Introduce yourself: My life as a juggler… ish. (English version)

I’ve always found that beginnings are hard. “To start” something is a kind of effort that requires discipline, patience, and a special disposition that feels a lot like motivation. It happens to me when I want to start that diet I’ve been procrastinating for months, or when I start a new exercise routine, when I venture in learning something new in a context that’s unknown to me and it also happens when I write. Especially now that I’ve decided to write this sort of introduction.

There’s something that I’ve always sensed reductionist about these types of introductions, because they give the impression they say a lot but actually say so little… I think it’s because there’s so much of us that cannot be put into words that sometimes language fails us short. So, anyway, I hope that with these few words I can give you a more or less accurate idea of who I am. Here we go.

Mi name is Alicia. My friends call me Ali, Alice or Lilix. This last name is a sort of online identity I’ve built during my years-long virtual experience. Thanks to social networks I’ve met amazing people, kept links with friends that no longer live nearby and also made contact with perspectives different than mine, which I value a lot.
You’ll wonder what I do, what I like, how I am… Well, first thing you should know about me is that I’m a juggler.


Munich_-_Two_clown_musicians_and_a_pretty_juggler_-_6858.jpg

Jorge Royan


I hope that at this point you’ve pictured me wearing a colourful leotard and manoeuvring, at the same time and quite gracefully, an absurd amount of objects of different sizes and shapes. Quite a funny image, eh? However, that is not why I consider myself a juggler.


18920601_10154751066586139_2546760603000070827_n.jpg


That one right up there’s me. You’ll notice I’m not wearing a leotard… Alright, I admit it, I wanted to play you a little joke with the whole juggler picture, but do not feel fooled (see what I did there?), you’ll see how right I am to call me that.
I am engaged to three fundamental things of similar importance, and these are the objects which I try to balance, with a lot of effort and sometimes little grace. I live a professional life, an academic life and an artistic life, so to speak.

My profesional life is currently devoted to teaching. I work with children of ages between 12 and 17, and it is a HUGE challenge. I teach two subjects that I pretty much enjoy: One of them is (Latin American) Literature and the other one is this wonderful subject called Theory of Knowledge, which belongs to a very special curriculum and makes me want to go back to school just to be able to take it. If you’re wondering what Theory of Knowledge is about, I hope I’ll be able to talk to you more about it in the future, but that’ll be a whole other post. For now, I can tell you that it’s intimately linked to Philosophy but they are not the same (or at least not from this curriculum’s point of view).

Now, the words ‘Literature’ and ‘Philosophy’ are key to talk to you about my second life, the academic life. I studied Philosophy in one of the most important universities of my country. I graduated a few years ago, and though I don’t really work in the field, I don’t think I’d be who I am if I hadn’t studied Philosophy. That school taught me how to think, how to write, and how to really read. It taught me how to question myself, how to demand the best from me, how to consider different viewpoints. I acquired invaluable abilities to form a sound opinion about the world surrounding me, I discovered new ways to approach what I knew and thought I knew, and I met important people that shaped my academic and human background. I owe philosophy much of what I am and want to be. I expect to talk to you more about this area of my life too.

On another note, I’ve always had a special affinity to books, so when I graduated university I wanted to go deep in my studies and step into the area of Literature. But since going back to uni to get another pre graduate degree was too complicated (thought attractive) in terms of time and some short time goals I wanted to achieve, I took another path. And that’s how I got into the M.Sc. Latin American Literature, which I am currently pursuing, in another great university of my country.


ccb936d9-9545-4522-b595-bf6ba3c27e84.jpg


I told you before that I also lead an artistic life. I think this one’s the most transcendental of the three, for it’s been a sort of guiding thread for my dreams, my goals and my decisions ever since I was little. I’d like to say that my training has been a lot more structured than it actually is, but as it is the case of every great passion, my relationship with the arts has been rather unpredictable and volatile.

I enjoy singing and dancing ever since I can remember. For years I’ve circulated in between chorales, bands, tributes, conservatoires and arts academies, in which I’ve gained important abilities and met great people.

A few years ago, about 11 maybe, I came across something that connected three of my biggest interests: musical theatre. Not by chance, I realize, it was actually one of my closest friends (also a Philosophy student) who introduced me into this wonderful world, first as an interest, then as a hobby, and helped my appreciate with a whole new set of eyes the musical works I’d admired all my life. About three years ago I decided that I wanted to make this into a long time goal: train myself in this discipline, which I consider both nurturing and complex. But I’ve always liked a challenge. I am fully aware of everything I have yet to learn to even begin to consider myself a professional, even though I have been practicing at least two of those disciplines semi-professionally for years. Slowly but surely, I’ve been facing incredible learning opportunities, I wish that in a not-so-far-away future I can devote myself to this area full time.


