Hello Fellow Steeminators!!! I'm just another confused idealist looking for a new blogging home.

So this is the third time that I’ve restarted this Introduce Yourself post. Ideas and people are always evolving aren’t they? Everything is always evolving.

The first post that I started writing was talking about how I was a frustrated idealist and nobody understood me and blah blah blah. I sounded like such a whiner and hence decided to abandon that one.

Then I started in on another post which was rambling on about how I have a history of starting anonymous blogs on various websites because no one in the real world understands me or cares about what I think and...yawn.

But having read some of the witness statements seeing how their enthusiasm and idealism are being wholeheartedly invested into Steemit, I began to think that I might be onto something by joining this platform.

At any rate, I’ve been trying to revise my career path, or lack thereof, and figure out what is actually going on in the world and what I need to be doing to move forward in life. I can’t exactly pinpoint where or when I got off track but somewhere along the way, I did. I guess at one point I took “the red pill” as they say and boy, that threw a wrench into things. I’m sure my fellow red pill takers will know what I’m talking about. And no, I did not become addicted to drugs. I have never touched that stuff.

So one of my goals here is to actually write a blog that I can share with family and friends without cringing. Is that possible? Only time will tell. So far it is not looking very promising.

So I started off pretty well in life. I was a straight A student. I was valedictorian of my not so illustrious high school. I went to a well known university. But all that only taught me to be a good student. And most of the things that make you a good student don’t necessarily make you successful in life. I loved the certainty of knowing that doing your homework and memorizing the information that would be on the test would provide the desired outcome. It was so comforting. But the real world isn’t really like that. Have you read the book “Linchpin” by Seth Godin? I sure wish i had read it way back when.

So after college I fumbled along at various menial office and retail jobs. I tried to go to school for a couple of different careers only to discover that these career fields had a dark side that I wasn’t willing to buy into, being a damn idealist and having taken the red pill and all.

So I’m in my early 40s, married, and looking to create a life and career of meaning and service. I’m not there yet but I’m feeling much more optimistic these days. I attribute this in large part to learning the Emotional Freedom Technique. It is often referred to EFT or Tapping. That’s another woo woo thing that I might be discussing in here. But I’ve gotten off the topic.
Opportunity is everywhere out there. These days you don’t have to look very far to find it. It is overcoming the fear to take advantage of those opportunities that has always been the difficult part for me. I’m working on it.

On this blog I plan on discussing some of the books and resources that I am just becoming acquainted with that may be helpful to others out there.

Right now I’m almost finished reading “Delivering Happiness” by Tony Hsieh, who is one of the founders of Zappos.com. The book outlines the crazy journey he took that led to the creation of Zappos. Wow it is an awesome book.

I feel that one thing the world definitely needs right now is a better integration of our work with our authentic selves. I feel that work these days is often soul draining because we are forced to put the best parts of ourselves on hold at work to take on a soul draining and inauthentic “professional” demeanor. This is starting to change, as books like “Delivering Happiness” are showing us.

So that’s an abbreviated version of me that will probably earn me 2 cents.

Oh well, it’s a labor of love, right?

Here is a recent picture of me that is not too up close and personal. I also enjoy hiking and traveling. I live in Southern California near Los Angeles.

20161127_163909.jpg.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @melodybfree!

Welcome to Steem @melodybfree I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks bottymcbotface!! :-)

Welcome to Steemit! A pleasure to have you here and get to know you! A big hug from Argentina Count on me for what you need! 👍🏻😄🇦🇷

Your story is so similar to mine...I did so well in school, studied a few different subjects at college (UK college which I think is probably similar to US community college), got a few low level qualifications in different things and ended up doing a bunch of retail/warehouse type jobs. Like you I'm an idealist and have learned much about the working world I'd rather not know, so I'm determined to carve out my own living instead of relying on others for jobs. I even love EFT, though I just discovered it. Really looking forward to reading more of your posts.

Thanks catonwheels! We've got to build our new idealistic lifestyles :-)

Nice post! Your account seems new so I'm gonna support you. This deserves an upvote and maybe upvote some of my stuff too!
As a newcomer to steemit, it's not easy getting those first upvotes so maybe you want to try Steemfollower where you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I also recently made this post explaining that in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

Congratulations @melodybfree! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That tree looks pretty personal :p

@originalworks

Okay my picture sucks. D'oh.

Welcome to steemit!

welcome to steem
follow me and upvote
have a great meeting

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good day and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :) and upvote all my post and i do the same.
upvote ad comment my new post.
https://steemit.com/life/@xamir15/introducing-legends-history-memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97