Hi steemians!

Hi, my name is Michel, which ~95% of English-speaking people unconsciously convert to "Michael", but that is fine too because my parents almost did name me Michael instead! :)

I am a mathematician specializing in Machine Learning, and I work for a scientific NGO, combining data from many sources (satellites, ground measurements, crowd-sourced) in order to better understand natural disaster risk.

At the moment I know close to nothing about blockchains, cryptocurrencies, or the whole ecosystem building up around these things. But I've decided to come see what all the fuss is about. And steem was heartily recommended to me to get started, so here I am!

Cheers

Sort:  

Hello welcome to steemit
in short you can visit the site busy it's a platform related to steemit ca can help you write your post more easily https://busy.org/@cris02
if you have questions do not hesitate to ask me and you can find answers in https://steemit.com/faq.html

Thanks for the welcome, cris02! Do most steemians use busy.org?

No ;-) There's other alternatives, and there are new and different ones coming up all the time, but to this moment steemit.com is the most commonly used platform.

I use busy when someone links a site to me but I am a loyalist for this platform. I like steemit and have gotten really accustomed to it. Love all the front ends though, it really spreads the word quickly

I think steempeak.com is a nice option :)
check it out! a lot of cool features all in one place!

Hi all! Thanks again for the welcome.

I have a question concerning the voting and "pending payout". It says that the pending payout of this post is $18.61 (which is huge, I am very surprised!). I understand that it splits into SP and SBD, and I more or less understand the gist of what those two things mean.

However, is there some way I can see a breakdown of "who gave how much"? i.e. which user(s) contributed the lion's share of this amount?

so Michel is spoken like Michelle, isn't it?
people often write me miela though my pseudonym is mielia

with your job you would have some interesting topics to write about :)
others mentioned busy, I prefer steempeak.com

Hi @mielia, yes it's pronounced the same. Is mielia Finnish?

I love seeing new people with skills like yours come aboard, I am happy to help if you have any questions, I have a great community with wonderful support on discord and we don't ask anything of our members, its free and people are really cool. I wish I had it when I first started, we welcome you if you are interested.

Thanks @vladivostok! By discord, do you mean the VoIP app?

https://discord.gg/VAynU2k
it's not voip app i don't think, but you can talk on the phone with users, if you haven't check it out try it ,,,,you might like it, we are around all the time

Hi michel welcome to steemit. This is good online platform that you can post your stories, experience, it great to have you here. Looking forward to you interesting post. ^_^ And im still new here just like you. We have a lot to share here.

Thanks @gabriellajireh, welcome to you as well!

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To learn more about us and stay connected with us, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Thanks @partiko! It's amazing how many apps I've already heard about within just a few hours.

Thanks @wstanley226! What is a Steem strategist?

Welcome to Steemit buddy

I am a mathematician specializing in Machine Learning, and I work for a scientific NGO, combining data from many sources (satellites, ground measurements, crowd-sourced) in order to better understand natural disaster risk.

I Presume that is Remote Sensing and Geoinformatics
I am Michael too
I thought "Michel" is another form of Michael

Hi fellow Michael, thanks! Yes, both sensing (remote & local) and informatics (geo and otherwise) are a big part of our work. Are you working in a similar field?

Yes, I am
I studied Geography in first degree and worked with an Space Agency that deals on Remote Sensing and Geoinformatics as an intern.
I hope to get a job in that area but have been unable to get any since graduating

Keep looking! I recommend doing some open source work; you learn a lot, and what you produce can serve as a kind of portfolio in your job search.

Welcome! Enjoy the dive :)

Thanks @pharesim! Not diving yet, just dipping my (cryp)toes in :)

By the way thanks @pharesim, I finally figured out that you single-handedly doubled my SP on my first post... bit slow to catch on :)

Welcome to steemit @michel.speiser.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
  • Help us save the forest with @treeplanter
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Thanks @tuanis -- I like the @helpie blog!

helpie is really good, I am a patron there and really love the people and attitude, hope to see you around, discord has been an invaluable tool for many of us and I think you would like the ideas that are exchanged freely

I'm happy you found my lil project useful and hopefully introducing new steemians to great projects like @helpie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43