Introducing myself (The Animal Story Man) - My first post in Steemit!!!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

I am a new member of Steemit and I feel honored to be part of this community. I am from Nigeria and currently live in the southern state of Delta.

545186_3053629815072_1680566152_n.jpg

Interests

My major interest is wildlife conservation and nature watching. As a child I was always fascinated by animals and developed a deep love for them. As I grew older I would spend countless hours in front of the television watching National Geographic Society documentaries on wildlife. I became very familiar with the works of renowned conservationists like Jane Goodall, Sir David Attenborough and the late Steve Irwin among many others.


Image from Biography Online-Sir David Attenborough

26e8f199f22620f5321c2f56c3da77a8.jpeg
Google Images- Jane Goodall


From Getty Images- Steve Irwin

Wildlife is a precious gift of God to this planet. But, sadly today, many of the animals and birds are getting endangered due to the indiscriminate destruction of the natural habitats of animals and plants for land development and farming by humans. Poaching and hunting of animals for fur, jewellery, meat and leather are other great factors contributing to wildlife extinction. It is important for us as humans to save the wildlife, our planet and most importantly, our own selves. Saving the wildlife and the environment will enable us to have a healthier eco-system that will benefit man immensely.

Family life

I am 62 years old now and married for 38 years. I currently live alone with my wife as the kids are all grown up and have left home.

377494_2318235430672_875272075_n.jpg

I’m always looking forward to family visits particularly when my twin girls come to visit with their daughters, Brielle and Kiki. I cherish their visits.

13892108_10206961932702129_2995078430552563118_n.jpg
Brielle

14368768_10207343666565237_68892572421482445_n.jpg
Kiki

I was recently introduced to Steemit by a friend who thought I could be relevant in the community…lol. I hope I don’t disappoint him!

I think that Steemit is a great platform for sharing my knowledge of the animal kingdom, gathered over many decades, with other Steemians as a way of generating interest in wildlife conservation and the need for humanity to take concrete steps towards safeguarding our environment for the future generations.
How sad would it be for my granddaughters, Brielle and Kiki, not to be able to see these animals around when they are my age!

Looking forward to an entertaining time with the community. See you guys soon.

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @livelysteps55!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Thanks @introbot. I'm just blown away by the kind of support newbies like me are getting in this community.

Welcome to Steemit!

Thanks @daveks. Just got introduced to this wonderful community. It is so exciting here! I've spent hours browsing the site and I'm amazed at the type of content here.

You will like it! @papa-pepper has a very good blog to check out too!

Welcome nice having you here.

It's great being here @olaniyisegun. This is an amazing community.

Let’s post on steemit and save the planet! Regards!!!

Yes @mynotsofitlife. Let's save the planet. It's the only one we have. Thanks for your post.

Welcome! I love wildlife too. Follow me and vote and you can see some from North America. I’m excited to see what photos you have in store for us. BB9FA1DF-E903-440F-9F79-F36507CDEA6A.jpeg

I guess you are my brother from another mother...lol. I just love the beauties. They are so cute. Looking forward to a mutually rewarding steemit relationship. Following you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64833.23
ETH 3558.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35