New On Steemit

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

MY INTRODUCTION POST ON STEEMIT

My name is @lexxie and I am brand new to Steemit. @vladivostok invited me to try it and told me...

"You are good people and shouldn't be wasting your time on FB. You are all about the truth and not much for nonsense. You love good humor, wit, intellect, and fair exchange of ideas."

WHO I AM

Originally from Miami Florida, I served in the United States Marine Corps and ended up in Austin Texas where I have called home for 25+ years. I've fostered critters from opossum to puppies and kittens and have a small hand in some wildlife rescue when needed. The USMC didn't take me to great far away lands, but my undergraduate studies took me to Italy. Travel has opened my eyes to European and other cultures (South Africa, Thailand, Philippines) of which many are being destroyed by unfortunate circumstances.

I’m of Italian descent, but have no living family at this time. I've never been ordinary nor part of "THE" group. I recently discovered that I’m not weird or unique as most people would place me above or below them. I am full of truth and realness. Only recently, have I come to understand the chasm that truth puts between people. Child-like in my ways and never socialized the way “normal kids were,” I tend to give information that ‘society’ has deemed too personal or inappropriate to share.

lexxi.jpglexxi3.jpglexxi1.jpg

MY EXPERIENCE

When I speak of the deaths of my friends and family, the murders, suicides, disease, and unfortunate circumstances people turn away either in pity or shame. I need neither. I am who I am and how I am because of all the turns and twists in my life.

I am not without issue. As many in the field of mental health, I've suffered my own torments and still struggle daily with wanting to live and be alive – afraid that I haven’t much to offer in this world and many times just don’t have the energy to summons.

CONCLUSION

I have is a strong desire to spread awareness, open minds and seek further truths. I have beliefs that are not stuck and I am always open to considering new information to add to my belief structure. I'm interested in offering a genuine therapeutic opinion to particularly troubling issues in mental health. Having had many surgeries in my adult life (for issues related to childhood injuries) and a somewhat controversial diagnosis of my mental health, I've been privy to seeing what it looks like from their side. The side where they (doctors) tell only as much as THEY think a person can handle, withholding, sometimes quite necessary information for the benefit of the patient. What will happen if we KNOW TOO MUCH about ourselves, procedures, things they do when we’re ‘under’? I am excited to begin my Steemit Journey with no idea or expectation of where this journey will take me, and getting to know people from a platform that's been described to me as "The place for me " I am ready to begin my journey and meeting fellow Steemian's along the way.

lexxi5.png

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit

Thank you. Diggin' the tag (name).

Thanks very much for your additional support. :)

Hey welcome to steem, vlad is a great dude to show you how it all works.

Thanks! Yes, he's been instrumental. :)

Welcome to the steemit platform!
I think you'll do well here and I'm looking forward to reading what you decide to write about.
Shitake approves this post! :-)
DSCN0030.JPG

How lovely! Love to be welcomed by Cats and their people.

Great to have you here, thanks to Vladi's Re-Steem ;)
I hope you find your niche, and these groups are good
for helping you do that. I have the #minnowbootcamp
(my son was USMC as well!) and Vladi's group, #vostokarmy
plus a great new one I joined @helpie :)
Check us all out!

right on brother, thanks for the love--witness votes next :)

So far, all these groups, channels and tags are still very foreign to me. I hope to learn quickly.

Cool, WELCOME!
Prolly see U in #vladivostok sooner or later ;)

Oh my gosh I wondered as soon as I saw that semicolon. Welcome to Steemit. If you fancy come join us at @naturalmedicine.. we are BIG on supporting mental health lovely xx

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks for the love :)

How wonderful. I do hope I can be of assistance to anyone that needs a mental health shoulder. Glad I used that as a profile pic.

glad you made and and got your intro post done!! super cool, proud of you for handling the learning curve away from facebook hopefully, this platform is filled with a bunch of really cool people and I am really hoping you enjoy it and flourish here and enjoy it like i do :) best of luck to you

I will do my best to make you proud. Feeling pretty positive about this stuff. OVERWHELMED by the mass love this a.m. INCREDIBLE!

we got some really cool people here, I see some familiar faces and some new people giving love, it's a great thing and I am happy about it

welcome aboard hun xx

Aww, thank you very much.

Hey happened to scroll by your post. Welcome, to a place you dont have to later regret, be you and feel good about doing that. Have a wonderful journey. Be well

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, I surely appreciate that. I'll do my best to BE ME and fit everywhere and still stand out. Hope to see you again.

Congratulations @lexxi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Well, I'm not sure what all this means, but I feel like I'm standing on the red carpet. THANK YOU!

Welcome lexxi!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience here. We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks! I'm in a group on Discord - @vladivostok. Look forward to learning and learning and learning. I hear there's no end. Thank you for the welcome. It's so family-like here. :)Cats Clock.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61136.19
ETH 2969.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64