Introducing Myself!

Hello Everyone!

My Name Is Lori! 

I live right in the middle of the Appalachian Mountains!

I am (and always have been) a resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia. I was born and raised in Bluefield, Virginia. Bluefield is one of the highest cities in elevation in the United States! The city is well known as "Natures Air-Conditioned City" because of its unusually cool summer climate, and was named after the bluish chicory plants in the region.

                                                                                                                                                   

Although I spent most of my life in Bluefield, that isn't originally where I was supposed to have been.

My mother was from Saltville, Virginia; my father was from Glade Spring, Virginia. These two cities are five minutes apart from each other, and are surrounded by mountains (and other tiny cities). My whole life I felt I didn't belong where I was. We actively visited our family in the mountains, but visiting was never enough for me.

                                                        

I finally stopped ignoring what felt like my supposed to be hometown calling out to my soul! Three years ago, I decided to go back to my roots. I've always felt like this is where I was supposed to have been all along! The area is full of small cities that I call towns. Each direction you go will lead you to a different town. I chose to live in a city right in the middle of all of them! Chilhowie, Virginia is where I now reside. Chilhowie is rumored to be a Cherokee word meaning "valley of many deer". Valley of many deer is right! I have so much to say about the area that called out to me for so long, but I will save that for another post!

I am 27 years old, and consider myself a jack of many trades! I'm very big on hobbies.

My love for hobbies started off with reading and writing. My favorite genre to read is Sci-Fi/Fantasy! My writing is vast, I've kept a journal since age 12. I don't limit my writing to journaling. I write poems, short stories, correspondence, reviews on anything and everything, etc.

I love to sing, and can even play a couple instruments!

I'm artistic, although I haven't always been. My love for art started to evolve when I was in high school. I like all aspects of art. I paint, sketch, do digital illustrations, color adult coloring pages, and make things!

      

I collect random items, and love nature! I try to go on hikes on trails in the Appalachians every weekend. Not only do I hike, I like to take pictures of the enchanting forests I come across! The forests are the most beautiful places I have ever laid eyes on.

One day I realized that I have all of these amazing stories/experiences to talk about, but no one to tell them to. A friend of mine recommended Steemit to me. If I'm truthful I was hesitant at first, but decided to give it a try!

This is my first post (my IntroduceYourself post)! I hope you guys enjoy the content!

Bye for now!

@lorlwrnc


Sort:  

Hi @lorlwrnc!
Let me start by saying welcome to this amazing platform we call Steemit!
Such a pleasure to read your first post and to see all the pictures you shared with us as well!
I am looking forward to see more of your work!

I am a curator for the You Got Snekked curation project and this is just to let you know that...:

You got SNEKKED! ;)
Expect a certain Snek to come 'round and give you a bite soon ;)

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content, share a happy moment, & some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post and possibly an image from it in our 29th curation compilation if you don't mind! If you don't want to be featured, please let us know!

Also, feel welcome to join our community on Discord! -:

https://discord.gg/VWJxTEz

Hello Lori :) I just wanted to chime in a little just say I love your post. Nice and refreshing. I help out on @poeticsnake's project which is really geared toward helping people on Steemit.

Discord is the heartbeat of making connections and getting ahead on the platform. If you would like to know more about how to connect on Discord I'm happy to help out!

All the best here,
Bug

Hi @thebugiq!

Thank you so much! I would love to know more about how to connect on Discord!

Look forward to hearing from you soon. :)

Aloha again @lorlwrnc, if you click on the link at the bottom of @poeticsnake's comment with the cute snake face it will take you to the You Got Snekked channel where you will find a very warm and welcoming group of folks.

A little wacky albeit, but pretty nice. Well, actually super nice LOL.

Now the link above takes you to the rules channel which I'm not truly a fan of so let me give you a link to the right room to chat in and you can read the rules later LOL.

Use this link and it will parachute you right in and we'll help you get settled, show you around and introduce you to some great communities. https://discord.gg/J4tR5qU

Have an awesome evening,
Bug

Thank you @thebugiq!!

I've clicked on the link, and am exploring now!

Hello @poeticsnake!!

Thank you for the warm invite!

I am very glad that you liked my first post! :) Nice to meet you.

what a good introducing. i am hard from medan, indonesia. nice to know you :)

Thank you! It's nice to know you as well!

i joined steemit today :D upvote my post please :)

I have upvoted it and followed you! :)

thank you !!
does steemit only for commenting and posting??

I'm fairly new to Steemit as well. I've looked up an exact definition of Steemit, hopefully that will help!

It says that Steemit is a social news community. "Steemit is a blogging and social networking website that uses its Steem blockchain-based rewards platform for publishers. The Steem blockchain produces Steem and Steem Dollars which are tradable tokens obtained for posting, discovering, and commenting on content."
The quote is from Wikipedia.org.

I hope this helps answer your question! :)


Welcome to Steem @lorlwrnc.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Hi Lori!

Welcome to steemit!

