Tour of my Home Part 1- I moved into a complete STRANGERS house and renovated it for them, all without them even knowing!!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I would like to invite you to a tour of my home in Oslo, Norway.


As the title suggests, I want to share a tour with steemit,of my Home. Its not exactly the "Norm" that your used to I guess so check it out!

I am living here with a mate and and 3 dogs between us, staying here since the beginning days of August 2017. I thought Id do first a blog post about where im living and how I got to live here.

There are 1000s of un-occupied bulidings, ranging from factory's, to houses, train stations and old farms, in literally every county. People like myself, have realised that these empty places should be used, providing people with a place to live, or to be used as community centers etc. If your ever travelling and are doing the hostel way,but want to travel for free instead, then you can see this symbol on buildings, or stickers on lampposts etc, and then you can ask people (punks, hippies, street musicians) where the squat is, and then go see firstly if they are friendly, and secondly if they have a "guest room" to sleep in.

The symbol for an occupied property.....
The guy who gave me the tattoo said it
symbolised and empty circle, now occupied
with the lines in the empty space.

The people that live in occupied places, all have the same thing in common. We have Anarchist views on society and hate Authority.. This definitely doesnt mean that we share the same views on everything else in life, but just these two things we do mutually always agree upon.

Ill do another post in the future, purely about Squatting (English term) Occupying for Europeans, but for now a tour of my home.

back to the tour!

I actually got shown the place from an old rock and roll couple, whilst selling magazines at the local shopping complex. I asked them if they had a cabin that they didnt use but they hadnt.
After chatting to them for a while, the husband said out of the blue " Oh but wait- theres a cabin that we used to live in 5 years ago but we left because theres no electric and its falling down. " - "its our friends place, she hasnt been in Oslo for 15 years"- my face must have been shining.
These guys were also old freaks, and after I told them where we was living at the time, it turns out we knew the same people and so I knew I was on to a winner and that the chances of eviction would be near non-existent.
They offered to take me to it at once so I packed up and they drove me just 5 mins away, and up a steep hill. We sat in the car and they pointed it out to me, I could barely see it because of the trees. They said the owners name was Alix, and nobody wants to live there because it needs repair and cant have electric. I had some really nice hash and so I asked them if they smoked , and they were happy when I gave them something I had. We said goodbye, they were happy , I was happy and with nothing left to say, I got out the truck.

They drove off and I put my heavy rucksack down on the stone track to go investigate. It was perched on the side of a hill, half way up quite a big hillside across a small stream which created a miniture valley. (In England I would call it a mountain , but its not really in Norway!)

When I got up there I was shocked, it was quite big. The old couple had said that it was broken into a while back and sure enough the kitchen window at the back was smashed with a trash bag once covering it.
The roof was good, the most important thing to look at first on a property.
I jumped up into the kitchen through the high smashed window and went and opened the front door.

You can see the kitchen is the small room on the left


It was all open space

It was good. Well to most people they would say it was fucked.
But for us it was perfect. I know how to repair buildings since over 10 years so I saw it as no big issue.
We decided to instead of just putting out tents up in here (which was exactly what we would have done) that we could at least insulate it.

This ended up of course becoming a full renovation over the next month due to my Egoic proud Carpenter part "No point in doing half a job!".

It was the first choice to just buy insulation (we have no car or any friend with a car, if so I would spent 2 days taking from building site containers and recycle insulation) and then to take off the wood on the walls , put insulation in and use the same wood to put back on, covering the walls again.

This though, would have been alot of work, and produced alot more waste. I decided that we just make a new shell inside of the cabin, giving it 10 cm insulation and finished with plasterboard.
When the weather was bad we would work on the inside and when the sun was shining we would be on the outside repairs. First was the ceiling to do. Sadly the pictures from the build are lost, every project ive done I take stage photos of the progress,but there are some pics still remaining.



Once we had made a new ceiling, insulated it and finished with plasterboard. I could start with the Studwork. (Thats the Carcass of the walls). We had no working electric, and started with hammer and nails to do the ceiling, after a few hours of struggling way too much, I went a got a nice Dewalt drill and 1000x 110mm screws, as it would be used to do the whole place. Everything was cut by hand, I got through 3 handsaws!

The First stage of constructing new walls

The second Stage


Heres some more pics of the progress inside.


Took the Front door out, and replaced the huge window that was next to the front door with a smaller one, the front door was replaced by a huge long thin window- that was actually taken also on a bus mission!

I put the Front door as a replacement kitchen door - because the original kitchen door and a third of the floor was rotten from a blocked guttering above it. Water had been dripping for years onto the step and splashing onto the door.

