Introduction from a Changemaker!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

My name is Ese. I'm a cultural kiwi, meaning my ancestors are from the region now called Nigeria but I was raised in New Zealand. Auckland, to be exact.

A combination of the choices I've made and the choices of those who came before me, places me at the intersection of many groups. Black, woman, queer, polyamorous, child of migrants, lower-to-middle class transitionary, educated, but the identity I most relate to is scientist.

My love of learning has spanned the three decades of my life time. As a young person I felt lost in a world not of my making. Through books I learnt that my experience added only a fraction to what made up the world. Learning to look at life through the lens of a scientist, by breaking things down to understand their connections, I began to realize how fragmented our world has slowly become.

I'm a romantic. I read about the debates and scientific exploration of the 19th and early 20th century and yearned for my chance to sit in those adorned libraries and discuss classical physics and modern philosophy with elbow-padded academics. To ponder the mysterious universe, from galaxies to atoms to DNA.
When I finally started graduate school studying chemistry, I realized things had changed, if they'd ever truly been that way. The world and life of a scientist isn't one idealized by the early champions of enlightenment thinking. Our discovery is driven by power and prestige rather than communal curiosity.

It is here that I decided to deviate from that definition and redefine myself as a something different. To innovate a new way of creating knowledge and information. Now I work as a sustainable scientist, a community scientist, a decentralized scientist, an open scientist, a science communicator, and a science educator.

All my additions to this community will try to define and exemplify these definitions. To show people the way I want to see science, by doing science in the way I want to see done. You are welcome to join me!

Sort:  

Warm welcome from me and all steemit community. Nice intro and Happy to meet you Keep on working hard. our support is always with you. Best of luck for future.

Welcome to Steem, @loveesechile!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3209 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.20: Utopian + SteemPlus Partnership = Bigger upvotes.

Hi, as you are a fellow kiwi I wanted to drop off an invitation to our NZ group in Discord. We'd love to have you join us, to be able to take advantage of group things and connect with other kiwis. :)

tanz invite sml.jpg

(if the link has expired just yell out and I'll issue a fresh one)

We also have a @teamnz profile you could follow if you like, and keep up to date with news and other kiwis - we publish twice a week.

Welcome to steemit @loveesechile.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Hi Ese,

This is a lovely introductory post, Thank you for taking the time to write the post and say hello to the community!

I am here to help!

I would encourage you to keep posting and comment on others users content to help make a name for yourself and to get the most out of the platform!

Feel free to comment on my content and I'll up vote your comments! Drop me a follow so you can comment a lot and get a lot of my upvotes!

I have upvoted your post!

Luppers :)

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57563.20
ETH 3078.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41