Be patient with the platform because it takes time to, erm, build up steam. Or steem. Take time to reply to folks, as you seem to be doing already, but also upvote both comments and posts, as well. Make comments, but be sure to actually have a conversation rather than do the equivalent of a thumbs up. Finally, follow folks you find interesting and find their writing interesting.

Now, if I may ask, how high is your city? I grew up in the mountains of New Mexico and it was at 7200 ft (2160m for the rest of the world). I miss NM terribly, but being in tech, California is the place to be. Alas.

It was a pleasure, and I hope you don't mind that I added myself as a follower. Can't go wrong with a lover of scifi who loves the out doors.

;)

Thank you for the tips & welcoming me! :)

Oh my! That is very high!! The elevation is 2,612 ft (796m). It's one of the highest in the U.S. east of the Rocky Mountains. I moved to a lower elevation. I really couldn't tell a difference at first. After a while of not living there however, when I travel back I can tell a huge difference in the elevation. My ears pop several times while traveling over the mountain (whereas they only popped once when I lived there). I don't feel right until I get back to Chilhowie. Inside my head (it feels like I am in a muffled box)!

I have never been to New Mexico, but I've seen pictures and videos. It's beautiful!

Pleasure meeting you as well, and I certainly don't mind you following me! Again, thanks for the tips. They will be very helpful to me. :)

More than welcome. Angelfire, a ski resort town in NM, is at 8,600 ft, so we knew we were not the highest.

When I moved to Cali, I always felt like I had a lot of energy, more so than in NM. I jokingly tell friends back home it was 'oxygen poisoning.' The other big difference is the humidity: NM is very, very dry. California is more humid, but not Atlanta. For me though, it feels like I am breathing air around a pool, if you know what I mean...even 17 years after moving here.

I miss the food and the people, more than anything, but the ability to be alone.

There are many things in NM to see. I recommend going to Santa Fe first. Go during the burning of Zozobra in September. October is good for the balloon festival. August, despite the heat, is great to go to White Sands National Monument, a vast gypsum dune sea that's almost pearly white. Stick around during the perseid meteor shower after dark and with no light pollution and the high altitude, you get an amazing show. There's Chaco Canyon, a Precolumbian city with cliff dwellings, to see and also in Carlsbad Caverns, one of the largest in the world. And a whole lot more.

Try the food though, but be ready for it being spicy. ;)

As I said, a pleasure.

The changes in my "symptoms" while traveling peaqued my interest, so I did some research a while back. There is an actual illness called "altitude sickness"! It's caused by shortness of oxygen at high altitudes. Your feelings (and mine as well) could very well be due to the changes in altitude. In some people the symptoms are more harsh than in others. Myself, I just feel a slight difference (enough to be annoying). Lol! It's so strange, but traveling to high or low altitudes actually have an effect on people! For instance, if I traveled to Ecuador I would more than likely have symptoms like: shortness of breath, dizziness, fatigue, or be sick to my tummy. Even though there is a possibility of sickness occuring, it would never stop me from traveling!

Unfortunaely, I haven't visited California yet. The most humid place I have traveled (so far) was Florida. When I first arrived, it was SO humid I felt like I could not breathe!! After a few days of being there however, I started to acclimate. I do know what you mean about feeling like breathing air around a pool. I have been to Atlanta, and the climate there is much like the climate where I live in Virginia. I went to a baseball game in Atlanta (towards the end of April). It was so cold I had to keep migrating to the guest shop where there was heat; just to stay warm! The month was almost MAY, but it felt like the middle of December! The weather is strange like that in some places. I haven't traveled out of the country, but anticipate to do so!

Thank you for the recommendations! New Mexico is a place that I have wanted to travel to for a very long time! It's on my bucket list. The places you described sound beautiful, and so much fun! I will definetly visit them when I do go. Oh, and the food!!!! That is one of the main reasons I can't wait to go! I watch YouTube videos of the food there. I love love love spicy food. It all looks so good! I can't wait to try it.

It's been great talking to you! Sorry it took me a bit to get back.

@lorlwrnc

Thank you! I look forward to being part of the community! :)

Hi Lori, welcome to Steemit. Perhaps you have a lot of questions about Steemit and the best answer is from reading the Steemit Official website - Welcome & FAQ Page.

I believe you can write am amazing stories no one tell before. Keep writing and build the momentum.

Have fun learning and share your experiences in Steemit. Cheers!

Thank you for welcoming me, and your kind words about my post! I am so glad you liked it. :)

Also, thanks for directing me to the FAQ page, that will help answer a lot of my questions!

Pleasure meeting you!

@lorlwrnc

Hello Dear, Welcome to amazing world of Blogging and Sharing. You can write and share anything, but make sure to be Original and be yourself. Hope you have a pleasant stay....Steem On!
Thanks
@steemflow

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello! Thanks for welcoming me, and for the tips you have shared!

Hope you have a great day!

@lorlwrnc

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To learn more about us and stay connected with us, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Congratulations @lorlwrnc! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

That's amazing introduction, I like your paintings. I am also like doing art and painting. Nice to see you there. You can follow me @artme.

Thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12