We got second hand replacement windows and I am mentally scarred from windows after this somewhat EPIC project.
I spent so much time and energy, going with public transport to collect a window, then taking it back on a bus , or train then another bus and then the bloody steps up to the cabin were much worse than the steep stone track before all that! Replacing all 4 windows with double glazing, killed me, but it was worth it in the end, like all difficult things in life. One window, the small kitchen, ill never forget , i took a bus from the city, we drove for 2 hours, then i go get the window, walk the long way back to the busstop to see that the next bus is in 4 hours! that window, took in total 8 hours to go and get and come back with it. Oh and the women said, "oh you came with the bus? Im driving to Oslo later , I could have taken it there." Dam i had told here the missions on buses before even going there.

Heres how the kitchen door- now our main entrance- looked after the kitchen walls were finished and the kitchen started to take shape.

After completing the initial main walls of the cabin, it was time to measure out and plan the positions of 2 bedrooms and a lounge.

The wall seperating the new lounge from a bedroom.

After kind of knowing that the owner wont show up and kick us out, we decided to do a proper job on it. We spent around 3000 euro each on the material. 333m linea of 4x2 wood, 700kg of plasterboard. all carried up by hand. And we had just a drill that we charged at the shop down at the road, no lights or anychance of electric. We did set it all up for electric, but we are against Smart meters so for now we have no mains electric.

There are many cabins and houses, not just around here , but all over the whole of Scandinavia, that are empty for years. Many Norwegian family's if not all (and Swedish people also i guess) have a cabin that once apon-a-time would have been the grandparents place, but then everyone moved to the city leaving the old farmer way of life for something more modern.
For me since around 9 years, I havent really paid to stay in a room. I did some years back rent an appartment in Bern Switzerland for 2 months, still not sure why really. Oh and one time I paid happily 5 euro a week for electric in Germany whilst living in a wagon.

Anyway heres how it turned out inside, ill do a part 2 of the outside in the next days! And ill take fresh pics of how it all looks now. ** HOPE YOU ENJOYED SOMETHING ORIGINAL!! **

The lounge
My Room
My Mates Room

Sort:  

wow that looks really nice! You could almost do that for a living;-)

If I were you I would leave the electricity away, too, because that's usually the point from which on you have to pay taxes. But as long as you're off-grid, you're more or less off-limits. Maybe you can get a li-ion battery pack for small electric stuff. Thanks to Elon Musk they are not expensive anymore.

How do you fix the fresh water issue? Does the cabin have its own spring?

Yeh if the electrics not meant to be,then it's not meant to be! For now we got car battery's from the trash and we charge at the neighbours place 50m away. We get fresh water from a well yes, we haven't found the one here,but the other nieghbour has one he didn't use for us. When the snow is gone I want to use my bicycle as a waterwheel to trickle charger the battery's. We have led strip lights for now which are great.

Charging a battery at the neighbour ... reminds me about my first boat, in Tromsø. I had it by anchor, for more than a year it was without a working engine (I managed to break the starter engine ... that particular VP MD5-model came without a hand-crank, and I never bothered to fix it) and no solar panel (I eventually bought that - should have bought it in the first place!) so to charge the battery I had to carry the battery out of the boat and into the dhingy, row it in land, then carry it home up the hills (I lived 32 metres above sea level) - and back again all the way when it was charged.

I once did a 3-week vacation with the boat, visiting a friend living in a village in Finnmark, some years earlier he bought a house there for 50.000 NOK. The village school was also abandoned, he bought the school for the same price. We had an autopilot and my laptop, except for that not much electricity consumption, so we somehow managed the whole trip only charging the batteries some few times (I think we saw the civilization and electricity only three times on that journey).

I've been off and on the car ownership/usership during the years - so I also have quite some experience carrying heavy things by public transport.

Once upon a time we were travelling from Russia to Norway with one 6yr old child, one newborn baby, lots and lots of luggage ... my dad-in-law simply couldn't drive us, because we had too much luggage to fit into the car (besides, we left in the daytime, so he was at work anyway)! So we managed all the way from the suburbs of St.Petersburg to the suburbs of Oslo using only public transport. We had all the luggage on wheels, no problem on flat ground ... but the stairs were a big problem! First metro station in St.Petersburg, one of the only metro station being above the surface ... we had to climb stairs. Then we had to change metro ... and climb more stairs to get from one metro line to the other. We took a bus and came to a ferry terminal ... and to enter the ferries, again ... stairs. We arrived in Stockholm and was actually staying for a full day in Stockholm without any stairs at all. Train to Lillestrøm and Grorud, and there again ... stairs!

