How I landed where I am today

IMG_9205.jpg

I could give you the long version or the short version... let's aim for somewhere in-between.

Throughout High School I took heaps of art classes... I was in the advanced classes that allowed for "full creative freedom" and about half of my day consisted of me covered in various art materials. One could argue that I did this because it was easy, what 17 year old high school senior wouldn't want to have half their credits come from art classes? This may be slightly true, but it was also because -unknown to me- I suffered from severe ADHD. And, I was just good at art.

College rolled around, and I dabbled in the normal activities, and mosey'd around in my gen. ed. classes. I started out extremely interested in their "Graphic Arts Technology Management" major, where I was able to create logos, mousepads, stickers, etc. It was cool, but not all I had ever dreamed. While continuing my art classes, I decided to head the business route, mostly for a sense of safety, you can't go wrong with a business degree, right?

Enter: Bachelor of Science in Business Administration in Marketing.

Graduation rolled around. I had a few internships, many part-time jobs, and my college job in the University Football Program. I found a love for sports.

Diploma, Check. Grown-up Responsibilities, Nah. To the Virgin Islands I went!

1044173_10200250945218548_831660687_n.jpg

After a few leisurely months in the sand, I decided Graduate School was the next step. I enrolled in a Master of Science in Sport Management with dreams of being some sports lady boss working for the NFL and wearing a Power Suit - WHAT - ha ha ha, oh Linsey.

The next 3 years included a lot of lame online courses, a few unpaid sports internships, some Substitute Teaching to stay afloat, a move to Switzerland to be an au pair, and a move to Australia to work for the Australian Baseball League. Around graduation time, I also landed a job with my favorite MLB team, the Kansas City Royals. I settle into big-kid life, got a tiny studio apartment in the city, and got ready for the rest of my life.

12938134_10205803823477034_7011967273370440182_n.jpg

Halt. You can't live off of entry level $9.50/hour.

Armed with a Bachelors and a Masters, I was working full-time for just a bit over minimum wage and working at a bar part-time into the early hours of the morning just to survive. I never slept. I had no life. I was miserable.

Fast forward to now. I'm here, writing this post, with a cool website, living in Japan with my partner. How? I said I was fed up with being miserable and paved my own path!

I brainstormed. I came across The Bucketlist Bombshells. I made a plan. Sort of. I made a half-hazard plan. I taught myself how to make a website. I booked a one-way flight to Japan. The rest is history!

IMG_9441.jpg

You can find out more about what I am doing as a digital nomad on my website!

Sort:  

Hi Linsey, welcome to Steemit... oh and go Mariners! ;P

Ha Ha Ha!! Thank you!

oops, just realized I forgot to upvote.. upvoted!

welcome to steemit ,we happy to have you here!
I wish you the best! and hope to see you soon.

Take a chance, live the dream, love it! Welcome to Steemit! Following

Thank you! Followed back :)

soo happy to see you here girl! Excited to read more about your travel adventures and your life!! I bet Japan is awesome! <3

Thanks for all your help!

Welcome @Linseyjessica ! hope you enjoy here as much as i do ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Congratulations @linseyjessica! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey Linsey, welcome to Steemit! I'm Harrison from New Jersey. I gave you a follow and an upvote to help get you started. You are going to love it on here. Cheers!

@harryhoudinei 'I Like Being Followed'

Greetings Linsey I am excited that you landed here.

Congrats, you've been featured on
"Steem is beautiful" ... Stop by and take a look.
https://steemit.com/minnowsunite/@steemisbeautiful/what-makes-steem-beautiful-033
I am following, upvoting and featuring you.
Welcome to Steemit
Hope this Quick Start Guide will help you:
https://www.steemithelp.net/
george-carlin-WELCOME.gif
Stay Original >Stay Creative > SteemOn Daily

Welcome to Steem @linseyjessica I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60813.09
ETH 3389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52