Mother of a Murdered Child and So Much More

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Hi, my name is Tina. I am the mother of seven children. Three of them are adults, one is a teenager and the other three are under 12. They've been my life since 1992. Everything I've done has been with them in mind. This isn't to say I don't take time for myself, I just do it strategically. My world was derailed in January of this year when my 20 year old son, my second oldest, was murdered. All his life, his siblings called him my favorite and now he's gone. The past six months have been mostly a blur. Fortunately, the parents of lost children club is very supportive.

In addition to being a mother, I am also a writer. I've been writing online for the past five years and I've made a little money. At this point, I'm making about $2,000 a month and hope to double that by the end of this year. It's not a lot, but it pays some of the bills and I feel fortunate to have an income I could survive on if I ever found myself a single parent. I'm also working on a book about job interviews that will be self-published on Amazon soon. I run a small Facebook group for local job seekers.

I hope to be pretty active on this site, writing about things that are important to me as a parent, a writer and a mother of a murdered child. Since I've begun this journey, I've found that many people just don't know what to say when they find out a mother has lost their child. I'm here to help. There are some things you should never say, like "he's in a better place" and "at least you have other children". In most cases, there isn't really a need to say anything, but to listen. Having someone to share with is much better than hearing empty condolences.

Sort:  

Welcome - sorry for your loss, cant be easy and to help others commendable - look forward to seeing more posts :)

@mstina Words can not express what I feel for you. I know nothing I can say will change the way you feel but my thoughts and prayers go out to you and your family. I do not have any children so it is impossible for me to understand what you are going through but I do have a brother and the coolest little nephews in the world and I couldn't imagine what I would do without them. I wish you the best.

It's something you can't possibly imagine unless it's actually happened to you and I wouldn't wish it on anyone. Once the numbness wears off, the sense of loss is incredible. Although many people have been kind to me, I have dealt with some really insensitive people. I appreciate your thoughts and prayers.

Congratulations @mstina! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mstina! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mstina! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62