Hi , I am visual artist from Finland (ok here goes, hope these images work)

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit! My name is Mikko Lyytinen. I am a visual artist from Finland.  I found about this site some days ago from Psychologic-Anarchist site on Facebook and been seeing it on few other sources. Since I’m into new things and I’m always up for a chance to introduce my art to new people, I decided to give this a go.  Also I have been thinking of doing more writing in general (which is something I used to dislike quite a lot until recently and propably could use the practice) and this seems like an excellent platform for that. To begin my Steemit experience I’d like to tell you something about what I do.   

 

Lumen, 2016, oil on canvas

view larger 

I work mainly with oil colors and I also do some ink drawing now and then. I play with digital painting also and I have a love/hate relationship with ms-paint.  My paintings could be described as being on the expressionist end of abstract art, but with some more figurative elements coming into them recently as I’m delving into more specific ideas.   

 

Dragon Force :D, 2016, oil on canvas 

view larger

My main interest for many years since art school has been presenting an experience of chaos that can be found in nature and in all kinds of different phenomena around us.  Though life seems often uncertain and dangerous, I find great beauty and freedom in the thought, although it can be conveniently easy to forget it and sort of expect that everything in life goes smooth and be disappointed when it doesn’t.  This derives into many aspects of life from personal problems all of us have, like disease etc. to larger issues in society. This is something that I try to deal with in one way or another in individual works but often it’s just about this general feeling that aim trying to bring out. I’ve been influenced somewhat by Buddhist ideas in this respect and in a sense painting can be like meditation, which of course has been said many times before, but there is certain truth to it that I like to pass on. I hope that experience carries over to the viewer as well.


 

Abyss, 2016, oil on canvas 

view larger

Second aspect, is the love for the medium and the numerous ways to apply it and experiment with it,  always making discoveries as you go. There are lot of scales in my way of painting starting from a very physical assault on the canvas with paint splashing all around almost uncontrollably that eventually settles into sensitive, fine detailed brushwork, which then goes back to splashing .The idea is to invoke randomness on to the canvas that can produce wonderful details, but it also gives me something to struggle with, sometimes destroying a lot of the nice parts I’m attached to. Paintings don’t usually finish with a satisfied feeling(good ones anyway) but what you end up is more like some kind of truce. There is something still left there to be said or explored, and you are reminded of it whenever you see it. 

Ghost, 2016, oil on canvas  

view larger 

With that I’d like to leave you with a short video from my latest exhibition where these pictures are from and another from random drawing session (20+min). If you have any questions I’ll be happy to answer them in the comments. I haven’t exactly planned how much I’m going to post here, but next week I’ll be doing with my art group for a 5-day exhibition out of town and maybe I can show you something from there.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GFRjvxYcqU   



   

Treasure Iceland, 2016, oil on canvas 

view larger

 

Conjunction, 2016, oil on canvas

view larger

        

You can find my work also at: 

www.mikkolyytinen.com

 www.facebook.com/mikkolyytinenart 

Twitter @MikkoLyytinen *corrected

www.instagram.com/mikkolyytinen 

Youtube Mikko Lyytinen

Sort:  

I'm sorry if I'm bothering and I don't wanna be rude, but could you please verify that you are the artist behind that amazing work by making a Post on your twitter, facebook saying I'm now on steemit etc...? I'd be glad to up vote and support your work if you do so. :)

Sure, no problem and thank you :) It got so late last night didn't think of all that. Posts are up there. now if i only could get these comments open again. (There we go had to open this on a different browser)

Great, thank you!

Do not worry about holding high position; worry rather about playing your proper role.

What's in your fridge, right this moment?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44