Hello World, allow me to introduce myself. #introduceyourself

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

View_from_Maryland_Heights_Overlook,_July_4,_2014_(19757440341).jpgOn a brisk Sunday morning in September, in a small mountain town, I came into this world smiling. My mother often spoke of noticing how vivid my blue eyes were as I opened them with wonder to the World.

I grew up in a place called Shannondale. Mountains covered with emerald green trees and a lake of crystal clear water that ran down from cavernous springs, deep in the mountains. In the summer months, my mother, my younger brother and I would ride our bikes down to the lake and take our rowboat out to fish. In the winter the lake would freeze over and we would go ice skating. I remember, in the winter when it would snow, everything was covered in a profound shade of white. Almost ethereal. Icicles would glisten as they hung off trees creating dancing lights in a frozen faerie tale wonderland. Somehow in my snowy isolation, even as a child, I felt comforted by my surroundings.

As a very young child, I lived briefly in a few European Countries. I remember when we lived in Munich, Germany, I would ride my tricycle to a very kind old lady's house. Where she would feed me honey by the spoonfuls and teach me to speak German. I played among the flowers on a blue sky vista in the Swiss Alps.

When I returned to the states, I spent a lot of time with my grandparents. My grandfather, a Pastor for our local Church, St. Andrews on the Mountain, instilled a respect for all religions and all people of all walks of life. I looked forward to the Sermons he would write each week.4962432524_afe4cbdefd.jpg
He would also read to me every night. We read the classics as well as historical books and some fantasy. I gained a love for reading and passion for writing from the experiences with my grandfather. In 1996 my grandfather passed away suddenly. I am a Libra true and through. I thrive on balance and peace, however, I gained a new perspective on life, death and my place in all this. As I got older my fairy tale wonderland became a sweet memory replaced with a harsh concrete jungle of the city I live in today.

Fast forward a few years and I graduated high school in an area called Delmarva, the Eastern Shore of Maryland. I had planned to move to Cali after high school to become a Graphic Designer. Things don't always go as planned. I decided to stay in Maryland because of a love interest.
555560_10200631569860876_94844673_n.jpg

Ten years later and I have Two AMAZING beautiful souls that I am blessed to call my Children. Izabella and Alexander. Today they are 13 and 10 respectively.

IMG_20170922_213215.jpg

Over the next few years, I reconnected with my birth father who was diagnosed with end of life colon cancer. Needless to say, I moved to New Orleans, La to get to know my birth father and help him with his transition to the next destination. I spent two years in NOLA.
163429_1485558628134_4803849_n.jpg
It was some of the best adult memories I have. Walking through the French Quarter, early morning, the smell of deep fried beignets, chicory coffee, and the quiet shuffle of the early birds. Nola is a city for artists, dreamers, and lovers. And for a time I was at home in the magical chaos.
428606_2652259434925_140235856_n.jpg
My time in Nola came to an end when we were hit by hurricane Issac, shortly after my father passed. From there I spent some time in Florida to regroup.

IMG_20170822_180821_1.jpg
Eventually I returned to the Shore because I missed my family. Little did I know I was on a path to meet my one and only, my sun, my moon and my stars. (and another beautiful soul we were to bring into the world.)
12644839_10205253789453477_7775333603872866592_n.jpg

I was also to find out that I had stage two cervical cancer.

In 2011 I was diagnosed with cervical cancer. I was told I would have to undergo intense extensive medical treatment. I would most likely have to have parts of my body removed and I would never have another child. At 28, this was a hard blow. Reluctantly I admit I was in shock and was spiraling out of control. I love life, and I love my existence.
By the grace of nothing short of divine intervention, I meet a soul who matches mine. We decided to go to the west coast in search of a better way, a better option and a better solution to my ever-growing problem. We had heard of a different approach to dealing with sickness in the body. (I plan on going into extreme detail on exactly how we cured my cancer naturally in another post) The short version is I completely changed my diet to organic fresh food. I stopped eating processed anything. I drank probiotics. We created a medicinal tea from Chinese herbs and adaptogenic roots. I spent time romping through the Cascade Mountains....
10251938_10201600653727367_8383322011342354401_n.jpg
and did some genuinely hard work in the service of others. I healed my soul, which healed my mind, which healed my body. And the icing on the cake was finding out that we were to bring a new soul into this crazy world.

1271241_10202970595375052_8560145624919885137_o.jpg

So, back to the Eastern Shore we came, with an additional passenger and a fresh mindset. Its been three years since we came back and we still try to hold true to the realizations and lessons learned along the way.
IMG_20170708_133018_1.jpg
In the three years being back on the shore, friends have been made and lost. Loved ones have died and some have been born. I've had some of the greatest joy and deepest sorrows. I continue to hope for the best, help when I can and keep love in my heart and my head in the clouds.

I am utterly grateful for the opportunity to share my story and my voice and be able to listen to others on Steemit. So, hello everyone, delighted to meet you.

-Meg the World Walker

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @megworldwalker.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome! Enjoy your stay! Here is my upvote to get you started!

Thank you so much!

Welcome to steemit! Nice to read about you, and I am looking forward to read more about how you fighted the cancer with healthy and organic food.

Thank you so much. I look forward to sharing my story with anyone who will listen.

Congratulations @megworldwalker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi Meg, thanks for sharing your story...

You've been featured in The Fresh Five!
It's a daily post designed to help introduce brand new Steemians to the community.

We're all here to help you find new friends and answer any questions you might have.

Here is the link, come say hello:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-fresh-five-for-feb-26th-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know

Welcome to Steem!

Thank you so much. I am so grateful to be featured. I look forward to growing into the World of Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48