Introduce Yourself... New to Steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

So this is my "Introduce Yourself" post. I am a nurse and I am new to Steemit.

First, I'd like to talk about nurses and the nursing profession.

Nurses deal with a high amount of stress due to the physical labor, human suffering, long work hours, staffing shortages, and difficult interpersonal relationships that are related to their day-to-day duties.

As nurses, we spend the most time with patients out of any other profession within the health care field. It is down to us to check drug prescriptions, prepare and administer drugs, chase overworked doctors and care for patients and their families physically and emotionally.

Nursing requires more academic knowledge and skill than ever before. The idea that nurses simply wipe bottoms and do bed baths is incredibly outdated. Nurses are a force of intelligent, caring people who have studied degrees and developed extensive knowledge within their field.

Capture+_2018-02-05-02-35-23.png

It's important to emphasize that I did not go into nursing for the money, but I did not go into nursing to be unappreciated and underpaid either.

I constantly work 12 hour shifts, which in all reality becomes 14 to 15 hours. I give up 4 to 5 days a week of being home with my family. Then, I try to make the best out of the days we have together --- even on the days I haven’t had any sleep from staying late because we were short staffed; or working overnights on mandatory night shift rotations.

I work on Christmas, Thanksgiving, and birthdays. I miss family events and milestones while I am working weekends.

I struggle to take care of the sick when my own child is sick at home. When all I want to do is snuggle my baby, but instead I'm at work. My mom guilt kicks in. I depend on my support system, to help love and take care of my child, as I would if I could be there.

Giving up valuable time with my family and friends for the salary I'm getting and experiencing what I can only describe as chronic fatigue starts to to seem like too big of a sacrifice.

I have been a part of a team where we many times resuscitated someone who is about to die and saved them; I have spotted crucial signs of deterioration and helped prevent further decline; I have sat with patients talking about their fear of dying; I have watched patients die and I have held their loved ones' hands through it. I have held a patient's airway open and given them breaths when they were suddenly unable to breathe themselves. I have missed breaks, left late, sat with patients crying after my shift was over because their loved ones were not there. I have taught other nurses and students, and above all I work with incredible nurses who have done the same and have always been happy and felt fortunate to be a part of every single experience.

I love looking after patients and families in their darkest hours and supporting them through it, yet the sacrifices that we as nurses make for minimal pay and appreciation is demoralising. It will pain me to leave the bedside, but ultimately I believe it will be better for my holistic health.

So I hope Steemit works for me... so I can have a better quality of life with my family.

Sort:  

I'm looking forward to seeing more of your posts. It may not (immediately) form an alternate income, but I find that Steemit gives a sounding board to journal your vents and experiences (as a nurse we have limits of course, but there is still a lot we can share). It also allows us to network and gives us something back at the same time. Enjoy! 😄

hi there, it must be tiresome , being a nurse,
i myself, had oftenly go back to the hospital for being sick.
everytime i look at nurse i often wonder where do they get the strength to do their job
if i m in their shoes i bet i'd sleep a week after a day of work...

salute to the nurse... carry on

You are a good person. Didn't know the sacrifices that Nurses go through. Hope you can make extra money on this steem platform so you can work less and have more time with your family. All the best to you~

Thanks for the upvote

I look forward to reading your posts! I finally got my own RN blog started so this should be fun! glad we both found our way on to here and I hope we cant to enjoy each others thoughts on the profession we both love!

Hi, @mlove, nice to read about you.
I am samir from india, am also new on steemit and welcome you to steemit.
I have followed you. So, can you follow me @samir1993
Good Luck my frind !

Welcome to steemit!!
glad to have you here stay stunned...
You can follow my blog @hrishikeshmatre


Welcome to steemit!!
glad to have you here stay stunned...
You can follow my blog @hrishikeshmatre

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56769.00
ETH 2325.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36