You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bye YouTube. Hello Steemit!

Good to have you here Michael. I just joined also and I've also been looking for a social networking site that is not owned by Google or Facebook. Yes, those platforms are powerful for business, to reach a lot of people very quickly but something about the way they handle things feels "off" to me. It feels totalitarian somehow (not just the employees but the customers also, scary thought I know). Especially this case with you. So what you are doing is now much more than just about The Narc. It's also about censorship. Free speech. There must be other similar cases like it around. Where are you with the 60 minutes thing? I'm sure you want to get back into music but I suggest finding a way to integrate all this frustration and "uncovering of truth" INTO your music. Why? Because you are incredibly good at what you do, putting these ideas together into videos, your music clips, sharing your deepest feelings and staying sane and rational (when others are falling apart). When you figure it out, you will go NEXT LEVEL. I believe in you man.

Sort:  

It's pretty sad because I used to love YouTube. It has been such a great resource through the years and I've kinda hold on to it, but at some point you just have to take a stand and say enough is enough. It's not just the case with me, but last year they basically allowed child abuse for profits with the case of daddyOfive, just recently YouTube handpicked and promoted a video where a suicide victim was hanging in a tree, made into entertainment. No repercussions for the guy who made the video at all, because he makes YouTube money. I can't support it anymore.

Even though one of my channels were suspended, I have another one that I started in 2006. When I'm done with the unmasking series I'll let the subscribers there know that they can find me over here too. Channeling things through music is great, but the videos themselves are kind of my way to process this whole situation too. I'll re-upload all the videos here with a complementary Steemit post for each video. If the media want to cover the story all they need will be here in an easy to follow fashion. I'm not going to actively pursue it myself. If YouTube wants raging narcissists to ruin their platform, I'll let them. I'm on Steemit now! ;P

Well said. And if anything, this whole process has probably taught you a thing or two about making videos like this, integrating your music, thoughts, research, story telling into a cohesive whole. Not sure if you ever watched the Zeitgeist movies back in the day (online documentaries) but the guy behind them is also a musician and just wanted to share his thoughts on the state of the world. So that might be something cool for you as well. After your done with this series, you can start tackling topics you are actually passionate about: veganism, cryptos, travel, standing up for justice, etc. You have an audience now to do it. You can gather funds through patreon (or crowdfunding) and also see what people would consider paying for. I would support it :)

Yeah, I've watched the Zeitgeist movies, good stuff! I'll be focusing on music after I'm done with the series, and probably some travel videos. I'm going to reward myself with a drone after the I've put together the final video, I'm ready for a mavic pro 2 to be announced ;P

Nice!! Yeah those things are awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58809.44
ETH 3151.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43