Hello Steemit -- I am absolutely buzzing for this adventure!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians!

I am so excited to finally become part of the Steemit community. I have been waiting for a while now, and when the confirmation came early in the morning, I knew that I had to immediately introduce myself to this fantastic group of people recreating the internet.

Before I dissipate with excitement, I must tell you a little about myself and why I am so brimming with nervous energy. I am Mohit, a 27-year-old (how does age matter) writer and filmmaker hailing from India -- yes, the one Columbus actually set out to find. :)

IMG_20180304_135612670.jpg

But jokes aside, I was born into the internet generation and I still remember getting my hands on a brand new computer back in 1997, after my father had unexpectedly decided to get us (me and my siblings) a home PC. The configuration of that system still brings a smile on my face. It had Windows 95, of course, and had a memory of 32 mb! It's hard disk capacity was a mammoth 4 GB!

You might be wondering why I am telling you all this, but it is simply to chart out how far we have come. I have witnessed first hand the gestation, birth, growth, mutation, deformity, and renewal of internet. We are truly internet's children. But as much as my respect and love for internet abides, in my spirit, I was always a writer and lover of films. I have been writing for as long as I can remember, and used to compose limericks after coming from school as a small boy. By my later years in college, I had started writing for digital magazines. During the time, my love for the medium of cinema also grew by leaps and bounds, and I started believing that I could bring my writing and love for films together in my career.

Soon after passing out of arguably India's best film institute, I continued blogging and news-writing, but also had my eyes set on making a film. For those of you who don't know, India's Bollywood is centered in Mumbai, and if you want to make films, you have to try your luck there. But being of the internet generation and thereby unrestricted by traditional boundaries, I never wished to join the mainstream. I believed the democratization of filmmaking resources, coupled with the growth of internet, would make it possible for filmmakers and creators like me to connect directly with the audience.

And so I decided to take a plunge without knowing much about the rigors of actual independent filmmaking at all. We started with the idea of making a short film last year, which transformed into a longer film, and finally into a feature film. It's a completely hysterical and dangerous story in itself of how that came about and I would love to write another post on it. But for now, I would just like to tell you we still have one 10-day schedule of shooting left, and I think I will be pretty much occupied by it for a few months more.

IMG-20170815-WA0013.jpg

But the process of independent filmmaking also lets me do so many other things, just as being part of this fantastic community where we can create together and help each other grow. I have been writing online for a while now, and have mostly depended on the ad-revenue model for my income. As it is clear to us all, web 2.0 has led to a lot of trash on internet but places like Steemit give us the opportunity to fix that. With reader-funded, viewer-funded content we are set to unleash a wave of creativity hitherto unseen! Such a great time to be an artist!

I want to be productive here, receive your feedback and improve myself. I want to produce great things for the community that we all benefit from. I hope I am able to deliver. I am so thrilled at being able to give others feedback too, and grow together. Such a community has immense possibilities, and I am not even talking of how it could supplement our incomes, but just the fact that we have a space where like-minded individuals can contribute to each other's growth.

Just about utopia, isn't it? Here's to hoping to a really long haul here. See you many, many times!

Wish you have a super awesome day. Cheers!

Sort:  

Welcome Mohit


Welcome to Steemit @mohitpr!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to Steemit! Explore + enjoy :)

Hey! Welcome to Steemit.
Good luck with your journey.
How about follow for a follow?

Sure, thanks.

Welcome to the community, and great shirt...

Will you be doing future posts about many of the books you've read?

Yep. :) Thanks. I will be doing a lot of things. I will write a lot about films and literature, hopefully, but I also make memes. In the long run, I really wish to finally begin podcasting and videos too.

Welcome to the best community ever which values our hardwork . Hope you'll have good time here. Gud people are waiting for you... Feel free to share what you like with me and be in touch by following @sarinakhan

Thanks Sari. Hope to have a great time.

Welcome to Steemit and hope you enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66256.41
ETH 2643.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68