Hey Steemit. I'm a writer who wants to test his mettle.

I'll be honest with you... I'm hesitant to start releasing on steemit. And no, it's not because I think my writing is cringe-worthy. The following introduction should hopefully help me explain to you what it is I plan to do here while also explaining my aforementioned nerves.

Hi, I'm @lethargicwriter. I've been typing away on various keyboards for over five years now. The majority of my work is written atop beds or sprawled out across the floor. I've never been able to tie myself down to a work space that demanded I sit upright, hence the name. That means no tidy desks and no quirky coffee shops... All I needed was a big pile of pillows and a blanket.

I only started writing out of frustration. After you've read enough of a certain genre, your mind starts to get impatient. I found myself stopping books and short stories halfway through and not having the willpower to pick them back up.

It wasn't even because I didn't like them. It's because I felt I could offer something different. Something /more/.

A new perspective.

So I wrote. A bit at first. I only started posted my work on various forums and social medias when I finally felt confident. And guess what? People liked what I had to say! That was something I hadn't expected. It's so hard to articulate how gratifying it can be to share your hobbies with others and have them /ask/ for more.

Back then, I swore I'd never call myself a writer. Crafting stories and interesting characters was supposed to just be a hobby... Something to entertain me when nothing else could. It wasn't until others sought me out for my writing that I began to grow comfortable using the title. Hey, it's even how I found my significant other.

Four years passed and I graduated from college (woohoo), and I'm just now celebrating an entire year of unemployment! As it turns out, getting a degree in an incredibly competitive career field doesn't bode well for a sustainable future right out of college.

Enter Steemit. A social media platform that boasts the ability to earn me bit-pennies for my hard work. I had always assumed I'd either find a niche in my career field or settle down into a life funded by patreon and a minimum wage job at Starbucks. My new end goal is to live a life where I am my own employer (a dream most of us probably share).

(Here's the part where you assume that the reason /why/ I'm so skeptical to write on here is due to the fact that I'm afraid I won't strike it rich. That assumption would be incorrect.)

See, I'm worried steemit is far too big; that I won't be able to reach out to like-minded readers (not the same as writers, mind you) who are willing to take interest in my work. The other platforms where I post are much more niche, but they are at least intended to be a place for the consumption of stories. I've yet to explore the search function, but if there isn't a way for my to type 'story fantasy fiction' than I'm afraid I'm at a loss!

So I'll raise these questions.

How will I write on steemit?
Will I have to expand my subject matter out of my comfort zone? Is that a /bad/ thing?
If I've been playing three month's worth of homebrew-dungeons-and-dragons with my significant other, while also slowly working with him to remaster it into a comprehensible fantasy-adventure-novel... How will I let others seek out my work?

The only answers I can offer myself at the moment are also the simplest of ones:

Write for yourself. Post your stories on Steemit with the appropriate tags. Your audience will find you if the tagging system (and audience) is there.

So I'm starting fresh... Testing my mettle... Seeing how far my words can take me alone.

Here's hoping you enjoy the ride.

@lethargicwriter
fiction | short stories | character studies | story pitches

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!

The other platforms where I post are much more niche, but they are at least intended to be a place for the consumption of stories.

I agree. And this platform has a whole lot of other things going on... and I hope that will not make you feel discouraged early on.

I've been here for 2 months writing relentlessly, and I have some advice for you.

Reading above I know that you are a great writer than the rest, perhaps you will be rewarded heavily at the beginning, and I must admit that it is addicting. But based on my experience, don't let it taint your writing. At some point, the rewards will stop. It's the lure. You will be abandoned just when you are already attached to the community.

Though the interface is designed to look like this is a money-making website, rewards are not the only reason. I hope you will continue to write for the love of it.

And of course, I write about realistic topics here, my travels and whatever my distorted mind has to offer. People favor art, positivity cryptos etc., Especially those who invested their money or the paying users of the platform. They love to read about positivity lol. But I don't write up to anyone's expectations - so my audience has been reduced.

Write for yourself.

This is the only way...

