His Name, Is Robert Paulson

Oh wait, sorry, wrong group… it’s actually Ryan and I’m posting this from somewhere in the middle of the Southern Ocean to let you know I’m pretty pumped to explore and contribute to Steemit.

Ahoy

In a time where the global conversation is turning to loss of jobs due to AI and whether Universal Basic Income is the answer, I strongly believe that platforms like these are part of the solution. Technological advances will almost certainly reach a point when human labour is no longer valuable.

"They Took Err Jerrrrrbs!"

Though all is not lost! I can easily picture a future where most people make their income from the value of the content they create and the connections they share with others. If you spend any amount of time around a nursing home, you quickly realise that human connection is the most valuable thing on the planet.

Until that day comes… I currently get paid by working as an Engineer on an Australian Marine Research vessel. The ship is equipped with pretty state of the art equipment and world class scientists have been making vital discoveries in the field of ocean and atmospheric science, but the only things that's ever captured the interest of the public was a worm that looked like a dick… it even made it on Jimmy Kimmel!

What's it like to work at sea?

Pros:

  • The crew are like family, I spend more time per year with them than anyone else (this can also be a bad thing, but on this ship they're great guys)
  • I get to see some pretty amazing things (Although the view isn't that great from the depths of the engine room)
  • Lots of time off
  • Dolla.. Dolla.. Bills

Cons

  • Loooong stints at sea. I’ve missed more than my fare share of Birthdays, Christmas’, Weddings, Funerals. I’ll also never take wide open space, sunshine and walking barefoot in the grass for granted again.
  • Somewhat dangerous. Googling “Seafarer death” brings up 686 000 results for things I would prefer not to happen to me.
  • I reallllly want a dog, but that’s not an option right now.
  • Internet speeds that make me miss being 14 years old and loading nudes in netscape line by line over a 28k modem.

What do I do when I'm not sailing the high seas, singing shanties and sharpening my cutlass?

I love to travel, and try and get at least two trips in a year. If you want to shortcut your way to more fulfilling travel: Plan Less, Pack Less, Explore more.

Also partial to a good road trip, either by car or motorcycle and try and make a point to stay off freeways and never drive the same road twice if I can avoid it (The Waze app is the absolute tits in this regard!)

Roadtrip.jpeg
A shot from my recent awesome, but crippling 3000km (1800 miles) ride from Noosa to Hobart

I’m also pretty aggressively saving and investing the aforementioned dolla dolla bills in the hope of achieving financial freedom in my mid 30s. Mostly in residential real estate but also confident my crypto portfolio will play a big part in getting where I want to be!

Though one thing I have realised recently, once the possibility of financial freedom started to feel like a real possibility, is that I have absolutely no idea what I want to do with my life once I get there. I’m still yet to find what really lights me up, what I would pursue if money was no object.

As a result I’ve been setting mini experiments to try and find what I love. At the moment it’s Photography. I think that all of us as humans have a deep desire to create and need an outlet for it. I’m definitely more engineer than artist, and my drawing skills look kinda like something you'd find on a cave wall… but I think that photography is the perfect blend of art and science and right now I’m loving it! So I intend to make good use of Steepshot :D

So for the next year my goals look like this:

  • Improve my photography enough to sell 1 print of a photograph I’ve taken (Mum buying one doesn’t count)
  • Do something creative every day
  • Save and invest half my income, build a war chest to pursue any business ventures I dream up.

I hope the by sharing my journey and the insights, hurdles and heartaches that happen along the way I can help any of you Steemians who are asking the same questions or looking for the same answers! I'm also sure that the wealth of knowledge put out on here will help me no end in achieving my goals.

So that's it from me for now, but expect plenty more to come!


P.S. After seeing Shawn Achor speak at a conference I'm a big believer in the power of spreading gratitude. If you want to welcome me with a comment but can’t think of anything to say: Tell me 3 things you’re grateful for today and why. If you’re struggling to come up with ideas try:

  • Something temporary (your coffee, the sunshine)
  • A person
  • An object.
Sort:  

Hey Robert


Welcome to Steemit @lifeofryan!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Let me know if I can help.
Many blessings! @bycoleman

Hi Ryan and welcome to steemit - this is an awesome intro post. I have never met someone that worked at sea before.

I love what you done with the PS in this post - normally I would leave some tips on an intro post, but I have a feeling you dont need them.

Thanks Paulag :) Honestly 18 months ago I would have told you the whole gratitude thing was total bullshit, but after trying out the 5 minute journal for a while, then hearing Shawns talk and reading his science based approach to it in his book I was a a convert! haha. In this scenario though I also thought it would do a pretty great job of prompting engagement ;)

I use comments on my posts as a measure of how well then preform, its an obvious sign of engagement. Try keep up something like this in the rest of your posts and it will do very well for you :-)

hay, had to come back and let you know that I included this intro post in my Live Steemit Curation Streem on DLive today - I have now uploaded the video to youtube. You can find out more here on this post https://steemit.com/dlive/@paulag/4d5450b0-156d-11e8-a093-479e23f05e16

It took me 45 minutes to buffer the video over the previously mentioned dial-up rivalling internet but it was totally worth it! I left you a comment on your post but can't thank you enough!

Welcome to Steemit @lifeofryan :D

Looks like you're living a very unique life. Not something I would be able to deal with very well, living at sea for month at a time.
Welcome to steemit and best of luck!

Thank you, It's definitely different! Staying in shape is a massive challenge too.

Warm welcome!! I’m also new here. Hope you enjoy the community, follow if you want! 😊
I’m so grateful about my family (and dog), they’re such a great support for me those days I’m working so hard. Also my boyfriend, who is always there and it’s like my right hand. And finally, all those little things of the routine that we don’t see but make our days better, like the warm of the sun, a big hug, a good film or a hot soup on a cold day.

Love from Barcelona

Barcelona is definitely on my travel bucket list! :D

Welcome to Steemit. It's a great place for writers to get rewarded for their work.

Good luck

Welcome to your steemit brother, we're so glad you've joined us. please follow me and i will follow you back and do not forget to make next posting.

terimakasih vostro! Good to be here :D

Welcome to steemit! Nice to meet you! I like your life! Read my posts if you want to take some ideas how to start. I am waiting for your comments!

Greetings From Mr. Crypto!
I enjoyed your post and I'm pleased to meet you!

Please help us grow @rehab22 Follow/UpVote/Resteem
Original Content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.13
ETH 3187.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45