've been able to get pretty steady work, but recently I've felt like things have slowed down a bit and I'm trying to think of new and creative ways to make money doing what I love. (Ideas and suggestions welcome!)

May_Griffith Park_2017-80.jpg
May_Griffith Park_2017-121.jpg

I'm hoping to use Steemit as a kind of journal where I share my work and my journey to quitting my part time job and living fully on photography...and you know booking those 30K shoots...any day now :)

MichelleTerrisSubmission-4.jpg
MichelleTerrisSubmission-6.jpg

I'm excited to be apart of this community and can't wait to learn from you all and read about your journeys.

Check out more of my work on my Instagram
@mterrisphoto
Website:
www.michelleterrisphotography.com

Sort:  

Hello & Welcome to @mterrisphoto,
cool photos - wow -upvoted and followed :)

I am @digital-gypsy - nice to meet you !

I would just start following and talk to the people here first, with the time
i am sure the trend is going up with you !

bienvenida, willkommen and velkommen

Good Luck & Cheers

Hi @digital-gypsy thanks for the tips, much appreciated. I feel like I've been spending a lot of time just trying to understand what everything means!
Thanks for the welcome and the follow!

that's how it starts, I could give you some quick tips, but I won't spoil your journey. The welcome page has some good material, but there is also many unfeatured there from the community, there is the steemtools site, you can visit to see most of the apps. "ask steem" to search, such and such.

Cool thank you for the tip!

Hi Michelle aka @mterrisphoto
niiiice pics :-)
welcome to steemit and have my friendly upvote
keep going and steem on
@chrisx

Thanks Chrisx! Happy to be here and thanks for the upvote and kind words about my photos :)

welcome to steemit, glad to have you join us
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Thank you! Excited to be apart of the community!

Welcome to Steem @mterrisphoto I have sent you a tip

Thanks so much for the warm welcome!

Great start and photos @mterrisphoto Upvote🙂

Thank you! Can't wait to post more :)

A close friend of mine just left his full-time job because his photography was finally paying his bills. It's been amazing to watch him hone his skill set and to learn about the artform from him. Can't wait to show him some of your stuff, maybe it'll help convince him to join. Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you & that's great to hear about your friend! What kind of photography does he do?

Fashion, Portraits - I'm not sure what projects he's working on right now -- https://www.evokist.com/

Welcome! Not only are you going to love it, but it think you are going to fit right in. Looking forward to seeing your material in my feed!

Thank you! And likewise :)

Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same.

Thank you
resteem follow upvot gif.gif

Ok I will! Thank you for the advice I appreciate it!

you are welcome

Welcome to Steemit @mterrisphoto! Looking forward to more posts. Followed!

Thank you! Followed back, I appreciate all the helpful Steemit tips on your page!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87