How philosophy changed my life (My story)

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

My story is not an impressive nor inspirational one. But I'm okay with that. As an introvert, I always rather go unnoticed. However, I still have big aspirations. I know I was put (or casually landed) on this Earth to make an impact. 

From a very young age I noticed I experienced the world differently.  Even as a kid, when all of my classmates would run and scream all the time, calling for attention, I just wanted to stay quiet and observe (them) without being disturbed. Maybe that's why I like movies so much. As I grew up, the alienating feeling of not fitting in grew as well. I would just stay inside my house all day, reading or listening to music. It's no surprise at all that some of the first people I connected to were, in fact, misfts too. Among them were Kurt Cobain, Amy Winehouse, Virginia Woolf, Franz Kafka and thousands of fictional characters. But then, one day, I came across a new type of book, which perfectly described the feeling of not knowing who you are or the reason for being in this world. But the novelty in this book was that instead of giving in to this feeling, like the characters of most book I read, this one actually tried to find a reason for it aswell as a way to overcome it. That was my first encounter with philosophy- and it changed my life forever. 



Stoicism is one of the schools that teaches how to overcome harsh situations. For stoics, happiness is found in accepting the moment as it presents, not allowing oneself to be controlled by the desire for pleasure or fear of pain.



Now I'm 21 years old and I'm majoring in Philosophy. I can't say that I no longer feel alienated from this world -I doubt that feeling will ever go away-, but it sure does not longer possess me. Because I know that I'm not the only one that feels this way. I've learnt that, in fact, this feeling is what makes us human. I no longer try to escape it, instead I embrace it because it enables my capacity of meditating and thus, learning Philosophy.

So what are my plans for the future? Well, remember I said I have big aspirations? My goal is to one day become a philosopher myself. No, I don't want to live in a barrel like Diogenes or poison myself like Socrates (at least not for now). What I would really love to do is to investigate and write about the human condition for a living. I know I still have a long way to go- I am still a student and my country is not funding humanities due to economic crisis. But I won't let that discourage me. When I found out about Steemit I saw it as an opportunity to begin practising. And if I can make a few dollars on the way, that would be awesome too! But really, I'm here mostly to find out what the rest of world is thinking, and add my two cents on the topic. Always based on logical arguments, as Aristotle would've wanted.  

Sort:  

Welcome luuls!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome to the steemit community @luuls!
We sincerely hope you find all that you are looking for here, and have found a new home.
I found this post because @xcountytravelers and @brittandjosie at @heyhaveyamet promoted your post to help you grow quicker, and should you have any questions or need some guidance, you can go to the Steem Terminal in Discord here:

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Have fun and happy steeming!

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Welcome to steemit @luuls.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Welcome to Steemit Luuls,
I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you.
Here we dont mind who or what you are the fact that you came is GREAT
Blogging is what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money.
I have been here for a while and love it!
But be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !! They are yours.
For safety tips visit the white paper.

The Steemify App I use is also great, it is available in the Appstore and free, you can See Whats happening in your account. https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote

Also Appics and Steepshot are handy apps and Free. I wish you good luck steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Your value and input is appreciated and if you have questions let me know.
We (@xcountytravelers and I ) are presenting New comers in Our @Heyhaveyamet blogs, and There is a Discord called SteemTerminal for newbies and All questions, join in, I am on steemit everyday ! You can always leave a comment.
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Welcome to Steem luuls! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Congratulations @luuls! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!
Loading...

Hello @luuls, welcome to the steemit platform. Hopefully you will grow and reach what you want here. Greetings from me @anroja, if there are questions please contact me. Don't hesitate to follow me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steem! The world needs all kinds and I'm of the camp that it's the quiet ones who spend more time observing who are truly interesting. (Though perhaps it's because I'm quiet as well. 😉) There's many here who have felt like outsiders, felt out of place, who've found this platform to be a place for them to feel free in expressing themselves. I hope that this will be true for you as well. Enjoy your day and please don't hesitate to ask any questions that you may have.


We encourage everyone to explore the various posts and to leave personal comments on those that you wish (for example - thoughts regarding the content or a sharing of a similar experience you've had). This platform thrives through interaction as it's the best way to build relationships with other Steemians while finding communities and initiatives that peak your interests.

We like to advise bloggers to cite if images, videos, etc. used in their posts are of their own creation. This practice gives the creators an opportunity to have it clearly labeled that the works portrayed are the rightful property of the party posting it.

Another tip that we share with everyone is to be careful of copyright infringement when using material that is not of their original creation. Content (for example - images from a website) that grants permission for reuse is acceptable for content creators to utilize within their posts provided there is appropriate attribution to the source. Here's a link that will provide you with more information.


You've Been.png

We wanted to let you know, we have given you a 25% upvote, are now following you, and are introducing you to everyone we know. You can visit our post HERE.

You can also visit our discord server, The Steem Terminal, which is your one-stop location for learning about destinations on the Steem Blockchain & Discord. Here you will find people who are willing to answer the questions you may have as a new Steemian, documents to assist you, a place to learn and practice, and find out about the many opportunities to connect with other Steemians!

Welcome to the Steem Community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46