Hello, Steemians! Webcomic creator seeks to entertain the block.steemCreated with Sketch.

Here's your sign.
Here's your sign.

Who are you?

Hi, my name is Kevin. I make webcomics with heart or -- at least -- a punch line. I usually sign the last panel of each cartoon with my name. It's a convention in comic strips. I created a cartoon for Steemians with a minnow and a dolphin for the main characters. I thought you all could relate to them.

Steemit post 10/14/2017
Steemit post 10/16/2017
Steemit post 10/30/2017

How did you hear about Steemit?

A commentator that I follow on YouTube, @bernardchapin, started blogging here. The idea of getting paid for blogging was intriguing but STEEM sounded like funny money to me. However, the recent censorship crackdowns on Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube made Steemit look better as a platform. So I joined. I also appreciate that there's no algorithm to keep you all from seeing my updates.

Bernard Chapin
If you like history, politics, or being a man then follow @bernardchapin.
Source: Youtube.com

The day that changed everything

It was Free Comic Book Day 2005. In the USA on the first Saturday in May, participating comic book stores give away free comic books. Each store limits you to two or three different titles. So it's advantageous to go to multiple shops to get an armload. I was at Chicago Comics and I got free Spiderman and a Simpsons comic books. Of course, they were pedestrian corporate comics that I gave away to my neighbor's son. But Chicago Comics also has a treasure trove of indie comics in the back and I picked up a mini-comic that changed everything for me: The Snakepit Book, ISBN: 0966818598.

Snakepit strip #1
Source: The Snakepit Book
Snakepit strip #2
Source: The Snakepit Book
Snakepit strip #3
Source: The Snakepit Book


The Snakepit Book was a compilation of slice-of-life comics created by Austin, Texas punk rocker Ben Snakepit. He drew a three-panel strip for every day of his life. I liked his style: simple, hand-drawn, and hand-lettered. It was full of life, full of energy! It was like when punk rock band The Sex Pistols played the Free Trade Hall in Manchester, England in 1976. Everybody in the audience thought, "This is great!" and then realized, "Hey! I could do this too." Those audience members went on to form bands like Joy Division, The Smiths, and The Buzzcocks. Ben Snakepit was my Sex Pistols: "This is great! I could do this too!"

Sex Pistols
Sex Pistols, Source: The Mirror

Why are you here?

I don't expect to get rich here. After over a month and more than a dozen cartoons, I've decided the best return for my time is to make you all laugh and to talk shop with fellow cartoonists. If you read a cartoon that you enjoy, leave a comment. Hope to hear from you all.

Artisanally-crafted, aged in a desk drawer
Artisanally-crafted, aged in a desk drawer


By the way, I'm not the first to make a webcomic for Steemit. Here some other webcomics creators I recommend on here: @fouramshower, @mynameisbrian, and @sireh .

Sort:  

Welcome on Steemit! You are gonna like it really soon :D
I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Thanks! Your icon reminds of those folks who try to talk people into replacing the grass on their lawns with clover.
http://homeguides.sfgate.com/clover-alternative-groundcover-74639.html

Welcome to Steemit. I have a friend who is making a comic series. I am trying to get him to join too!

Thanks! That cat looks comfortable.

Welcome to Steemit community! Good luck with all the upcoming posts! Steem on!

Thanks! I'm extreme-ly grateful.

Welcome to Steemit @minnowforlife :D

Thanks, crypto.hype! I saw your re-steem about thumbnails. I'm trying to improve mine now.

what a great post, not surprised so many people upvoted it!

Thanks for all of the videos!

Wonderful your post i upvoted for you please upvote me iam a new joined please don't farget

Friend thankyou👩

https://steemit.com/art/@chnnu12/hai-steemit-friends-this-is-my-creative-drawing

Thanks, Chinnu! Keep drawing!

Interesting. Before reading your post I had never heard of webcomics before. Years ago back in the newspaper days I would read the comics section everyday with my favorite being Calvin and Hobbes. But I had always assumed that comics had been replaced by internet memes and funny photos. But I will follow you and look forward to seeing some of your creations.

Thanks, Ninja Mike! Check out gocomics.com to see those newspaper comics online now. (Calvin and Hobbes is just re-runs, Mr. Watterson isn't making any new ones.)
http://www.gocomics.com/comics/a-to-z

Did you like the comic strip The Far Side? Then you'll like one of my favorite webcomics, Doctor Fun, which has the same format: funny, single-panel, lots of animals and science: http://www.ibiblio.org/Dave/ar00315.htm

I checked out the gocomics site. It’s interesting seeing a website with a lot more comics than any newspaper had. Only a few of them look familiar to me. I remember Mr. Watterson stopped making new Calvin and Hobbes strips in the mid 90’s and I cut the last strip out of the newspaper thinking it might be worth money someday.

I was too young back then so The Far Side was a bit serious and adult-oriented for me. I was more into the family-oriented ones. But I will look into Doctor Fun.

I thought the first rule of Fight Club was never to talk about Fight Club. You must have gotten there after they explained the rules.

Imagine if there was a book club that met once a month to read and discuss books. What if one of the books on the reading list was Fight Club. Would they even be able to discuss it?

Number 1 rule of Book Club: No discussing Fight Club in Book Club

Thanks, Cak Lopez!

Welcome to the community. Great intro post, well done.

Thanks, raised2b!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48