I'm sure you can find people here of the same niche, but just don't expect too much. Just enjoy everything while it lasts. Don't write for the money. :) You'll find a nice community here, and I hope you find the right people who will read your content and support you consistently . Have fun!

It's tough to find a consistent audience. For me that has always been an issue. Not just in securing readership, but in identifying my overall relationship with an audience. That's why I've decided to not really worry about it. If my work is solid, I can build integrity towards onlookers and those who have followed my journey. Comments like these inspire me to find my place in the Steemit community. Thank you so much, and I wish you the best of luck on your journey as well.

Ok, first of all, welcome to steemit! This is actually a pretty awesome platform to motivate oneself to write. To perhaps answer some of your questions....

You can search by genre tags if you like and place your works in up to 5 at a time. You probably already figured that out though. There are groups available to join that can help you narrow down to the niche you are looking for. I belong to a group called MSP (Minnow Support Project) on Discord Chat. Its a great hub that has a great many fields for bloggers to classify themselves into. Within MSP I focus most of my time within the Fiction Workshop Channel. We share ideas, contests, peer edit, save the world, etc. We just created our own curation trail: Steemhouse Fiction Trail or SFT. There are several published authors and professional editors that spend their time there as well. I would really recommend it. If you are interested, I can get you an invite link. There is a slight learning curve and you will need .002 steem to get registered (which I am totally ok with sending you if you dont have any yet)
What will you focus on? Well, you mentioned D&D, I've seen someone actually trying to host D&D games on steemit, oddly enough, not sure how thats going, but pretty cool. You can choose anything, and as long as your professional about it, you will get results. Usually not immediate, but gradual.

I choose to write fantasy and sci-fi usually. I have a novel that I have been releasing chapters at a time. I like short stories as well as entering contests. Contests are some of the best way to get your work out there as well as help you gain followers.

The Fiction Workshop probably has been the best thing for me out of it all though. Really helped me become a better writer. Anyway, I've rambled enough. Welcome to the community! Cheers.

Part of the initial learning curve will definitely be trying to identify the smaller communities within steemit. It seems like you've found yourself a wonderful spot already, and it's glad to hear that others have found places which they identify with.

You asked what I would focus on, and that's something I can't even answer yet. I think my initial writing will be focused on sifting through these possibilities. In an ideal scenario, my brand won't be crafted at all. Instead, I feel it should be formed from the things I have done... Kind of like some idyllic 'integrity'.

My roots are definitely already deep within fantasy and sci-fi, but I'm not sure /what/ will be my identifier. I studied game theory in college and like to think of myself as a great host for roleplaying games (tabletop and discord servers alike). I was brainstorming what I could offer this community, and I came up with a great format for a choose your own adventure (CYOA) style episodic... But now I'm not so sure. I want to engage with the community, but I've examined the CYOA's that are currently on this site and... Now I'm hesitating. I think I'll wait before pushing out any big projects for now. I'll stick to writing for contests for a few months until I get a better feel for my relationship with his site.

Thank you for the warm welcome. It's comments like these that inspire me to find my place in Steemit. The best of luck to you!

Yes! I've also toyed with the idea of a CYOA type of story on this platform. I think it could be very fun and enable you to write a large quantity of smaller posts that would engage your reader. The only issue is keeping them together, since they tend to get pushed down in the blog format. Doable though. Gather a few digital artists and showcase their work when you got known well enough. It would be a lot of fun. Ever since my childhood reading the Lone Wolf CYOA books, I've always wanted to try my hand at one. Those were classics. I think you can actually download an app and play/read them all on your phone now. Anyway, just rambling, feel free to contact me if you have any questions. Cheers!

Welcome to Steem @lethargicwriter I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome! Just write. That's all that really matters.

I can't wait to see what you write! Another tip is to engage with the community a lot because there are some great people on here.

welcome here Lethargicwriter ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunfarang

Hello and Welcome! Nice to meet you! Thanks for join

Welcome @lethargicwriter, always good to meet new Steemians.

Congratulations @lethargicwriter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you all the best in this platform and in all your projects! You can count on me for anything you need. I send you a big hug from Argentina! @kryptoland 👍🏻😄🇦🇷

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53