Do you have fresh water? From a well? I suppose you have such an old-fashioned toilet building?

I also used to live in a cottage. My grannies built it in Tromsø in 1952, I inheritated it and moved in there eventually. No water (my grannies used to carry canisters of water by car from their house - when I moved in, they had already built a school just across the street, so I would fill up a wheelbarrow with empty canisters and fill it at an ourdoor tap at the school - luckily, a winter-open tap with electric heating), no sewage (porta-potti for "big things", the small things we just did out in the forest), a simple outlet for "grey water" from the dishes and hand washing. No taps. We had electricity though.

We bought a coal-fired samovar in Russia, eventually I used that one when doing the dishes. I bought a big water canister, bought a water pump and installed a hot water tank, water taps, a shower and a washing machine ... plus a long water tube, so I could empty the canisters already at the parking place at the top of our property. Then eventually we drilled a well the next year. We had a neighbour that would come and top up water bottles from us, because he said the coffee tasted much better with our water than the chlorinated municipality water :-)

We bought and installed a Cindarella electric toilet - I was very happy with it in the beginning, but eventually it was too many problems with it. I read the "Humanure Handbook" - when we moved to Oslo we got a tenant in Tromsø, she requested that I would build her a "humanure" bucket toilet solution, so I did.

We built a separate sauna building, with a wood-fired Tylö-oven. We got a bath tub for free from someone that was renovating their bathroom, so we installed it outdoors outside the sauna!

Then things started going in the wrong direction - a property development company bought up all the land around us, they started cutting down the forest, they started building roads destroying our possibility to ski and sleight down to the sea, lots of ugly "box houses" started to pop up, they installed lots of street lights destroying the charm of watching the polar light, it got difficult to find places to pee without neighbours staring ... my wife complained every so often that she was tired of the dark season and even the midnight sun and wanted to move to Oslo ... so eventually we did.

It was quite cumbersome to have a tenant in Tromsø and live in Oslo. Despite living there almost for free, her mentality was that I had all the responsibility and she had none. She left for yule vacation home to Germany, turned off all the electricity and sent me a message - of course, when I arrived all the water systems were frozen. The house was invaded by mice ... eventually I sold it all to property developers, now they will tear down everything and build lots of ugly houses instead.

We never finalized our move to Oslo properly - so for some 7-8 years we had lots and lots and lots of properties left behind in Tromsø. My wife wants to keep so many things ... so now our house here in Oslo is filled up with boxes. I did a best-effort getting rid of items on the second-hand-market (finn.no), but really lots of effort and still quite many useful things just end up getting thrown.

Perhaps one really should strive not to own more things than what one can carry around ... I felt so happy and free when I moved to Oslo first time with nothing but a ruck sack ... next time I moved everything would fit into a car ... third time we moved we had to drive forth and back several times ... we moved back to Tromsø and had quite many belongings carried by a truck. Next time we moved to Oslo, buying a house there, again we carried with us almost nothing, for quite a while we had only the furniture left behind by the former owners of the house plus some stuff we found for free on finn.no ... I felt much more happy then than now, when our house is full of crap :-)

Nice what you did there

Thanks alot hadi!

My wife eventually bought a car recently, it even has the connection point for a trailer. Could maybe help you out next time you have major transport needs.

Dam, we don't have it as bad as your boatlife back then! Asfor moving things on public transport, I've not done a mission from Russia to Oslo! That deserves some kind of award somehow 😂 we got a 50m cable to "run as the bird flys", to the holy socket,my mate might have even connected it so we could have electric for charging soon! That would be very nice indeed! Nice to connect with you man,I got the feeling you was on similar wavelengths

Asfor moving things on public transport, I've not done a mission from Russia to Oslo! That deserves some kind of award

Still sounds like a breeze compared to carrying building materials around :-)

I think that my wife always have the tendency to pack too much when we're moving around, so the awkward feeling of having too much to carry feels all too well-known. Some years ago we decided to go to Denmark on car vacation, packed up the VW Caravelle, took the ferry to Hirtshals and drove some 20 km before the cambelt failed spectacularly, car leaving behind a trail of engine parts. We left some of the luggage behind in the car, did our vacation in a small overpacked rental car, but eventually we had way too much luggage and no car on our return trip with the ferry home. I don't understand how me managed ... but somehow we did.

Oh and thanks for the offer! I'll possibly not work tomorrow,but who knows. Ifi don't then I'll do the part two,and then ull see the half toilet!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65142.09
ETH 3205.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57