My name is Mic and I'll teach you how to eat bugs

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

My name is Mic and I'll teach you something; probably how to eat bugs.

I'm an autodidact, always obsessed with something new on a 2-5 year cycle. Right now I'm interested in entomophagy.

What is Entomophagy?


Entomophagy is a fancy word for "eating insects".

That word "Entomophagy" is pretty silly, because most of the world actually eats bugs, it's just North Americans and Europeans that think it's weird. I don't self-identify as a choiromophagist (eater of pigs), ageladaphagist (eater of cows), or a tyriphagist (eater of cheese), so why might I call myself an "entomophagist"? Don't we usually have words to describe dietary restrictions, like paleo, vegan, kosher, instead of dietary inclusions? Well, yes, you're right. Languages are always biased by the people who use it to describe themselves, English is no exception. Entomophagy is the word that's most useful to find information at this moment in time, so like it or not (I don't), we're stuck with it.

Why Eat Insects?


There are many of reasons, from ecology, to nutrition, to classic personal taste. The question of why has already been addressed by many Steemit community members, namely:

For me, there are over 2,000 edible insects in this world of ours, and people who don't eat them are missing out on a ton of flavor, just on account of cultural brainwashing. How different would your life be, if you came from a place where tomatoes were the forbidden fruit? Would you go your whole life without trying them, or, if you went to a place where it was totally normal, would you give them a taste?

How Do You Eat Insects?


For the most part, cooking and eating insects is not a lot harder or different from other food ingredients. You can't eat just any old mushroom you see in the wild, but you can eat a lot of them, if you know which ones. You don't generally chow down on raw meat; it's safer to cook it first. You might have food allergies. All of these rules apply to insects as well.

That's the entirety of my plans a this point. Insect recipes, bug food photography, ento food writing. For the sake of transparency, I will disclose that I am writing a book about it (hence the watermarks), but I plan to release lot of content here as well. That's fine if you don't want to buy my book, but some follows and upvotes would be appreciated.

Who Are You, Anyway?


Oh yeah, isn't this supposed to be about me?
I'm not interesting. But I like learning and talking about interesting things.
My name is Mic and I eat bugs. Follow me if you want me to teach you how.

Sort:  

Hi @mickeyd. I am glad with your presence in Steemit. I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon!!!

Thank you!


Welcome to Steemit @mickeyd!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

A very warm welcome to steemit @mickeyd. Steemit is an awesome community and You'll have a great time here.

Join #steemschools discord channel https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we'll teach and support you to grow on steemit, make quality posts and comments on steemit, how to sell your products, business strategies and tips on how to earn more money in steemit and life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55