My Permaculture Journey

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

For the last 8 plus years, I have been reading and watching videos about the wonderful restorative power of human-created ecosystems, ecosystems designed for and around human needs (food, fuel, fiber, and medicinals). The power of this concept has captivated me and I am finally at a point in my life that I can begin to act on these ideas. I have chosen Steemit as the natural place to document my journey and I hope you will enjoy learning with me. Over the next few months and years, I will document my efforts to find the right pieces of land, build a tiny on-grid house, travel to other farms to learn, build a permanent off-grid house and plant out an ecosystem. I will focus on plants and sustainable broadacre crops, but a very large effort will be put into research and building of an off-grid home.

When I use human-created ecosystems I mean something very specific, not just the selfish construction of dwellings and cities, but the thoughtful integration of human life into a new, more prosperous ecology. I intend to have both the basic comforts and abundance that modern life has provided, while also providing ample habitat for other life to flourish.

For me, this is a journey of justice not merely out of respect to other life, but a journey of social justice, economic justice, and class justice. The solutions contained in this new ecology can be the groundwork for a new culture, a culture based in ecosystem and its continued cultivation.

October MMRF 053.JPG
(Forest Garen: Maya Mountain Research Farm in Southern Belize)

The picture above is from my time at Maya Mountain Research Farm (MMRF) in southern Belize, I stayed there 6 months to learn about these systems. I will tell you about my time there in other posts, but it was critical in helping me understand the viability of the ideas proposed.

Thanks for reading, I will go into more depth about my vision and my land selection process next.

:)

Sort:  

excited to read about your process! just learning about the whole permaculture movement in the past few months and Ive been dreaming about mapping out the perfect homestead - Im looking forward to learning from you :D

Awesome, you will most likely learn from my mistakes. Lol I am no expert, but I have been learning and researching for years.

thats the best way to learn! trial and error. To me, it seems like you could read all you want about permaculture and the right way to set up a homestead but it really comes down to experience. How you like things done, what makes it comfortable for you.

Welcome @mr-altilis to steemit, I have included you in my post welcoming new steemians, looking forward to watching your progress on here.


Welcome to Steemit @mr-altilis!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Good information! Thanks!

@mr-altilis A big sounds of the bells for you and yours dreams with nature, nutrition and ecosystems. Even I enjoy the movil houses idea.
Hope to travel with you, watching with your posts.
Welcome friend to Steemit.

We have mostly decided on a tiny house with a foundation over a mobile tiny home. But still consiering all options.

@mr-altilis I consider your project is serious, possible and open mind.
Go ahead, lot of successes.

hi mr-altilis, it’s nice to see new face on steemit, hope you will spread positive vibes in steemit.and keep up the good work on steemit...;-) and be regular on steemit it will make grow you faster... ;-)

Welcome to steemit , upvoted you will regularly do on your good work , for newbie tips and basic information you can check my blog at @adityajainxds

If you want that your post should be curated, join MINNOW POST PROMOTION - FREE UPVOTE,
You will get a 10% upvote from @adityajainxds.
If you like to join the contest please follow @adityajainxds for daily updates.


We have other service also running for minnow support @sunrawhale BidBot , SUNRAWHALE - Send Min. 0.1 SBD or 0.1 STEEM to @sunrawhale : 2.4 hr bidding rounds, Automatically refunds invalid bid!!!
Delegate To @sunrawhale And Earn 90% of SBD Earn Daily, With Daily Payout.
https://steemit.com/delegation/@adityajainxds/invitation-call-for-delegator-and-sponsors-for-sunrawhale-delegator-retun-90-payout-on-daily-basis


You Have My Back.....
Thanks @adityajainxds

Welcome to steemit happy journey in the world of steemit ☺️

Thanks, I joined over a year ago and finally decided to contribute!

Wow! This is an amazing post! I'm jealous as I enjoy mother nature and plants. Well, at least I can live vicariously through your posts on steemit! @thegreens is a really cool guy doing great stuff in Cameroon with sustainable agriculture! He is also apart of our discord made for new Steemit users!

3.gif

Thanks! I will check @thegreens out.

Mew! I'm very happy to have you here, I'm anxious to see your travels and adventures. I hope you like kittens =^-^=

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76