You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: About my Work

Nelson, Marie
Something made me sit down and bring up Steemit tonight. And there you were. I found myself fascinated with your post for a great number of reasons which I will run through quickly which will be a great challenge for me because I had such visceral reactions to some of your choices and some of your designs. We are of an age, I was born in 45. Isn't it good to remember that life is basically indestructible? I am a weaver, design fabrics, the fibers often provide all of the clues as to the kind of weave and texture they want and then I let those fabrics speak to me when designing what I do with them especially if they are to be worn on a body whether it walks or runs through life.
I have yet to write my own introduction to the people on this platform basically because the idea of peer to peer has caused me endless hours of intrigue. That's in case you might think to hunt up my post to possibly see pictures of what I do.
I am going to assume that you did not have the fabric that holds your cashmere/model surface design specifically woven for you. I like both of those fibers so it's not that I am a fiber snob but I felt left speechless (yah, right, lots of luck) at the fabric woven of it because those fibers both have such distinctive energies, and with the case of cashmere it has an intrinsic memory of its entire life. If I held cashmere in one had and model in the other the model would be quiet, almost sterile in the sense of itself but not the cashmere, and it would end up feeling almost friendless in the blend of the two fibers.
I loved the colors, especially in the first painting. There she was sitting out in nature and it was an explosion of color. Yet she is wrapped in white. Is the look on her face one of quiet bewilderment? Does she wonder as I often do if she actually belongs in nature and does her choice of white reflect away the energies and messages of her environment? I never feel that I am the center when I am out in nature, but maybe as I look at her face again she might just feel that way. That she is in the center of her life.
Thank you for your post. I once created dishtowels for myself after enjoying chips and salsa. All the lovely colors and I believe the people who reacted to them with joy and bought them also liked chips and salsa and it was somewhere in their neuro-schematic brain structure, so they just had to have them. Aren't those lovely words when you know yourself that something has worked? Being able to step aside and let creation come through is a fantastic feeling and also a mysterious miracle.
As ever. M

Sort:  

Thank you for your insights! I shall check up on your page here. Right now you have no posts, nor is there a website link on your profile.
As for fabric - VIDA is a design platform, I have only the choices they offer to put my images/designs on it. The same with some other platforms I am on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68643.84
ETH 3277.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67