Hello, I am the new guy

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

...well, not really. I joined Steemit a while ago already, but I was too busy (or lazy?) to write something. I did spend quite some time with the Steem API already though, more about that in a later post.
As a developer, i am mostly interested in the technical details of Steemit, Blockchain and all those fancy things out there, so do not expect too many blogpost about personal stuff. Maybe a picture of my cat once in a while, but that is what the internet was made for anyway.

I am from Lower Austria and in Vienna since 2003, but i prefer to write in english. I like to practice, so I watch all my TV shows in english too 🤓

How did i join the wonderful world of programming?

It all started with a 486-DX/2 with 66MHz. You had to spend hours on config.sys and autoexec.bat for increasing the available “conventional memory” to get your games running. For me, that was actually more fun than playing the game itself. Since then, i worked as Visual Basic developer (yeah, i know, it sucks) and after studying “media technology” in St. Pölten, i started to work at LimeSoda. First, as a Flash/Actionscript developer (good times).
As you all know, Flash is out like a fat kid in dodgeball, so I moved to JavaScript with all its wonderful tools: Node.JS, Webpack, Next.js, React/Redux, React Native, Phaser, …
I am also interested in and working with Social Media APIs (mostly Facebook), Scrum (i am a certified Scrum Master), IoT and electronics (Raspberry, Arduino, Beacons, …), Docker and of course the Steem API. 🤓

TV Shows

The list is endless, but here are some of my favourites:

  • Shameless 👌
  • Family Guy
  • The Cleveland Show
  • Mad Men
  • The Office (with Steve Carell)
  • Stranger Things
  • The Wire
  • It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia

More: https://www.sidereel.com/profile/andyrandy

Hobbies

I like to try new things, but this would be the current top list of things i do on a more or less regular basis:

  • 💻 Programming (yeah, i do that in my free time too. Neeeerd!)
  • 📺 TV Shows (you already know that)
  • 👟 Running (1-3 times a week, hit me on strava: https://www.strava.com/athletes/14100022)
  • 🥊 Thai Boxing (http://www.fightingarts.at/)
  • 🛀 Scuba Diving (I am in the process of getting my CMAS* brevet)
  • 🏍 My motorcycle “Hermine” (Honda Transalp XL600V)
  • ⛷ Skiing
  • 🌄 Hiking
  • ...

As you can see, i like sports, but I do not watch them. Nothing is more boring than watching other people moving a ball from A to B (that is basically what soccer is, or tennis).

Here are some pictures in random order

My cat, looking angry because she had to wait in front of the door:
IMG_20171112_132815.jpg

Skiing with some friends:
IMG_20180106_125945.jpg

Two panoramas from the "Hochkönig" skiing area:
IMG_20180114_135113.jpg
IMG_20180114_135539.jpg

Another one of my cat, happy again:
IMG_20180304_121303.jpg

Me on some mountain in Norway (Lofoten):
IMG_20160926_122628.jpg

Me on some other mountain in Norway:
DSC_9944.JPG

Beautiful horses in Iceland:
P1000842.JPG

Hermine (right before we hit the Großglockner):
IMG_20160729_130259.jpg

Other profiles/platforms


Thanx for reading through my bullet lists 😁

Sort:  

Die legendären Daily-Blog Battles von früher...


Welcome to Steemit @luschn!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hey @luschn,
"Maybe a picture of my cat once in a while, but that is what the internet was made for anyway." - haha true dat :D
Happy to finally have you here. And I can fully relate to the "rather writing in English" thingy :)

Cheerio & happy steeming,
Laura

Awesome intro mate. I'm intrigued by the Thai Boxing - sounds like you've got a bit of brawn as well as brain eh? I'm more into watching boxing myself, but I do also like a bit of MMA or K1 from time to time. Anyway, I'll be sure to follow you and check out your future posts.

thanx! well, i wrote that i do not watch sports. i do watch some boxing fights once in a while and MMA is just very interesting to watch - although, for me that´s just too much "dishonorable" fighting. you get a different view when you train martial arts on your own. i started with wing chun (and some wu shu as well) and really loved it, but thai boxing is better for fitness too and the guys and gals i am training with since some years are pretty cool - it´s more like a small family already, not just "people who want to hit each other". all friendly and stuff.

Hallo andi! Name zwar nicht erwähnt aber gestalked beim genauen lesen des Twitter links XD. Sehr schönes intro :) und Hermine is ein mega Name für eine Katze! Liebe Grüße aus tirol.....mattl

hey! ist es hier üblich seinen namen anzugeben? ich kenn mich noch nicht wirklich aus :) - hab aber kein problem damit, ist sowieso auf facebook auch ersichtlich :) - hermine heisst übrigens mein motorrad, nicht die katze! :) liebe grüsse zurück, aus wien!

hermine für's motorrad passt auch - sry xD

fun fact: die katze hat übrigens gar keinen namen, weil die eltern sowieso immer "miez" schreien (sie wohnt im elternhaus, nicht bei mir in wien).

Hahaha :)

welcome aboard! Enjoyed your talk as well.
Its really nice to see all this amazing people are joining steemit :)

thanx for calling me amazing :o)

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you’ll enjoy being here as much as I do.

You might find these YouTube videos useful. They are created specifically to help new Steemers grow and be successful on Steemit and will be posted on the @steemitvideos account as well.

All The Best!
Spencer Coffman
My Latest Article: Where To Post Your Articles

Herzlich willkommen hier und im Steemit-Austria Slack!

Hi @luschn how are you? Welcome on Steemit my friend and really cool intro ! I would like to connect with other cool steemians like you. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i give you my vote, follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

hi welcome to steemit world.. enjoy blogging =)followed you already, hope you follow me too

hi! you don´t follow me right now :) - but i will definitely follow you if you blog about running, for example :)

hahaha sorry now i did follow you. enjoy your day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86