Hello Steemians! I finally got approved for registration and would like to introduce myself first!

I think it was three weeks ago when I first heard of Steemit.

A distant friend of mine texted me the link and as soon as I browsed it, something clicked inside of me.

I. Must. Be. Part. Of. This. Community.

Why? I actually don't know. But that's how emotions or sudden callings work, right?

To be honest, I don't know a single thing about cryptocurrency.

As I am writing right now, I don't even know how I am going to convert (is that the right expression?) the amount of money this post may or may not raise into the Korean currency.

What I'm trying to say, is that that's not what I'm interested in.

(I'm only interested in me, myself, and I! Haha, I kid.)

What really attracted me to Steemit was its diverse community.

Yes, English is the Lingua Franca and the current economic system kinda revolves around America, etc. but hey, other countries are equally as relevant and have lots to offer, right?

Though I couldn't understand a word, seeing all these different languages in one page, written by REAL people (REAL people I say!) was absolutely amazing. Talk about a global, open-minded society. Honestly, I feel like having a STeemit membership should later be a requirement for global citizenship (if such thing ever becomes created -- which I don't doubt).

Anyway, I digress.

Before I start anything on Steemit (I haven't even decided what I will mainly post about - got so much to share!), I thought it be appropriate to first introduce myself.

Hello.

My name is Meena. I used to be called Marie when living in the U.S. Then this arrogant hedge fund manager that I met in NYC told me that I should just go with Meena since Marie is such a 'white' name (yes, he said that). To this day I still don't know if he made such a suggestion with good intentions ('Hey! Be proud of your heritage! Use your Korean name!') or bad ('Your name is for white people only. Back off'). I like both of my names. So you guys can call me either way.

I recently turned 30. I currently work and live in South Korea. I'm pursuing a degree in English Education which will allow me to become an English teacher at middle and high schools. Someday I hope to pursue a degree in Science Education as well. My undergraduate degree in the States was in Biochemistry and my heart still skips a beat whenever I see stuff related to DNA, Organic Chemistry, etc. I'd like to share that passion with students one day.

I used to go to pharmacy school in the States but found the nature of the work very... lonely. As some of you may know, pharmacists are usually the people at your local grocery store in the pharmacy corner. They spend most of their time counting, double-checking, and packaging pills. They also make calls to various insurance companies and doctors when mistakes are found. They consult patients when there is enough time.

But the thing is, there usually isn't enough time. What I wanted was human interaction. Though pharmacists do play an important role in healthcare, it simply wasn't enough for me. I think I wanted to help people on a more intimate, personal level. So I quit.

Then I came back to South Korea where my parents live. I became one of those repulsive, annoying college graduates who come back to their parents' home because they couldn't find a solid career. Ha. It wasn't the best of times but my parents were still gracious enough to take me back in and be patient with me while I was doing my so-called 'soul-searching'.

Now I'm back in school to become a teacher, and I also work at a local institute teaching English. It's fun. I get to play with humans of all age. It's so much fun that it's like I've become a cat which has just discovered catnip (weird comparison, I know).

So, this is me.

I'm your typical Korean girl who is interested in makeup, hair-dos, fashion, selfies, etc. Sometimes I might bomb Steemit with countless number of selfies just because I am shamelessly looking for attention on a global level. Or sometimes I might write stuff in Korean because I've heard that there is a Korean audience of a decent size here on Steemit, and I would like to get to know them as well.

Either way, please welcome me.

I'll be super nice. :)

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! You are receiving this message as you have used the #introduceyourself tag! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

welcome to steemit @meena1013 upvote :D


Welcome to Steemit @meena1013!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Enjoy, it is a really good start to join Steemit.

Hello @meena1013! Welcome to Steemit, Don't worry you will learn crypto here, there are a lot of reads about crypto and other stuff that you need to learn.

Hi Meena, glad you decided to join Steemit. Perhaps you have a lot of questions about Steemit and no doubt the proper answer is from reading the Official website FAQ: (https://steemit.com/faq.html).

You can always write both English and Korean languages here. I can sense that there will be a lot of fun writing from such a cheerful person like you.

Have fun learning and share your experiences in Steemit. Enjoy!

welcome to steemit!)

Hi @meena1013, glad that you finally made it here!

Welcome to Steemit from Indonesia, this is an amazing platform for creativity and imagination. Share, comment and make friends

Welcome to Steemit @meena1013. I like your way of writing. It was catchy and I enjoyed reading it. Looking forward to your next posts 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65834.12
ETH 2676.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89