29425523_10155523341056139_7483966602909851639_n.jpg

Ojoporciento


You can now imagine how horrible my timetables are… Yup, just like that, and worse! But it’s so worth it, regardless of the tiredness, the stress, the complaining, the never-enough-time’s… Boy is it worth it. In the middle of all of the chaos that it means to live in Venezuela, to be able to dedicate so passionately to these three things is what gives me the strength to keep moving forward and not give up, no matter how hard it is. It’s impossible to detach ourselves from what feeds the soul and makes us feel that life really is worth living. And personally, I feel like I’d be incomplete if I had to give up one of those ‘parallel lives’.

Woah, I said it’d just be a few words and look at everything I’ve written. At first it was hard to start but then I found myself just feeling comfortable by doing it... That also happens with life, don’t you think?

Well, now you know what I do, and in what way I am a true juggler. If you got this far and did not get bored, and instead you’d like to know more about what I do and who I am, then I invite you to check out my future publications. I’d like to extend this introduction to the rest of my posts so we can learn something new about me every day. I’ll give you a heads up: I like to talk A LOT, especially if it’s about something I like. So be ready, something wicked this way comes.

Alicia.

Sort:  

welcome

Welcome Alicia!
Huge and great intro, respect, rarely seeing ones that well done. But I guess your teaching role in literature helped a lot there :P
Since you seem to be into music, you might want to give @dsound a look, could be great for you!
Anyways, I will help you with some exposure by resteeming you!
Greets

Hi! Thank you very much! I actually enjoyed writing it :) I appreciate your comment and your suggestion, I will check DSound out. Thanks again!

Hello, Ali / Lilix, and Welcome to Steemit.

That's a great intro form a book fanatic and teacher of literature and Theory of Knowledge (whatever that is). And one who lives in Venezuela.
It all sounds quite interesting, and hopefully, you can pique the interest of many Steemers. As long as you can say something, you'll be listened to and read.


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

p.s. What's that Greek say ... mean?

Thank you for your welcoming. I really appreciate that you took the time to read my post, I know it was very long! haha All of those tips might help me a lot in the future! so thank you again for that.
P.S: it roughly translate to "Beauty is Harsh" and it has a lot to do with my experience with Philosophy and life in general, I'll write about it soon!
Greets.

Cool. I've never heard that phrase before, and it sure is interesting. Does that imply that harshness can be beautiful??

All the best. Start posting some quality material, and maybe I can offer further insight or advice as you progress. I've learned a lot over my first 6 months here, and I'm glad to share it with those who can benefit from it and who can bring worthwhile material to Steemit.

Just ask, anything and anytime.


One more point. Submitting photos in the various photo contests is a great way to earn a bit of Steem and to attract followers. Here are links to 2 contests.

@photocontests, organized by @juliank
#tepchallenge, organized by @theexplorer

In a way, it could imply that. I will make a post about that later on and develop on that :) Thank you so much for all of your insights, I'm a bit lost here so I truly appreciate it!

It can be a bit much when starting out. But essentially, it's pretty straightforward. Steemit is a blogging community.

So, compose quality (or, high-quality) blog posts, and read / upvote other's blog posts.

Then, progress from there. Do not worry. You will learn.

Hola Alicia. Bienvenida, Eres una chica interesante, Docente, Profesional en el área de filosofía, artista, cantas, bailas, teatro, wuaooooo es genial, en esta comunidad podrás expresar tus conocimientos e historias, éxitos sera un gusto seguirte y leer tus post.

Muchas gracias por esta bienvenida, espero que mis publicaciones futuras te resulten interesantes :) ¡Saludos!

Welcome ali
Your #introduceyourself blog is very nice.
Thats what its All about on this platform and this blockchain. Blogging is it, blog on and you Will be succesfull! 🤛 and You Will earn money. 💴💸💰be carefull with all your passwords !! Never give that up!
For very good safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11
I blog every day and love it!❤️
Helpfull is the Steemify App , its Free in the Appstore go cheque it out. And good luck steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Greetings from Brittandjosie - Holland

Wellcome to steemit ! Happy blogging 😀

welcome to steemit! already following you! have a great journey!

welcome to steemit :)

Greetings from Las Vegas & welcome to steemit, I made an article to help new Steemians earn an income and learn more about steemit. If you're interested just click on my link here
https://steemit.com/money/@dynamicrypto/74uzsc-steemit-earning-101
it goes to my latest steemit earning 101 post. Please donot downvote me for trying to help just comment delete & I will remove my post. Here on steemit so many quit early before finding these kind of resources that has taken me months to compile. Thanks for Your time and good luck on steemit,
Troy Green (dynamicryptominer)
USN Veteran & father of 5
I do top 10 articles, memes, growing, mining, investing, travel and photography are a few of my hobbies I post about. (I upvote 90% of all comments on my posts)

Hi Lilix welcome to steemit. Can you tell me more about "Theory of Knowledge" and please make the next post about it pleaseeee :D

Hi! I will post about it soon, hopefully! It's exciting to know someone's interested in that haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63295.30
ETH 3053.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70