Hello Steemians!!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

HELLO STEEMIANS!!

This is my first post on Steemit and just writing this right now is already overwhelmingly exciting for me. Those who know me will know that writing is one of my many passions. To be able to share my ideas with a community full of interesting people with diverse opinions, for me, is an amazing opportunity.

This is a picture of me from a trip to Shanghai earlier this year. My family and I have a tradition of traveling to a new place at least once a year to keep broadening our horizons and opening up our worlds. It is a tradition that I will keep with me until I am no longer physically able to travel.

As you can see from my bio, I am a reader. Since I was very young, reading has been a hobby that I could never get bored of. It started of, like for many others, with the Harry Potter series. Even though I have moved on to much more classic and complex books, I still reach for them from time to time because, no matter what, those 7 books will always have a special place in my heart.

"Flowers for Algernon" is one of the books that have stuck with me; the style of writing was so ingenious, and it was such an amazing and exciting way to telling a story through a new perspective. Those who have read it, do you agree? My favorite classic novel would have to be "Of Mice and Men"; the depth of such a short and simple book is so profound that it is what drew me in the first place. As of right now, I am on a lookout for books that will make me cry (no judgement here, I just want something that will touch me), so if any of you have any recommendations, feel free to leave them in the comments.

I am a film enthusiast. There is something very magical about watching movies because it is a form of expression that has been carefully planned and executed by people who are so passionate at what they do; they put a piece of their soul into their movies and it's translated out for tons of people to see. One of my all time favorite movies is "Lion". I am a sucker for sad stories based on true events; I didn't spend more than 10 consecutive minutes watching this movie without crying. I could watch "The Breakfast Club" over and over again without ever getting bored. I still don't know how a movie that takes place in one single room can become such a cult classic. Another movie (well, it's actually a documentary) that I would absolutely recommend to anyone is "Dear Zachary: A Letter to a Son About His Father". There are no words I could use to describe how much I love it. I will most probably upload a post on its review soon, so stick around.

I do also describe myself as a foodie. One of the main reasons why is because I was born, raised, and am living in Bangkok, one of the food capitals of the world. It is hard to live here and not love food when you can find delicious dishes on every corner of the street that are dirt-cheap but still taste as good as dishes served in restaurants for ten times the price. Thai food is one of the best food in the world, in my opinion. Every dish is an explosion of flavors in your mouths. My absolute favorite dish has to be Pad Thai (the authentic kind, mind you). I also love Indian and Italian food. The complexity of each dish just transports you to a whole new world.

I believe that the best way to explore a culture is through its food and I do hope that one day, I'll have explored enough to not be able to pick my favorites just because I have too many to choose from.


A view of Bangkok that helps elevate a dining experience.

I guess that's it for my first post. Till next time!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit Land! Great to see you continuing to post more often now!
I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Thank you for the kind welcome! I'm enjoying myself so far.

Hello Welcome to Steemit wish you best of luck ! Glad to see more people like you

welcomedubai

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to steemit!

Thank you so much!

Welcome to steemit community! @mintra. Nice introduction post, so you are a foodie and an avid reader! I think you'll do very well in this medium and will enjoy yourself a lot too.

Upvoted and following your stories.
Good luck!

Thank you for the kind words! I followed you back.

Welcome @mintra

Quite an interesting first post you did here... Keep it up.
Ensure you keep reading and commenting on as many posts as possible daily to get noticed and followers...follow only useful people here like @kenhudoy and have fun...this is a lovely community where originality & hardwork pays...
Keep steeming ...
Welcome

Thank you for the advice, I'll make sure to be as active as possible. I'm glad you liked my post. I followed you.

Sure... Check my new posts on how to secure your post from missing...follow for more...

Wow that is really beautiful there in bangkok. =) there many great skyrise buildings. followed you so i can see more of food and travel photos.

Thank you!

Respect! I saw your fresh account so I'd like to offer you my welcome. Here's your upvote and keep up the good work!
I am struggeling, like you, to get those big upvotes on my posts so my advice would be to give @MinnowPowerUp a go as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I also recently made this post explaining my experience with it in more depth while earning over $1 per day in upvotes.

Hey , how are you ?
welcome to steemit @mintra
following you now. :D
follow me back pls.

Thank you! I followed you back

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47