Beginning of the End for Clickbait?

Hello there, im Michael Dunlop, im from canada. My blog used to be fairly popular. I personally wrote articles every week and sometimes everyday. I was tracking the number of unique visits per day using Google Analytics and the statistics looked great. We were getting thousands of unique visitors each week, and I started getting emails from advertisers. I remembered thinking; 

 Wow, we can make enough money to pay for hosting, maybe even enough to fund some product giveaways and buy lunch here and there!" 

Looking back, I wish I had never tried to monetize my blog because it started to erode the quality of the user experience.I fell victim to the allure of advertising money, and my blog quickly became overrun by annoying clickbait and popup ads.

 Fast forward to present day, and I am proud to say that my blog is completely ad free! 

My savior? The advent of micro-tipping using Bitcoin, specifically the wonderful world of ChangeTip! I first encountered ChangeTip whilst surfing Reddit and quickly became obsessed with sending people bits via Reddit and Twitter! It was the most fun I'd had using social networks for a long time. It felt like I could reach through the screen and make a positive difference in someone else's day.

I browsed the ChangeTip blog and realized that I could in fact remove the horrible clickbait advertisements from my blog and replace them with a simple tip button. I wrote an article on my siteand quickly received enough tips to pay for registration and hosting in 2015!

The removal of pay-per-click ads from my blog felt like a breath of fresh air. I now feel that the site has returned to focusing on the important things: the content; the content creators; and most importantly, the user experience!

Installing the ChangeTip Wordpress plugin made the whole process super easy, and I would definitely recommend it to any website or blog owners out there.

Hats off to the ChangeTip team and the magic that is micro-tipping with Bitcoin.

If you would like to learn more about ChangeTip please visit their site.


Cheers!

Sort:  

Looks like we are getting away from the advertisement model all websites try to make money on. This concept where you are getting paid for the value of your content is getting more popular and is better! Thanks for your post

Congratulations @michaeldunlop! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @michaeldunlop! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @michaeldunlop! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Delighted to have you here with us!

I am a downvote bot. Contact @pharesim at slack if you think I am misbehaving. Please help fighting spam! Upvote this post to strengthen the bot, downvote the parent post if it has positive upvotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53