wanting something different...

Hi steemit... this is me:

IMG_0750.JPG

My name is Duane Behrens and I'm an actor, (hence the somewhat pretentious photo) director, writer, voice artist, and... I don't know guys - I dabble. - Guess I'm a bit of a, "Jack of all trades, master of none" sort.

If you're suddenly now thinking, "Oh he's an actor, I wonder if I've seen him in anything?..." - the answer is probably no.
Unless you live in South Africa and happen to frequent the theatre, the likelihood of you knowing anything about me is very small. Which, to be honest, I kinda like.
A lot of people think that the reason for getting into acting is because you want to be famous - well, I went into acting because I just happen to love acting. (I know, weird right?)
For anyone interested in my acting career, my imdb page link is in "website" section of my page. (not that there is much on it)
For everyone else, here's a video:

Now. My steemit account.

To be honest, I'm not sure how it's going to work or even what kind of content I'm going to create/post. I joined steemit because a friend of mine ( @your-nomad-soul ) told me I should give it a try.
Usually I hate social media type things and only partake because, as an actor, I often get asked how many followers I have at auditions (which is complete bullshit btw.). [can I swear on steemit? - oh well, too late now]
Anyway, after my initial gripes about... well... pretty much everything. He assured me that steemit was different.
While that remains to be seen; I really hope he's right.

The name @link-in-my-bio is a somewhat small reference to a very common trend on other social media platforms, of shameless self promoting and spamming (that I'm not particularly a fan of). I'm not here to sell myself to you, or constantly prod you for upvotes and follows. I'm here to create and follow content, and show bits of my personality that are probably not seen on any of my other sites. - Don't get me wrong, I'd love and appreciate whatever follows I get; but I'd hope I'm getting them because of what I'm posting. Not because I spammed you until you gave in, or because I promised to follow you back (*rolls eyes) - If I follow you, it's because I like your content. I'd like it to be the same for you.

In my bio, it says "Mr. Darkside" (at least it does for now), this refers to the common tag I'll use for a few of my posts (you can think of them as daily rants.) [Only they wont be daily...maybe weekly, maybe monthly - honestly it depends on how grumpy I am at a particular point.] it's basically just to help you find these posts if you like them, and avoid them if you don't. I will try post one later so you can get the feel (by "later", I don't mean today).
If you want an idea of what these posts will be about - i'll probably just be bitching about things that annoy me... and almost everything annoys me at some point. Hell - some things annoy me at all points.. like wet socks.
I currently don't have wet socks - but I'm annoyed just thinking about wet socks.

I've come here looking for something different. Looking for a place I can post my thoughts, share some photos, showcase my "art" (megh), publish my horrible writing and not feel too judged for it all.
To prove that I'm not a bot, here is my instagram account: https://www.instagram.com/duane_behrens/
and that'll be the only time I post it. - So don't get into the hypocrisy of how I said I don't like self promoting and then did it a few lines later and how thats bullshit. (although you would be right.)

Well, I guess thats me. kinda.
Hope you liked it,
Hope I like it here,
Hope you like it here,
Hope, hope, hope... not bad. Ending a post with #hope

Sort:  

welcome! to the steem room!

Respect! Your account seems new so I thought I'd say hi and welcome you. There is an upvote for you and see you in your next post!
As a newcomer to steemit, it's not easy getting those big upvotes so you could give @MinnowPowerUp a go. This service lets you earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I compiled this post to explain the system in more depth and share my own experience in earning wupvotes for over $1 a day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67310.11
ETH 3522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71